We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #29 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay as usual”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was only my second time here, but I received an invitation upon check-in from the General Manager to meet with him as a "frequent guest" to discuss my experience at IC Berlin. On the form I signed at check-in there was written on the corner "TripAdvisor". I guess they've matched me to my TA reviews. That's kind of creepy.

LOCATION
Is next to Tiergarten, in a quiet area of Berlin. 10 mins walk to the nearest Ubahn.

SERVICE
Good as usual, no complaints. Bellmen, front desk staff, restaurant staff were all friendly and helpful.

ROOMS
I stayed in a senior suite. I was a little disappointed because I thought the room would be better appointed. Now, don't get me wrong, it is still a very nice and large room with separate sleeping area, but compared to the deluxe room I stayed in last time, it was not that much nicer. I would probably just stay in a deluxe room next time.

FOOD
Breakfast is located in a nice restaurant. The food choice, however, seems limited compared to other Intercontinentals in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonianT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear BostonianT,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. First of all I want to mention that the notice ‘Trip Advisor’ on the check-In form is only the information for us about the booking channel you have used. Generally we are always looking for creating unique hotel experiences and potential for improving our services, which is the reason why we regularly ask guests to meet with our hotel managers. Detailed reviews like yours are also helpful for our daily work.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    648
    131
    28
    35
See reviews for
373
752
113
786
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed in the Intercontinental for a week in Feb 2014, chosen by our corporate travel agency.
The hotel is just what you expect from an Intercon - extremely clean, every service you could expect, and anything you ask for is provided.
My room was beautiful - I liked the modern design, and the layout made it feel cosy. It's one room, but the furniture is arranged so that it feels like a lounge and a bedroom. All facilities in the room were excellent. The coffee machine was so good that I bought one when I got home! The wifi is fast and the MP3 dock was very useful (especially as I could listen to my music in the bath).
The bathroom was very large, with a dressing area, and felt luxurious. The shower was very strong, and as well as the rainfall shower, there is a handheld one in there, which so many hotels forget to add.
All staff were extremely helpful, and nothing was too much.
The only downside for me is that the location is not great for the evenings. It's a taxi ride to any of the sights, and there weren't really any inspiring restaurants in the immediate area. But for my office, the location was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissExplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear LittleMissExplorer27,

thank you for your kind words. I’m pleased to hear that you are inspired by our service and furnishing and that you brought something, which reminds you of Berlin.
Located close to the ambassador district, I have to admit that there are not as many restaurants and bars, besides our two restaurants and the Marlene Bar, as in other districts. But with the bus 200 you can reach a lot of different locations for the evening. For this case we created a map with nearby locations. Our concierges are looking forward to advising you during your next stay with us in Berlin.

Hope to see you soon back in Berlin and I wish you lots of delicious coffee with your new machine.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My fiance and I spent 3 nights in the Intercontinental in Berlin last week and we had a really wonderful stay. The receptionist was very efficient and the staff in general couldn't have been more helpful. They even provided us with umbrellas for the terrible weather that Berlin was experiencing which was a godsend. The leisure center was really relaxing too. We went to the philharmonic while in Berlin and the location of the hotel was just great as the 200 bus picked us up right outside the door and dropped us off outside the concert hall.We also had a few drinks in Marlene bar and again the staff were very attentive and efficient. A few little things let the overall score down mainly that the TV was stuck in a box against the wall and was very hard to watch from the bed. The dinner and breakfast options were also quite expensive when just looking for a light meal. However, we were very impressed overall and would definitely stay there again given the chance!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear WeeT88

thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Berlin trip also due to the quality provided by our hotel.

We are constantly reviewing our prices and offers and are always happy to hear your feedback. When it comes to our rooms, you slept in one of our Superior rooms. These are design-oriented and thus provide moving element such as the compartment the TV is located in. In comparison, our Deluxe rooms offer larger screens whereas there are no moving elements in the room. Often, this is a choice of taste.

I hope your next Berlin trip will be just as pleasant with much better weather during summer.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Managed to get a great deal here for a one night stay on business.
Hotel is well located in nice area of town beside the zoo and Tiergarten. Not too far from Brandenburg and other tourist hotspots.
Staff at hotel were very friendly, rooms very nice and comfortable. A nice cocktail bar in the lobby and pretty decent food served in restaurant.
All in all a very nice hotel and I would stay again if prices were as reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenA970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Stephen

thank you very much for your review and I am glad that we were able to provide you with excellent value for money.

See you again in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in the beginning of march. Lets start with the hotel. The staff are excellent, the room we had was large and very comfortable. The breakfast had everything you could look for and the Marlene bar was great including live music. And now to the price guarantee. We ended up paying 157 euro more to the hotel because I was so stupid to book an non refundable price. I found a cheaper price on Expedia.com but they IHG group denied to give me their price guarantee. So to all of you who wants to stay at this very nice hotel, book it somewhere else. please. I have read on Tripadvisor that several people have exsperienced the same thing so please try to avoid the same problem that we had.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new wing, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear 123177

thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Berlin and bringing the difference in prices to our attention.

When you find a cheaper price at another provider compared to the IHG booking system, we will not only match that price but also you will receive a complimentary first night. We promise you the best possible price and we stand by this offer. Of course, we will check whether your claim is valid.

I am pleased that this did not impair your stay and that you found our hotel worth recommending.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good rooms, excellent service, good internet facility. Large Hotel, good conference facilities, can handle large numbers. Close to Alexanderplat and the sights to see. Good breakfast spread. Overall a comfortable stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanwarTavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear KanwarTavy

thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Berlin and for staying with us in Germany's capital.

It is great to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable and well located.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located in a lovely part of Berlin. It is a fifteen minute walk to Zoo station, which can get you across Berlin easily. The Berlin Zoo (best zoo I have ever visited) is ten minutes walk. A good range of shops and restaurants also in easy walking distance.

The hotel service is excellent with three good restaurants and an excellent choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear James

thank you for your compliments on our location which also includes the nearby Tiergarten park and a bus station to take you to Potsdamer Platz within five minutes.

I am pleased you enjoyed our restaurants Hugos, L.A.Cafe as well as the Marlene Bar with its wide selection of drinks and cocktails.

See you again soon in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,817 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,832 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
1,444 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#20 of 634 in Berlin
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing