We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really like this place but my room was dated looking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #27 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really like this place but my room was dated looking”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have stayed here over 4 times times and appreciate that there are still a few smoking rooms here. I probably get an older looking room even though I am a Platinum Mamber of IHG because I always request smoking. Smokers are having a harder and harder time finding a place, not that I blame the hotels. I myself do not like a smoking room that is not aired out before I get there.

That said the mattresses here are the best and the bathrooms are really the best I have ever encountered especially if you have a friend with you. The tub is quite roomy and separate from the shower. Toilet even is seperated by a door so its all quite nice. THe location of this place is a favorite for me. You can walk to Kurfurstendam, The Zoo, a major train station (all in about 15 minutes). Breakfasts here are better than the average 4-5 star hotel and compare favorably with any breakfast in Berlin.

If smokers could get a room with a balcony or a remodelled room I would always stay here when visiting Berlin.

Note when I say the smoking rooms are dated they are by no means ugly or worn out. THe style of the furniture is just a bit older and the TVs are not modern flat screens. They are still nicely appointed rooms with good blackout drapes and the same great bathrooms. The service at the desk is also always efficient and friendly and the rooms are clean. The piano bar is busy if there is a convention but then those are people looking to talk to other conventioneers, its not a popular hangout for locals or to strike up a conversation with anybody outside your party. So unless there is a convention(which is frequent by the way) the place is rather quiet.

One of my only gripes is that Internet access from the room is too expensive. I mean its ridiculous that I get free internet from dozens of coffee shops where I spend 5$ but I can easily spend 1500$ for 10-12 days at a Hotel and then be charged an extra 20$/day for the internet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liberal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    622
    124
    29
    31
See reviews for
360
730
107
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just came from a long weekend in Berlin, We stayed at the IC Berlin. Great hotel, the service was outstanding. As a Royal Amb, we received a room upgrade to a nice 2 room suite on the newly remodeled side of the hotel. Had a great view of the Zoo.

Room was well appointed, and very modern. The shower was powerful and wonderful, however the rain head needed to be moved a bit more in the shower area. So it idid not splash outside the door.

The bed was comfortable, but would have been nice to have a single bed, instead of two beds pushed together, but that tends to be a European Norm.

The checkin was uneventful. And service was excellent.

The Club Lounge was great, Food everytime we went up and the free WiFi was fast and reliable, except for a couple times we experience trouble. But was quickly fixed.

The breakfast and late night snacks were excellent and always warm.

However, a new thing at the IC Berlin, is the Club Lounge is an extra change no matter the room you stay in. So even if you have Club Room you still have to pay extra for lounge access.

But the hotel was in a great location. Very close to everything we wanted to do. But was off the main path by one street, so you did not get all the noise and crazies.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay on my next trip to Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nusiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Berlin. When you make your reservation please ask for a king size bed which is available on our Club floor as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My partner and I recently returned from a 4-night stay at the InterContinental Berlin as part of a long, get-away weekend. Although a bit apprehensive at first, we had a wonderful surprise awaiting us when we arrived.
The apprehension is due to the fact that we travel extensively across the globe and stay with IHG hotels. Our latest experiences with InterContinentals, with the exception of Prague and Dubai, has left us with a sense of frustration. Service levels are not consistent and the fact that we are Royal Ambassadors with their frequent traveller programme has left much to be desired. This hotel, however, made up for it all.
Upon check-in we were immediately recognised for our membership level and received the two-room upgrade, gift in room, welcome letter and the other amenities that we had missed in so many other hotels. The staff were wonderful; professional, very helpful, efficient and friendly.
The 2-room suite on the 7th floor in the renovated building, with views over the Tiergarten and the Gedächtniskirche (not visible now because of extensive renovations), was lovely. Fresh, modern, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice with the tub, large sink area and the walk-in shower with the rainshower head and side shower (both with plenty of hot water and pressure).
Everything worked well in the room, with our only quirk being that the thermostat in the room was very limited. Settings were either "Off" or "Cool", which meant it would not get very cold in the room during the warm weather we had during our stay.
We had access to their Club Lounge, which was very nice. This is where we had our breakfast every morning and in the evening we enjoyed a light dinner from the buffet that was on offer. A large offer was to be had in the way of soup, breads, salads, snacks and other canapés. For those that wished something more, you were able to order meals from their in room dining, which was very nice as well. There was a full bar, too, which had everything imaginable and was constantly being refilled and cleaned. The entire lounge was also a great place to relax, watch TV, listen to music on the private headphones, use the iPad on offer (WiFi was free) or use the iMac & printer also on offer. Here the staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The actual hotel location is fantastic. It is 5 minutes by foot from the Kufürstendamm and bus 200 stops in front of the hotel. This bus route goes to the main sights in East Berlin and to West Berlin. For those wanting to go north or south of the city, just a block or two away is where you catch bus 100. Tip: buy a day ticket for € 6.30 and use these buses and the metros to see the city; avoid the tourist buses as they are crowded and not necessarily cheap, as we discovered. For getting to/from the airport, bus X09 stops at the Tiergarten station, just 10 mins away, or take a taxi for the 10 km journey (approx. € 15).
One aspect about the location that we really appreciated is that the Budapester Straße is a very calm street yet the frenzy of Berlin is a few minutes away. Shoppes such as KaDeWe are also in the general vicinity, together with some good restaurants and pubs in the Schöneberg district.
All-in-all we had a wonderful time at the this hotel and cannot wait to return. It is now one that we use to judge others!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp_visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review and your warm words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. As you mentioned the Club InterContinental is a highlight of our property, well equipped and with a wide range of services. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at InterContinental Berlin and at our club and to offering you another unforgettable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our arrival was clouded at first because of fact that we were supposed to stay in Steigenderger hotel, but it was overbook, however we have booked the room a long time ago. We were dussapointed at first, but we weren't after we have arrived at Intercontinental!

First of all we had an upgrade of the room and were given 10th floor with a nice view of the park and buildings of Berlin. Staff at the desk was really polite and nice, He spoke Russian (as I have discovered later they always have someone, who knows Russian), it is a nice thing to know if you do not speak anothing but Russian, not like me :-)

The room was perfect! Clean, big and with calm colours. Bathroom has had everyting you could want, but you can expect this from a 5* hotel. TV was a bit compicated, as it has had too many channes, so you could sort them you by language, country, genre and much more. Not only we had our towels changed, but shower slippers.

Breakfast....YAAAAM!!!! you cannot say any more then that, you can get everything with a perfect quality! Different meat, different fruit, different everything, but not enough cheese...

The only thing which was not pleasent was food for room service. We ordered some fruit to the room cause we cannot live without fruit in the evening. I don't know why but it had a taste of an onion, maybe it was because of the kitchen or a knife, but it was strange and unpeasent...

All in all everything was great!
Wish to be back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room, the view and our breakfast buffet so much.

I forwarded your note about the fruits to our food & beverages team, because we are always interested to serve fresh products with high and permanent quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Excellent Hotel! Good location, bus stop outside on the street, U-bahn and Trains a few minutes walk away. Rooms were big and comfy. We stayed on the 7th floor and no surrounding noice disturbed our sleep on the excellent beds. Nice service from all the staff and last but not least, breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLHFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

located around 4 blocks away from famous kadewe mall and other shopping areas
metro rail transit is near kadewe. take the metro transit to postdamer platz where the SONY CENTER is located

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel on a girly weekend with my mum to celebrate my 30th birthday. The hotel is brilliant and the staff were excellent. The rooms were well appointed and had some interesting gadgets like being able to move the TV so that you could watch it in the bath. The beds were really comfortable - better than my own bed at home! The breakfast was included in our rate and this was of a high standard with everything you could think off. We did not use the hotel for any other food or drink though as we thought the prices were quite high in comparison to the bars and restaurants in Berlin. The location was quiet but had good transport links with the 200 tourist bus line stopping right outside the hotel. Berlin was an amazing city and I fully intend to go back again and would consider this hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 634 in Berlin
2,795 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing