We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but small shared room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #150 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location but small shared room”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location is great, in a street with restaurants, bars and the meeting point for one of the pub crawls is just across the street. I stayed in a 8 bed shared room and the room were very small, you almost did not have space to open your luggage and search for things. It has an toilet and a bathroom and that part is nice, as you don't have to wait for someone taking a shower if you just want to brush or teeth of do something else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank odairtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time here! And we feel very sorry if the room was not as bis as you have expected. To save some space you can store your bags in our luggage room. And next to it you can find another wc as well. Beside that we are offering 6-bed dormitiories which are more comfortable. Perhaps you would like to check them out during your next stay...?

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    366
    128
    45
    20
See reviews for
179
134
56
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location is very central with excellent access to public transport, and there are some nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Hackescher Markt is only a few minutes away.. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfy at a very good price. Excellent value for a city trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilviaK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for your great comment!
We hope to see you again in the future!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the highlights of Berlin as tourists. Ideal location in Berlin Mitte. We had a very clean, spacey room with private bathroom. It was a little noisy, but very cheap. Perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar3522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! What about a coffee in our new and fancy hotel in Brussels...?! :-)

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with my stay. The hostel rooms were great quality and of very high standard. I stayed in both a 4 and 8 bed dorm and thought both were large enough although the lockers were narrow. There was a very well equipped kitchen with almost everything I needed. Located right next to a U Bahn station and no more than 30 mins walk from every Berlin sight you would want to see. I'd be very happy to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTheo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for your great comment!

We are glad that you had a good time with us and we hope to meet you again soon!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel 8 days, and overall enjoyed our stay very much.

It has a very nice design, everything is clean, very pleasant atmosphere. Everyone at the reception were very nice, and spoke great English too. There's a WIFI connection that worked great most of the time, it broke down on our last 2 days, and wasn't fixed because it was during Sunday and than there was some holiday, so that was a bit annoying but understandable.
We didn't try the breakfast as we preferred to get up late and eat outside - and there are plenty of places outside to choose from.

The location is excellent! There's a metro station just outside in front of the hotel, and if you like walking, some of the main attractions are pretty close.

The only minus was that our room turned to the main street and it was 2nd floor, so it wasn't very quiet. There's traffic, and in the evenings lots of people hanging out. If you want some air and open the window the noise is pretty bad.
I'm personally not bothered much by noise, but if you are, you better ask for a room on a higher floor and one that doesn't turn to the main street.

I'd definitely stay there again, overall recommended, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much!

Hostel prices and hotel quality is excactly what we want to offer! And we'd be glad to welcome you again, too!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are modern, fresh and clean. The location is excellent, so accessible to all the sites of Berlin. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaniem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for your great comment!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed 4 days in this hotel. We reserved two rooms. One room with a double bed and one room with twin beds. Since we were 4 people, a couple and two friends. The room with the double bed was what we have reserved. The other one was a really big room with 6 beds with a shaking locker in the middle, little bit loud. We would prefer getting what we reserved. Anyway nobody came to our room. The hotel is clean, rooms are nice. Location is the best what the hotel can offer. The breakfast buffet was ok, the orange juice and coffee could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eleana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Eleana,

Thanky you for your comment! We are sorry if the room was not what you have expected. Our intention was to offer you a bigger room to make sure that you have seperated beds and enough space. We would be glad if you give us another chance to convince you of our quality!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 634 in Berlin
707 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#167 of 634 in Berlin
722 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#77 of 634 in Berlin
462 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#76 of 634 in Berlin
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing