We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Friendly Staff and Awesome Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #27 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Friendly Staff and Awesome Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Full service doesn't seem adequate to describe this property. The bottom line is that a clean, comfortable room is expected from an InterContinental brand hotel but a staff of friendly and helpful people make this hotel a stand-out. I've had breakfast at other hotels but the quality of the breakfast offered by this hotel exceeded my expectations. Every employee I encountered was pleasant and courteous, and the greeter at breakfast was exceptionally so. The InterContinental is my new favorite hotel in Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear AB_Orlando

I am glad that we took the top spot on your hotel list in Berlin and want to thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Berlin in such a pleasant and helpful way.

Our teams make our hotel special and they as well as I are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    611
    124
    29
    31
See reviews for
356
721
106
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful and comfortable room, a great spa (much bigger than I first thought), lovely breakfast buffé and above all an amazingly friendly staff - this hotel leaves little to ask for! The only thing we didn't try was the famous restaurant on the 14th floor, maybe next time though, 'cause I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Matilda

the stay you are describing is the stay we try to create for every single guest. So I will gladly forward your review to our teams and thank you very much for sharing your view on your stay here on TripAdvisor.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We checked in to a room on the 10th floor and had to wait 20 mins and call down for our suitcase which they'd forgotten to bring up. Then we find that the electrics in the bathroom weren't working. Another call down to reception and a 20 minute wait for someone to come and fix it (blown fuse). Shame really, as the hotel was lovely and staff very nice.

Breakfast was awesome, so much choice make sure you leave plenty of time to eat it all, bear in mind it's 30euros each, so you wanna be hungry!

Concierge was most helpful in pointing out the places to go which helped a lot given out short stay in the city.

Didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to try kurrywurst.

Tip: don't order the water from room service, go over the road to the Greek restaurant and buy it there. It's less than half price!

Overall, a good hotel let down by a couple of niggles. But we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Jeremy

thank you for posting a review on our hotel, the InterContinental Berlin. That you state, that besides the initial challenges upon your arrival, you intend to stay with us again acknowledges our team's effort to make up for this false start.

I promise that upon your next stay you will not face similar difficulties and I look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel quite a lot and can't quite fault it. I especially enjoyed the Spa and pool facilities. Fresh fruit and water is served in the Spa for free. To get to hotel I would recommend a taxi, especially if you carry a lot of luggage. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Sight disappointment about the size of TV and inability to watch TV properly in a twin room ( due to doom design ). Wifi signal is fairly strong. Business centre has not been tried and it is not fee to use the centre.
If you wish to browse Berlin, socially if you are there for a couple of nights - catch a bus 100 or 200 from a nearby bus station (bus 200 stops on the other side of the road and will take you through a touristic route around berlin). Routes 100 and 200 have been specifically designed to suit tourists. The buses are London type double-deckers. Will I stay in this hotel again - yes I definitely will. The Spa and German red wine in the minibar were the highlights of my stay. Enjoy!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear German L,

thank you for this very nice review, accompanied by some impressions of the InterContinental Berlin.

If you like wine, I recommend to you our Michelin star restaurant Hugos which features more than 700 different types of wine, presented by sommelier Michael Köhle.

I am looking forward to your future stays and wish you equally comfortable experiences during your other hotel stays.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

What a stay.. I will never forget this hotel. A sudden conference meeting made me book a 2 nights stay in InterContinental which I was so happy for I did. The hotel is really amazing, modern with large rooms which are comfortable and clean. The service was perfect and the staff was so helpful and had a positive spirit. The view from the hotel is fantastic, because of the good location. The breakfast I got was very delicious! I really managed to put myself in a relaxing mode during my short stay even though I had a 5-hour long conference meeting both days..

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear David

your review is such a nice appreciation of our continuous team effort to provide our guests with the best possible stay. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and considering the reason of your stay I wish you many more such experiences during the conferences you attend.

See you again soon in Berlin.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A group of us recently spent a long weekend in Berlin staying t the Intercontinental and we enjoyed the experience immensely.
Although a large corporate hotel which was extremely busy, it managed to deliver an extremely intimate feel due to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.
The breakfast was excellent and the bar was a great place to come back to for a 'night cap'.
With its excellent location, I would recommend staying here and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Michael

our teams and I are also looking forward to your return in the future and I will be happy to forward your review to our teams who made your stay so pleasant and special.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for staying with us in the first place.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

It is an excellent hotel. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. They offered me an upgrade to an executive room for an extra 30 euro a night. The room was large, faced the zoo, quiet and very green outside. The breakfast buffet was excellent with great choices and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the zoo can see a lot of green foliage and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman-Koo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Norman-Koo

thank you for staying at the InterContinental Berlin and for your valuable hints on the benefits of the rooms facing the Berlin Zoo in our West Wing.

The breakfast is one of our guests' favorites and your kind compliment emphasizes just this.

Our teams and I hope to host you again in the future and we wish you pleasant hotel stays around the world.

WIth best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#24 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing