We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the Gates Hotel from 2003?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Ranked #234 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Not enough personnel. The rare ones who were there were mostly very friendly. Breakfast should be open until 1030 am, but long before they didn't refill the buffet. Our room was located towards the patio where the smokers sat. So smoke came into our room and at night there was constant rumor. People were rehearsing on their instruments, which was rather nice to listen to, but sometimes too early in the morning. No air condition gave us a hard time on a very hot weekend in Berlin. Location is very good. Hotel looks as if its best time is over. I was there ten years ago and it was as if it is another hotel now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very good value for families with spacious rooms and beautiful large turn-of-the-century windows. Convenient location close to many restaurants and subway station. There is no air-conditioning but large fans. We've stayed here twice and been very content both times. Parking is expensive and you may be better off parking on the street rather than in the garage. In the near vicinity you have plenty of restaurants (the newly open ice-cream cafe across the street has absolutely wonderful homemade icecream) and the neighborhood is very pleasant. We didn't try the hotel breakfast since there are plenty of really nice places near by that seemed more interesting. Free, farily slow wifi (we did however manage to stream movies without problems).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajipicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location - a 2 minute walk from the nearest metro station and a 10 minute walk to Kurfurstendamm, a long street with great shops and restaurants. Our room was nice and we had a raindrop shower which was fantastic. The staff were fine, neither here nor there. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here in 2012 - very satisfied. Never trust this hotel again. See copy of my e-mail to Novum hotels as to why.
"Dear Sir / Madam,
I have just returned from a two night stay at the Hotel Gates Novum in Berlin having booked and paid for the reservation on 02/03/13 through Hotels.Com.
My wife and I are currently on holiday in Germany and meet up with German friends in Berlin for the weekend just gone - they book the same hotel to be with us. We all stayed at the Gates Novum in Knesebeckstr. Berlin last year and were impressed by the hotel so had no reservations about booking this hotel for this year.
On the Friday, the 21st June at 3pm, I telephoned the hotel out of courtesy to let them know that my wife and I would arrive at the hotel about 9pm that evening. The response from the hotel receptionist was to summarize - "Oh, so glad you've phoned Mr. *****, there has been a fault with our computer and we've lost a lot of booking reservations and sadly we've had to transfer you to our sister hotel in another area of Berlin." Fortunately we contacted a German speaking friend who spoke with the receptionist to explain our circumstances about meeting friends who had already booked in at the Gates Novum. Asked to ring back in 30 minutes, we were then advised that a room would be made available for us.
On arrival at 9pm that evening, we were given room 408 which when we entered was clearly for single occupancy i.e. one pillow, one single duvet, one set of towels, and one packet of haribo sweets. We went back to reception to complain - the response was that they were sorry but this was all the fault of their central reservations but clearly if they knew all this, why was there no attempt to inform either you or us. We felt insulted that hotel staff hadn't even bothered to try and disguise the fact that room 408 was for single occupancy with two pillows and two duvets!!!!! The outcome after much discussion with assistance from our German friends, was that we slept in Room 408 that night with extra bedding and moved to Room 402 (a double room) for the second night with complimentary breakfast for two persons extracted for one night.
I hope you might agree that such circumstances are NOT SATISFACTORY and the very minimum requirement from guests when you book and pay the full amount in advance to stay in a hotel and have the reservation confirmed, that you expect to stay in that hotel.
If it hadn't been for the intervention of our German friends and the fact I had taken the unusual step of phoning the hotel beforehand, my wife and I would have been trailing the streets of Berlin with suitcases looking for an "alternative hotel which we hadn't booked!!!!!".
Yours sincerely,
******* PB Trainer

Outcome - no direct reply from Novum Gates.
£20 goodwill gesture off next booking with Hotels.Com

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePBTrainerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Good hotel, room was nice, clean and comfortable. Down side was the TV had no English channels, and when the other half was getting ready, it would have been useful. There was a safe in the room, free of charge. The only real downside was that we were in facing the courtyard, and we had the windows open on the first night as it was really warm, it was very noisy, not a great start. But from then on we kept the windows closed, and while it was a tad warm, it was much quieter. As with most hotels you could still hear the movement of people in the corridor. The staff were brilliant, couldn't fault them at all. we didn't eat breakfast here, there were numerous cafes nearby, all of which we good. The hotel is just outside of the tourist area, but the underground was so easy to use, it didn't matter. The trains were clean and only once did I not get a seat. If you need a hotel in Berlin, I would recommend Gates Hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the outside, the street its on is super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank patfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schöneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schöneberg
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#125 of 635 in Berlin
810 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#283 of 635 in Berlin
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Knesebeckstr. 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £38 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing