We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Ranked #217 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Although it is out of the main tourist attractions in the city, it is only a short time to the nearby underground. Very clean and modern rooms which were perfect for our stay even though we didn't spent much time in our room. The hotel has free wifi which is brilliant, works really well.

We had breakfast included in our package which was just basic continental. If it hadn't been included I'm not sure I would pay €9 for it as there are many cafés around for breakfast for much cheaper.

Overall very pleased with the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Floral1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

very poor hotel, service awful. put the money in the hotel's safe, but when I tried to open it in the evening, it gave an error message that I am using the wrong code. I called the employee who opened it, a passport and a computer were in the safe but the envelope with the money disappeared. Police fixated on what happened, but the hotel workers don't do anything, they did not even care how I manage without money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KukiMuki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Berlin's a huge city with so many things to do, that spending a fortune on a four star hotel for the sake of a little extra comfort is quite unreasonable. This hotel offers comofortable beds, free Wi-Fi and a wide collection of discount cards to many different places and attractions.

It's overall just as tidy as any other hotel, and if you don't plan on spending any time other than sleeping and getting ready in the hotel, it's just the place for you.

The free Wi-Fi (which is ridiculously uncommon throughout the city) was a big plus, as it made getting around much easier by making early preparations in the room. Quality wasn't great though.

Staff was pleasant overall, though we've had very little interaction with them.

We stayed in the quadruple room, which was very spacious. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the closets were roomy.

Location-wise, the hotel's pretty far out west- which would make getting to Kurfurstendamm, the Brandenburg gate and other western attractions quite easy; but on the other hand, it's pretty much dead late at night and quite a travel from the east side (roughly 30 minutes or so by S/U-bahn). However, a major advantage is the extreme proximity to both an S-bahn station (Savignyplatz) as well as a U-bahn station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz).

Nothing was in walking distance apart from the Zoo, which we didn't go to.

Overall, I'd have to say that for its price, the hotel provides a pretty good value. I'd say it's best suited for a group of friends mainly interested in seeing the city and not spending too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowLongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very Decent Hotel.

We stayed at quadruple room and it was very big. the wifi in the room is ok.

The location is good and the S-Bahn Station or Metro are nearby (5-10 minutes from the hotel).

The hotel staff is very friendly.

in the first floor you have a stand with some discounts for lots of berlin attractions.


No air conditioner is the only negative thing i can say.

Room Tip: Check the Discount Stands!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zohar28390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Everything was great - nice quite location in the heart of West Berlin, comfortable wide beds, big windows looking inside the courtyard, enchanting smell of old building... Next to the door - lovely small Indian restaurant with its fab homemade tea (chai).
One small inconvenience was weak pressure in hot water tap in our room on the third floor. But our friends who lived on the second floor didn't meet this discomfort.

Room Tip: There was weak pressure in hot water tap in our room on the third floor. So take the room below!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaitkiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Berlin.
Your comments about the water pressure were passed on to the maintenance department.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of ourHotels.

Faithfully Yours

Gates Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very good location (public transport is near), clear room, nice staff, very good value-price rate!
We was 5 nights at this hotel in May 2014. The Hotel is near Savinyi Platz 5 Minutes on foot to the S-Bahn station, Hotel have non-stop reception, the staff is nice.
The room was clear, every day clean up, change the towels.
In the hotel is free wifi, but must be registration in the LAN-network to use.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokodi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Tokodi,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Gates
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Kind regards,

Gates Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Quite hotel! has an elevator, very respectable girls in reception and is near the metro (ernst-reuter plaz). the beds are quite uncomfortable, wifi gets hurt and it's slow and it costs so much in anything! The metro is U2 ( pankow-ruhleben)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Arviaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Novum Hotel Gates.
Of course, we have passed the criticized points to our technical department
and want to apologize very much for the resulting inconvenience.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Gates Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 635 in Berlin
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#40 of 635 in Berlin
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Knesebeckstr. 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £42 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing