We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, great room, but lousy technology”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #29 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“nice location, great room, but lousy technology”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

had to stay here for work 1 night and liked its locale by the park- but found it to be a bit sterile as more of a conference hotel. They gave me a room on the club floor by being in their IHG club, but not I soon learned access to the club floor lounge (go figure-what upgrade). Room was overall nicely decorated and comfortable work space...except the technology didn't work. I wasn't the only one having problems with their in room wireless I learned the next morning (my computer accesses everywhere all the time such as my current locale at the Hyatt, so it was them not me). And after much time and energy spent, I gave up even on the router they brought me. So thought I'd watch TV but that didn't work either until a call downstairs, and an engineer having to arrive to remove the glass from the front piece and reset the tv (yea the tv that's in one of those odd structures you have to physically roll away out into the room thus blocking off part of the hallway entrance or forcing you to squeeze by on the other side to enter the bathroom (who ever thought this was a good design piece?) Then the next morning to add insult to injury the nifty coffee machine failed miserably- wheezed, sputtered but not a drip (and yes i know how to use the machines and even re-read their directions- nothing doing.....) Of course their sorrow was expressed but not more than that. I am not impressed!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear theworld2013

thank you for staying with us here at the InterContinental Berlin. Please accept my sincere apologies for the experiences you had during your stay. I would like to clarify some of the misunderstandings, especially the difference between our Club InterContinental and IHG Rewards Club. In short: When booking the Club InterContinental, you gain access to our Club Lounge as well as other benefits to your stay. It may be booked by every guest. The IHG Rewards Club is a program with many advantages for our loyal guests.

IHG Rewards Club is an IHG-wide program which provides our guests with numerous benefits as we are very grateful for their and your continued loyalty. This program is complemented by the InterContinental Ambassador program which is specific to InterContinental Hotels and Resorts and also holds a number of very interesting benefits such as complimentary room upgrades.

On the other hand, you find our Club InterContinental. This is independent from the loyalty programs above and refers to an addition you are free to book along with your reservation. When choosing our Club InterContinental, you gain access to our Club InterContinental Lounge as well as to our SPA InterContinental. Other advantages include free snacks and drinks and free high-speed internet. Kindly note that the loyalty programs do not grant access to the Club InterContinental!

In addition, you may rest assured that our teams put every possible effort into your stay to make you feel comfortable. This applies to our front office team just as much as to the technicians who assisted you during your stay. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to resolve your issues to your satisfaction. At the same time, I strongly believe that if you give us the pleasure of another stay at the InterContinental Berlin, our teams and I will provide you with the level of service and comfort that you justifiably expect from our hotel.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    656
    132
    29
    36
See reviews for
378
766
113
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this modern hotel. The room was spacious , the bathroom was exquisite. The staff were courteous and helpful. I didn't eat within the hotel because I spent each day out and about. The weather in berlin was great for those 2 days so it was nice to come back to an air-conditioned room to relax.
One thing I do agree with the comments made by another visitor to the hotel on here is the positioning of the TV. It was a bit of a challenge to watch it laid in bed.. As a suggestion could it be on a swivel??

Other than that, the hotel met my expectations for the visit to Berlin and I would come back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ijeoma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Ijeoma

thank you for staying with us here in Berlin.

You are right, the position of the TVs in our Superior Rooms is not ideal for watching TV from your bed. Our teams are ready to advise you upon your reservation which room suits you and your needs best. For example, our Deluxe Rooms feature large modern TVs.

But you can be sure that I will discuss your suggestion on putting the TVs on a swivel with the responsible team.

Other than that, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and am already looking forward to your return.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Two night stay on top level in Ambassador lounge Excellent Treated like king and queen Service desk was friendly and helpful at all times --nothing was a worry Food and drinks available were excellent Knowledge of local area great Rooms very very nice Exceptionally good stay --worthy of seven or eight stars As good as anywhere I have stayed ---better than 95%% of other hotels

Room Tip: Join the ambassador club for very very good value for money Staff excellent in all ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Ernie

we value your loyalty as InterContinental Ambassador and I sincerely thank you for staying here at the InterContinental Berlin and for reviewing our hotel.

I jwish for you to have similarly fulfilling stays in InterContinental Hotels and Resorts around the world.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel has really excellent service, rooms are nice but not overly large. Club lounge has perfect service, personal and friendly and a good offering of food and drinks all day (not only for breakfast and happy hour). The immediate area is a bit boring, but there is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel which takes you to Berlin Mitte and the Museumsinsel.

Room Tip: Club is a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Unterwegs

thank you very much for leaving this positive review and seeing past the first impression of a long-standing Berlin hotel.

The InterContinental Berlin has been around for over 35 years, the building since more than 55 years. Nonetheless, we have undergone several renovations - the last one in 2012.

Our location is in between Tiergarten, the Berlin Zoo and Kurfürstendamm. So you find yourself in a quiet location with access to Berlin's famous shopping boulevard.

Thank you once more and see you again in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Large spaces, central position in the Western sector, with a busstop right outside to get you to other hubs, very courteous, chick and smart personell. Concierge means well, but they need to improve a bit in being able to offer more options to music/nightlife/food/events than what seems established. I was thankful to reception as they exhibited flexibility with my GROUP, helping us with smokers' rooms and late check out. My clients still narrate stories to their relatives about the style, quality and quantity of the internationally built morning buffet!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArisMaroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear ArisMaroulis

thank you for reviewing the InterContinental Berlin and your constructive feedback to your stay.

I am pleased that our teams were able to find solutions suitable for your group. Your compliments on our breakfast are much appreciated as is the evaluation of our concierge services. They are always looking at new possibilities and 'In the know' experiences for our guests.

See you soon back in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved the room and location of this hotel. It is away from the city so you have to take transportation everywhere but the beautiful location is well worth it. I would have given them 5 stars but the staff was inconsistent. Most were great, however, I was there when it was in the 90's and very hot. The airconditioning didn't get the room any colder than 25 C and that was if we were lucky. I called twice to have someone look at it but no luck. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Berlin, especially if you want a peaceful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xcapeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear xcapeohio

thank you for your stay at the InterContinental Berlin and for highlighting the location of our hotel.

The InterContinental Berlin is located close to shopping boulevard Kurfürstendamm and at the same time in a quiet side street. Behind the hotel, you find Berlin's canal as well as the well-known Tiergarten park and the world-famous Zoologischer Garten.

During your next stay, we will make sure that your room will be cool and comfortable in order for you to have a flawless and perfect stay.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A big 5 star corporate style hotel approximately 15/20 minute walk from the metro station (Zoo). Located in what was the old ‘West’ Berlin in a quiet area but well served by public transport, the hotel is some distance from the main tourist sights and in the evening there is not a lot nearby in terms of entertainment. Bus stop and taxi stand right outside the hotel.

Rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable with the usual amenities and a well- stocked bathroom/shower area. All towels are provided and changed on a daily basis. Tea / coffee making facilities. There is a minibar but items were a little on the expensive side. The wardrobe was situated in the adjoining bathroom, plenty of hanging space and drawers.

The hotel room rate included free use of the pool and gym but the spa and sauna were payable locally (15 euros each per day). Note: In Deutschland, spa and saunas are naked affairs and this can be a shock to us reserved Brits! Nice touch – a separate lift to the pool/spa area, which is lovely when you are dressed in the ‘one size, fits all’ white bathrobe and slippers!

Breakfast is plentiful if not massive, well presented and very good, catering for all tastes and offers cold meats, cereals, hot breakfast items, fruit, pastries etc. Breakfast was taken in different areas of the hotel due to ‘corporate breakfast’ functions taking place at the same time.

All staff are helpful, polite and courteous and overall the hotel offers good value for money – we loved it but would prefer to be more central to the main attractions if visiting again as choice of restaurants and evening entertainment around the hotel is limited. The hotel bar, Marlene’s, is very nice but drinks are very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear JeanRoger1

thank you for your extensive review which highlights many aspects of the InterContinental Berlin. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Due to the aspects you mentioned I would like to point you to our Club InterContinental. It not only gives you access to our Club Lounge but also includes access to our sauna as well as free snacks, drinks and breakfast. Thus, this additional value at a reasonable price may further improve your future experiences at the InterContinental Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,868 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,471 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing