We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Ranked #217 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Lovely hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 days and found the hotel staff to be very efficient and obliging. They even printed out our boarding passes! Hotel is clean, bright and our room overlooked the courtyard. Breakfast, which was included in our deal, was buffet style and filled us up 'til lunch time. Bedroom was big enough for 3 though the hotel could upgrade the pillows which we found were too soft. The location is fantastic. Area felt very safe. Whether you want to walk to the zoo or use public transport, you are ideally located. We bought the 72 hour travel pass and availed of the discounts for the DRR and Story of Berlin museums. If you turn right out of the hotel, stroll down Knesebeckstrasse (lots of coffee shops, restaurants, etc.) you'll get to KuFuDamstrasse (shops). All in all an excellent hotel and location for exploring the many wonderful sights of chilled out Berlin. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Gates Novum.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gates Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    347
    134
    39
    29
See reviews for
153
222
90
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights (last week) at this hotel. It is in a quiet street that is very close to the city and is convenient for sightseeing. The staff were very helpful and the lobby area is basic but welcoming. We booked a larger room at the front of the hotel. This was quiet and warm considering the tine of year.

The room was functional and probably good for a couple of nights but lacked the niceties of other hotels for a longer stay. No fridge/minibar, strange and not very comfy pillows but the lack of a hotel guest wifi was very inconvenient. The hotel appears to be in a wifi hotspot that is free but the connection was appalling. Advertising free wifi seems to be rather misleading and a dedicated hotel wifi system should be installed.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel preferring to sample the many local coffee shops.

Ok for a short stay but not for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Go for front larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your honest words, regarding you stay in our Hotel Gates Novum.
Of course, we have passed the criticized points to our it-department.
We want to apologize very much for the resulting inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Gates Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It's an easy bus ride from Tegel airport or a E16 taxi ride to this quiet hotel on a leafy side street close to the temporary opera house and university. The breakfast room is bright and sunny with a pretty good breakfast buffet. Nice and helpful desk staff. The floors our room creaked and friends of ours were in the room right below. Everything was clean, reasonably contemporary furnishings, and airy.

Room Tip: We were very happy on the front side of the hotel but it was January. We suspect room looking into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Gates Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Gates Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is clean, the rooms spacious, the price excellent and it's only one stop on the underground to the city centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and it's a 24hr recetption so very handy if you are planning on partying. The doors are key locks, but you leave your key in main reception as you leave so it's extremely convenient and no risk of losing it! In short, it's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I have stayed in two different rooms, both were warm in the middle of winter and were very quiet. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Gates Novum.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gates Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked six room, three were renovated, three were not. Service was good and location was perfect. Breakfast was expensive and much better outside the hotel. Helpful reception and good reception! Overall, we recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potenza, Basilicata, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room is very clean and Hotel is very near to metro station . Just 5 minutes walk. We stayed 3 days and took the hop on hop off bus which can take from few metro station away in Alexandraplatz or there is another nearest bus station near hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I like almost everything in that hotel. 12 minutes by bus from Tegel Airport, a few minutes by U-bahn from the city center, clean, big enough room, not noisy (we had a room in the building B with window no the back). And the price was pretty good.
The only thing you should be aware of is a welcome bottle of water, which is not included in the price. You have to pay 4 euro for that :-(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 634 in Berlin
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#42 of 634 in Berlin
670 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Property: Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Address: Knesebeckstr. 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing