We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Ranked #44 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 5 nights at the beginning of July. The room was very modern, nice, and clean. Wifi worked well. The main reason we got this hotel was because we wanted a pool, so the one disappointment was that the pool was closed for repairs when we arrived. However, the staff was accommodating and gave us a free breakfast for the first day to make up for this, and the pool was open the next day for use (and was great). The breakfast is also excellent though it would be nice if it was included in the price. I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel, pretty solid option for an ok price. I do agree with others who said the location is a bit far from things, but not too bad and walking through the park was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear alia48,

many thanks for staying with us at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten. We are pleased to read your nice review and hope to welcome you here soon again!

Kind regards,
The team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed for three nights in June for a congress at Berlin Messe. I booked last minute and I choose the hotel because reviews seemed fine and prices were good.

Pestana is standard modern hotel with good facilities, free internet in room and decent size rooms with average amenities. My room was facing the street and was quite noisy with traffic.

Location is fine if you use taxis or do not mind walking - the closest u-bahn station is 15 minutes walk as is the Ku-damm shopping area but there nothing around the hotel (only many embassies)

The main issue was with service - staff at front desk was almost always grumpy and not forthcoming.

Service in the restaurant is very bad. After telling me to sit wherever I wanted in the almost empty restaurant the waiter ignored me for 26 minutes and kept ignoring me as I left the restaurant. Room service arrived in 15 minutes but apparently they do not have covers so food was at room temperature.

Self service breakfast was OK but kitchen staff likes disco music at maximum volume at 07:50 in the morning.
You should also book breakfast through reception the night before - for some strange reason you get a discount if you pre-booked.

If you get good rates it is worth staying here but use the place just to sleep and to use the gym and pool.

Room Tip: Ask for room far from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Pietro R,

thank you very much for staying with us and also for your detailed feedback.
We have analysed your constructive comments regarding the service with our supervisors and hereby we all would like to apologize for the inconveniences as this is not our Pestana standard.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
The team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in May. What to like? Well - friendly staff, good size room, comfy bed, cool bar area, excellent breakfast and overall a very clean hotel. We were very pleased with our decision after weeks of research,

The only thing preventing 5 stars is that it is quite far away from things, so it's a 30 minute walk through the Tiergaren to get to the City centre, or a 10 minute walk to the nearest Bahn station. However, this is balanced by the great price for bookings if you search for deal, and the quiet location, so we would not hesitate to rebook at the Pestana when we next visit the Berlin - it's a good base to explore from if you don't mind walking a bit.

Tip: For breakfast, make sure you book a day in advance via the reception. This knocks the price down a fair amount and the breakfast options are superb.

Room Tip: Book breakfast a day in advance to get a big discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NikSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear NikSurrey,

the team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten is pleased about your statements!
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on our hotel and location.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in Berlin.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel with good service. If you smoke ask for a room with a balcony. Short walk from the Zoo rail and underground station. If you are coming from the airport it's a straight bus ride to the Zoo and the a 6-8 Euro taxi to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RGPK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear RGPK007,

thank you for your review on your stay at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again here.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is central and quiet, on the border of a major park and within walking distance from the central area of old West Berlin with shopping, restaurants, etc. Nearby in the park are some places for eating and drinking well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oystein N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Oystein N,

thank you for staying with us at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten and also for your nice comments.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again here.

Best regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Modern facilities, quiet neighbourhood yet easy to get to town. Efficient and courteous staff. We got a great deal and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Pity the pool was out of order, but we didn't miss it as we were out or on the balcony. Totally deserves the 4 star rating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mahesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mahesh R,

many thanks for staying with us at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten and also for your great review.
Hope you will be back to Berlin soon to visit us again!

Best regards,
The team at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I spent a pleasurable few days here back in February. The hotel is wonderfully clean, has helpful, polite staff, and enjoys a great location in a quiet area of Berlin where on street parking is safe and (provided by the hotel) reasonably priced.

Thank you for a good stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWUK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaBerlin, Manager at Pestana Berlin Tiergarten, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear KWUK1980,

our team is pleased to read you nice review about Pestana Berlin Tiergarten.
Thank you for staying with us during your Berlin visit in February.
We very much look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards,
The Team of Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schöneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#31 of 635 in Berlin
2,090 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
#61 of 635 in Berlin
904 reviews
Schöneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#38 of 635 in Berlin
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Berlin Tiergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Berlin Tiergarten

Address: Stuelerstr. 6, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#51 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £61 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pestana Berlin Tiergarten 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin is a truly free, eclectic, and cosmopolitan city, busy yet but unhurried, sophisticated but yet relaxed. And these are the features that you will find during your stay at the Pestana Berlin Tiergarten - a modern, sophisticated, and unique hotel in the heart of Berlin. This 4-star-superior city hotel is situated in a central and quiet area right next to the Tiergarten, Berlin’s central park. It´s only a 10-minute walk to Berlin Zoo, the KaDeWe department store and the Ku’Damm shopping boulevard, also known as the City-West. Pestana Berlin Tiergarten offers 142 bright and spacious contemporary rooms on 6 floors, a wellness area with indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam bath, as well as the Atlantis Restaurant & Aqua Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Berlin Tiergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing