We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, almost excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #30 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2012

It is a given that the InterContinental Berlin is a great hotel. That said, expectations of such a hotel are higher then a small bed & breakfast in the Black Forrest. Are expectations met? That is the question. Unfortunately... almost.

Little details, on their own not a problem, but too many make the difference between excellent and very good. If one promises a newspaper to be delivered every weekday (as per the Ambassador program) it should be delivered. Furthermore there was inconsistency in the turn-down service and refreshing the amenities. I also expect a receptionist in a five star deluxe hotel to be able to multitask and maintain conversation during check-in and check-out and not silently peer into the computer for 30-40 seconds. Finally, construction noise diminished my sleeping time on my final night, but as it was a weekday and after 9:00 AM I did not complain at the time, still it was not announced.

Nevertheless it is still a great hotel. A spacious light lobby makes you feel welcome. The rooms were excellent, well maintained, impeccably clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly, courteous and approachable, I very much like their concierge tour on the television system. Also the room attendants greet you with a smile when you pass. The food and drinks are top quality, they know their cocktails... and how to make them! All and all one of the best, certainly in Berlin. Almost excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I greatly appreciate you taking your time to bring your experiences to our attention and thank you for your positive feedback reflecting the friendly and professional service at the hotel. Please take my sincere apologies for the noise and the inconveniences, caused by the SPA renovation works.

We are constantly trying to improve our quality and our service to our guests and therefore are very grateful about your feedback. Please be assured that we will further raise awareness with our team to ensure you a flawless service for a unique experience and memorable stay.

The team at the InterContinental Berlin would love to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards,

Robert P. Herr
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Some bad points though: the service is cold, nobody seems to care when you arrive, nobody seems to care that you leave, and the mini-bar is very expensive for what's in it. I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast, yes it was good, but for 30 euros, I expected something more.
The hotel is a bit far from the nearest train station, but the subway is just a few minutes away, and you're not far from the Kurfurstendamm, the Kaiser-Wilhelm memorial church, and the zoo.
The room was great, and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chti_Croco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I greatly appreciate you taking your time to bring your experiences to my attention. I really regret we could not live up to your expectations. These shortfalls are not indicative of the high standards at our hotel therefore we take your feedback seriously. It is our priority to improve our service to all guests at all times.

I hope that there is the possibility that we can welcome you back to the InterContinental Berlin in the future.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr
General Manager InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have stayed at the Intercon Berlin on a number of occasions over the past few years as a business traveller. I find the hotel staff very attentive and friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are all good and well equipped (even has a turntable unit so you can watch TV in tha bath). The food is always of a good standard and the bar is usually lively. The situation of the hotel is close to the Zoo and Terregarten but there are hotels alot closer to the centre of Berlin and all the major tourist sites.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms are quieter but I was not disturbedby noise at all in front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is the finest hotel I've stayed in during numerous trips to Berlin. The staff are second to none as are the hotel restaurant and facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you are planning a trip to Berlin make sure you stay at The Intercontinental Berlin. Location is excellent and the hotel is great. Make sure you book a Club Access room as the club is so worth the extra cost and the staff at the club are wonderful.

The hotel is close to transport and to some of the tourist sights plus the business district of Berlin.

Do yourself a favour andf stay here.....so worth it . We will be back ......

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAndMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have waited a few months before writing this review as we visited this hotel for a friends 40th birthday celebration and I did not want any more negativity to surround this special occasion. However I feel it only right to inform other potential guests of our experience.
Our first impression of the Hotel was very good, check in was prompt and friendly - in fact the front of house staff at this hotel are exceptional. Both friendly and professional. The rooms are the best five star standard rooms that I have stayed in on the continent. House keeping service at the hotel was again superb.
However one of the main reasons we choose this hotel was so that we could use the heated pool. We were staying in January and new it would very cold so we paid that little extra so that we could have an early morning and late afternoon swim. We were very disappointed when told on arrival that the pool was closed at that we would have to use the pool in another hotel a little way down the road! We found this totally unacceptable. Especially considering that it was minus 5 or more outside! One evening my friends parents decided to have a quiet night in. Again this is one of the reasons that we paid extra to stay in a good five star hotel. More choice......More facilities......or so we thought. Believe it or not dinner was not available!! The only option was to sit on a high stool at the bar and have a snack!! And this is suppose to be a five star hotel! There was a large function on that evening so the main restaurant was closed to hotel guests. In fact half of the hotel was closed to hotel guests! I could not even walk unaccompanied to the hotel cash point because of security for the function!! And i was a paying guest.
SURELY IF THE HOTEL NEW THAT THE POOL WOULD BE CLOSED - AS THEY MUST HAVE - AND THAT HALF OF THE HOTEL INCLUDING THE MAIN RESTAURANT WOULD BE CLOSED DUE TO A PRE ARRANGED FUNCTION AS THEY MUST HAVE.......SURELY THEY SHOULD HAVE TOLD US AT THE POINT OF BOOKING OR AT LEAST WHEN WE ARRIVED THAT DINNER WOULD NOT BE AVAILABLE E FEW NIGHTS LATER?
We normally choose the Sofitel group when indulging in a luxury weekend away but thought on this occasion we would try the intercontinental - what a mistake,
AVOID

Room Tip: Go To another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anguss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback from your stay at the InterContinental Berlin. We greatly appreciate you taking your time to bring your experiences to our attention.

We would like to thank you for highlighting your positive first impression and comments reflecting the friendly and professional service at the hotel.

We deeply regret that you and your friends were inconvenienced by the tight security measures of the events and would like to extend our apologies.

The Vitality Club closes annually for maintenance works necessary to maintain the high quality which guests can expect from this exclusive pool and wellness area. For this reason, the Vitality Club was closed during your stay.

These shortfalls are not indicative of the high standards we normally pride ourselves on. We take your feedback seriously and are reviewing our processes to improve our service to all guests at all times.

I hope that there is the possibility that we can welcome you back to the InterContinental Berlin in the future. Please contact me or the executive office directly so that I can personally ensure that we look after you.

With best regards,

Robert P. Herr
General Manager InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

There are plenty of Hotels in Berlin, but we´ve choosen the InterConti for our one-week Berlin Visit. Great location near the zoo, the two rooms in the new wing were nice, professional check in and check out. Just had once breakfast, but nothing to fault here, exept for the high price.

The Marlene Bar is a great location to spend some hours and have some "El Comandante" cocktails before going to bed.

You almost never can fault when choosing an InterContinental, and the InterConti in Berlin was the right Hotel at the right location. Not breathtaking, but still a very good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cofee2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,998 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
2,013 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 634 in Berlin
3,167 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £93 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing