We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
Ranked #26 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a good well run hotel in a nice location. The staff were all helpful, approachable and competent. This is essentially a business hotel with what seemed to be good conference facilities next door to the restaurant where breakfast is served.

The rooms were clean and adequate although not as well laid out and stocked as many 5 star hotels. For example, the pillows were soft and not supportive enough and the duvets were very thin. The air-conditioning/heating system in the rooms took a lot of sorting out and it was not easy to get the room to a sensible temperature for what was a cool august. Some of the rooms face the bin area which means that you are awoken fairly early!

There is a nice spa area, indoor pool and gym. All of this is spotlessly clean.

The hotel is well placed for the zoo, tiergarten and shops but is not in one of the main tourist areas. Many of the main tourist attractions are within a comfortable 20 to 30 minute walk through the tiergarten and there is a taxi rank right outside the hotel. I would return if in Berlin again.

Room Tip: Avoid lower level floor rooms which overlook the bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adiscerningclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Adiscerningclient

thank you for highlighting different aspects of your stay at the InterContinental Berlin.

I am sorry to hear that your room's location impaired your stay but at the same time, your intention to return shows your overall satisfaction with our teams and facilities. For your information: we offer a pillow menu for different tastes as we are well aware that a good night's sleep is what you are foremost looking for in a hotel.

If - during your stay - you are discovering anything you wish to be improved, please contact our teams at all times so that we can react and make your stay even more comfortable.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Berlin besides the rather cold August weather and wish for you to encounter sunshine during your next exploration of the city.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,451
    609
    123
    29
    31
See reviews for
355
719
106
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Intercontinental Hotel. Very nice hotel, friendly and efficient staff. Room was perfect. Great selection for breakfast. A visit to the cigar lounge is a must! Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uaimh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear uaimh30

thank you for your review and your hint at our cigar lounge which is often overlooked by our guests. It is located right next to Marlene Bar and is designed like an old English library.

It is always great to hear that someone found to have an exceptional stay at the InterContinental Berlin and I believe your future visits will be just as pleasant.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel was excellent in service. Their staff was very friendly and very helpful. Their spa was amazing. Their room was very clean but a little old with uncomfortable mattress. Their room service food was not good at all. Overall, it was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Sabia

thank you for your kind words. Your experience - with little room for improvement - is a nice confirmation of the effort our teams put in every guest's stay.

I will also forward your feedback on our room service quality to the responsible team to raise awareness.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to host you again soon in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

A hotel of distinction and panache. It combines service, quality great rooms and reasonable prices. It provides an ideal place for business and pleasure. There is no problem of language since the staff speak fluent English. The only drawback is that sometimes checking out is a bit slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangelis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Vangelis

thank you for your compliments. We are always working on improving our services. So your feedback is very much appreciated. Our teams consist of more than 40 nationalities and many languages are spoken at the InterContinental Berlin. Nonetheless, German and English are the most common and are spoken by all our staff.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The Interconti Hotel in Berlin is by far my favorite Hotel to stay in when in Berlin. High standards of customer service, spacious rooms, good parking facilities…. All in all the perfect price / quality combination for me!!

Room Tip: Junior suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan80_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Stefan

thank you very much for taking the time to review the InterContinental Berlin and for being a loyal guest of our hotel.

See you next time in Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and liked the place.

Overall this is a nice hotel, but has some limitations which I am listing below:

1. There is only one bus which is near the hotel - if you miss it or are using the trains to get to the hotel, then there is a fair bit if a walk to reach here.

2. We found the television location in the rooms very odd. Although there was a large empty wall right in front of the bed, the TV was kept in a corner, locked behind a glass panel - thus it was a bit difficult to view.

3. There was a €15 p.p charge to use the spa facilities such as Steam and Sauna. I think this is archiach and should be scrapped for the guests staying in the hotel.

Other than above mentioned limitations, we really liked the place and had a great time. The pool was really nice and we had loads of fun there.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NishantD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear NishantD81

thank you for reviewing and recommending the InterContinental Berlin.

Please let me add one or two remarks on the points you mentioned:

1) You are right, there is bus no 200 right in front of our doorstep which runs every 10 minutes during daytime. 10 minutes is also roughly the time you need to reach either Zoologischer Garten station or Wittenbergplatz station from our hotel. In return, the InterContinental Berlin is located in a quiet street adjacent to Tiergarten and Berlin Zoo. You will most likely experience a more restful stay compared to if we were located on one of the major streets.

2) This point - position of the TV in our Superior rooms - is regularly mentioned by our guests and we currently looking into possible solutions at the moment. If you prefer a larger flat screen TV, I would like to recommend our Deluxe rooms which are designed very different in comparison.

3) We decided in the past to maintain the exclusive atmosphere of our SPA InterContinental by introducing a charge of 15 euros per person per day. The pool, jacuzzi and gym are free of charge. At the same time, the charge for our saunas enables us to keep lower prices in other areas of our hotel.

Besides these aspects for improvement, I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and liked the InterContinental Berlin.

With kind regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel really is fantastic, rooms are spacious, spotless and have everything you need, including a very quirky TV that sits in a part of the wall that completely rotates so you can watch it in the bathroom! Great choice of breakfast. We also had dinner which was outstanding. All staff speak very good English. Free wifi. Location for shops, restaurants, zoo and aquarium is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Denise K,

I am truly delighted to learn that the team made such a great impression and that hotel facilities met your expectations. Our breakfast is very popular among our guests due to the broad variety in fresh products which are partly prepared by our cooks in front of you.
I am looking forward to your future stays.

With kind regards,
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#24 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Property: InterContinental Berlin
Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Business Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing