We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, too bad it was overbooked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It is an excellent hotel. Very modern rooms, well equipped and maintained.
It has in-room WiFi and an excellent breakfast buffet.

It is a shame it was overbooked. In the hotel's defense, they notified me a few days in advance, and arranged for 1 night at an alternative hotel at a walking distance.
Still it was a lot of nuisance, and a waste of time.

If you have a lot of spare time and don't mind the trouble, you should definitely consider staying here.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank TalMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear TalMizrahi

thank you for taking the time to inform about your stay at the InterContinental Berlin which unfortunately was not as pleasant as your overall description of our hotel suggests.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused due to our booking situation. In exceptional circumstances, we may be forced to arrange a booking individual guests in another hotel. These circumstances may for example be technical difficulties in one of our rooms or similar challenges we are facing in our day to day business.

Especially due to your experience this time, I wish for you to be able to return in the future and to then fully enjoy your InterContinental experience here in Berlin.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just spent a long weekend break at the Intercontinental in Berlin, arrived, got a free upgrade to the next level room (Never seem to get an upgrade in the UK , but gets upgraded most time abroad) Free items from the mini bar, and free wi-fi. Located very close to the Aquarium and Zoo. The room was excellent with great amenities very clean. Staff were very good, pool area very nice but why do you have to pay extra for the Sauna ?. Recommend this hotel you can catch the 100 or 200 Bus close by and go up to the Brandenburg Gate and that area, also walk through the park. Only takes 30-45 minutes to walk there.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the priority club, you usually get an upgrade if they have capacity. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_WJ263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Alan_WJ263

thank you for giving all these useful hints as well as writing this nice review describing your experience at our hotel.

I am pleased that our teams were able to recognize your status as IHG Rewards Club member and to make your stay even more comfortable.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The service set the tone at this fine hotel. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Pool and Spa was great. Overall great experience. We were always greeted with a smile and never had to wait when we needed assistance despite the hotel being at full capacity. Location was excellent with shopping at your doorstep. Walking distance to the subway and a nice jaunt to points of interests. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear CanSunSeeker

your review is a great compliment for which I thank you very much.

The location of the InterContinental Berlin has a variety of advantages: Berlin's premium shopping area Kurfürstendamm can be reached within 5 minutes by foot, Berlin's largest park Tiergarten is adjacent to our hotel and bus no. 200 in front of the InterContinental Berlin runs along major sights and attractions.

The level of service and the design of our rooms seem to have added even more to your stay which resulted in an exceptional stay.

Thank you again for your kind review and I hope to welcome you again in Berlin in the future - besides the long distance from Toronto.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at the beautiful junior suite with a magnificent view. modern decor, clean large rooms. Beautiful modern pool area, huge jazucci. friendly service at the pool bar and good sunbeds.

But Tuesday night at 22 o'clock, my husband and I went to the wellness for relaxtion. But the place was crowded with people and many screaming kids and infant. They had swimming competition in the pool, splashed water. I was more stressed than relaxed so I chose to go back to the room. The receptionist in wellness did a good job though, she was trying to talk with the guest. She was very serviceminded

IDEA for the management at the hotel: After 20 pm in the evening for adults only

The service was very high, they were always somebody to take our luggage, give us umbrella and so on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blomst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Blomst123

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay in one of the InterContinental Berlin's Junior Suites.

In general, our SPA InterContinental - including pool, fitness area and several saunas - is the right place for a relaxing and comfortable break. I am sorry that in your case, we were not able to create this easing atmosphere during one night besides our SPA agent's efforts. We will review your idea while we aim to also provide a family-friendly environment at the same time.

As your overall experience was very positive, I sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a conference and it was Very comfortable and ideally located to see the best parts of town. Room was very spacious and amenities were very good.
Breakfast was great and the lunches were also as good and very varied.
The stay was thoroughly enjoyable and staff were always ready to help.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the main entrance as rooms here are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Pierre F

Nice to hear that you had a great time in the German capital and that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Berlin.

Having the bus stop in front of the entrance and the next train station in walking distance, it is easy to explore the town. The bus route is, by the way, as well suitable for a round trip to many of the famous points of interest.

I am glad that you are satisfied with your experience at the conference. I like to think that the premises, the latest meeting technology as well as individual menus or buffets are a trademark of the InterContinental Berlin – together with the proficient team for any event you may plan.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again in Berlin.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel to be excellent. We were upgraded to platinum with a free item from the mini bar and the room was great . All staff were helpful and courteous the pool and spa are nice We didn't eat in the hotel. But had a couple of cocktails in the bar. We would recommend this hotel for a short stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labrador45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Labrador45,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences at the InterContinental Berlin. I appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Club Rewards Member and your recognition is very important to us as a hotel.

I look forward to sharing your review with our teams and also to welcoming you back in Berlin again soon.

Best regards,
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August, we loved this hotel. Great location, Fantastic value for money, very modern!

We were upgraded to a suite upon checkin, the suite was essentially 2 adjoining rooms but one had the bed, the other a couch and living area.

As a Platinum Ambassador, we were given an option for 2 mini bar items of our choice (beer, chips etc) - this dosnt aways happen at other Intercon's.

The lobby bar was wonderful, great service and well priced.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berlin, this place has it all.

Room Tip: Join the Ambassador Program for free upgrades and late checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-JH-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Chris-JH-Smith,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I appreciate your loyalty as an Ambassador member.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Marlene Bar. The bartenders offer a wide range of cocktails and drinks and in the menu you can find matching bar snacks.

See you soon in Berlin!

Best regards,
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
2,036 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,207 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
2,048 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £89 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing