We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and calm”
Review of EVO Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
EVO Hostel Berlin
Ranked #292 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have slept here for two nights in February 2014, nice and clean place with calm nights. The peninsual "Stralau" is interesting place in Berlin; just the public traffic at night isn´t too comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vojtech V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have stayed with my wife in this hostel for two nights and the shower was very big problem. there was no private showers with the room and even the public showers were without doors (two or four take the showers together, it's a suck!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbekheet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I had a lengthy stay in this hostel and finally can say now I will never have to look at the place again. I have so many bad things to say im going to do it in bullet points...

-The staff were ignorant and had no respect for any people staying there
-Common room (with sofa's, tv, foozeball) was closed to the public and was made for staff only
-The kitchen was disgusting and only open for a few hours each day
-The breakfast was stale and not worth 3.50 every day
-The smell that arose every morning out of the toilets/shower was nothing short of horrendous, I dont know if the staff all used the facilities at the same time or what it was but every day without fail I had to open the windows really wide
-No security in this place at all, anyone could walk in through the main door and have access to every floor and the doors to each room would be very easily opened with little force
-The day I arrived I had to wait for half an hour whilst they cleaned the room I had booked, and I arrived at 3pm so it wasn't even like I was there early
-The computer (if you want to call it that) stalls if you try to load more than 2pages at a time, and im convinced it has keyloggers installed on it. I had to make sure to change all my passwords after really needing to check my emails and not having ease of internet access.

Right now onto the rooms...
-The room had a constant terrible smell, I had to have the window open almost all the time
-The walls had remnants of dead bugs on the walls, and not just a few there was multiple bug entrails visible
-Most plugs did not work in the room
-Walls seemed to be made out of paper, sound travels extremely easily throughout the entire building
-Heating was mostly non-existent during the day and was on regularly at night time meaning the radiators had to be turned down or off so it was possible to sleep
-Bed sheets are not included in the price, they have to be paid for separate!!!!
-Carpet was disgusting, I had to wear my shoes at all times due to very very suspect stains and dirt

Overall I hated this place completely and would never advise anyone I know to even consider staying here...ever. I mean this place should be shut down for good for many reasons. It is the closest thing I can imagine prison being like, even down to the hired guards (working-staff) that look at you strangely when you walk past. Couldn't trust them at all.

Please heed my warning...AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!! There are many other places that you can stay for a similar price and with a fraction of the trouble of this dump.

Room Tip: Dont even bother, seriously, look at other hostels like jack's hostel or amstel hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelticUltras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Evo Hostel is really really rubbish. Everything about it is rubbish. It is definitely the most rubbish place I've ever stayed.
I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to anyone who does not like staying in places that are good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This place sucks. It feels like one is staying in prison. You can hear every little noise from the hallway, which sucks when pleople are slamming the bathroom doors every 5 minutes. The "staff" is there for maybe 3 hours during the day and then they're gone, leaving the place open and unmanned most of the day. The "breakfast" room advertised in their brochure did not exist. Oh, and the rooms/bathroom were dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsargrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I paid cheap and didn't expect much, but that was seriously less than anything!
1 disappearing staff, who don't speak English (and don't like to speak at all), terrible toilets from other, old times, strange bed stuff politic (we should pay for this, as a surprise).

i stayed 2 nights, and that was absolutely maximum (2-nd night was no hot water).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serhius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Doppelzimmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank marcus764
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,891 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#116 of 635 in Berlin
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EVO Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EVO Hostel Berlin

Address: Alt-Stralau 37, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 356 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: £13 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — EVO Hostel Berlin 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Berlin? Why not have a stay at our 1618 Hostel Berlin. It's centrally located in Friedrichshain which is on the Berlin public transportation ring. Just right for a short or even a long stay for sightseeing or visiting while having a good nights rest in the peaceful atmosphere of the peninsula Alt-Stralau. Many guests enjoy their stay with us, esspecially our very reasonably priced rates. From the Hostel you can reach any attraction in Berlin within a short amount of time, be it the East Side Gallery, the Alexander Platz, the Brandenburger Tor, the Potsdamer Platz, or the shopping streets Friedrichsstrasse or Ku'Damm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing