We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very clean, great breakfast buffet, free laundry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #153 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It’s 30 seconds away from the S1/S7/S25 and 5 mins walk from U-bahn Oranienburger Tor.
Berlin dome and museum island are easily walkable.
Friendly and helpful staffs. I like the design of the rooms. Stayed in female dorm and double room.
The breakfast buffet is a plus. And free wifi accessible in the lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your rating and your nice comment!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was travelling in a group so was staying in a dormitory-type bedroom, which were surprisingly roomy and very well decorated. There were two bathrooms (though not every room has this) so there could be a person in WC and someone else showing, which made things very easy for us. The beds were comfy and the breakfast room was great - lots of variety and very clean. Staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The front desk was very professional and the waiting area was stylish and functional. The location was great - there was an underground station on the doorstep and a tram passing straight past the door. Lots of restaurants in close walking distance and the courtyard was surprisingly peaceful considering how close it was to the street (though not accessible by the street).
Only downside was the lack of air-con. I was there in a heat wave which made the room uncomfortable, especially with the number of people in it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much! We are very happy about your comment!

You are totally right. During last summer it was very hot! In our superior rooms we have air condition but if you prefer to stay in a dormitory we are offering ice cream and cool drinks as well! :-)

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here, with a group of stags, in early August.

The rooms are basic and it's really a hostel type set-up, although a step up in terms of decor and quality. Beds were quite comfy but the lack of air-con was a bit of a killer especially as Berlin was having a heatwave when we stayed.

Front desk is good and the staff were polite and well informed. Numerous fridges for food and drink, which you pay for as you take them, and a little courtyard, ideal for a quiet beer in the afternoon sun.

Location is great - we managed to walk everywhere we needed to go.

I wanted to give it 3.5 stars but couldn't stretch to 4, so 3 it is.

Would I stay again? No, but then I don't normally stay in places like this. if the cheaper, hostel like set-up is your bag, then it's perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time in Berlin! It's true- the last summer was unusual hot!
But we have superior rooms with a nice gallery and air condition. So for you next stay we would be happy to reserve one of those rooms for you!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice hostel in a good location, very accessible to the city centre by foot and also with a station right on the door step. Only downside was our twin room was very small - with two single beds pushed together and not much space for too much luggage. All and all had everything you need and free laundry services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your comment!
You find us in metropolises only, so we thought: The guests are the whole day on tour
anyway, so we can focus on a great location, a comfortable mattress... and save a little on the square metres. But if you need some more space for your bags you can use our luggage rooms for free.

We hope to see you again!
Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had reviewed this hotel in September 2012 and at the time I said I would have given it 3 or 4 stars except for the lack of service and unprofessionalism at the front desk. I have been meaning to write a new review as I did revisit the hotel in 2013 and had a much different experience than the first time I went. This time I had a maisonette/duplex room which was larger that the first room and I enjoyed it a lot and thought it was absolutely worth the extra money.
The front desk and everyone at the hotel were much more friendly and accommodating. I would now absolutely recommend the hotel for location, staff, cleanliness and excellent value. Glad I went back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelmonster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much!

We are glad that you gave us a second chance and that you enjoyed your stay! Your opinion is very important for us and we are working hard every day to improve our service. We feel very happy about your feedback! :-)

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location is great, in a street with restaurants, bars and the meeting point for one of the pub crawls is just across the street. I stayed in a 8 bed shared room and the room were very small, you almost did not have space to open your luggage and search for things. It has an toilet and a bathroom and that part is nice, as you don't have to wait for someone taking a shower if you just want to brush or teeth of do something else.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank odairtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time here! And we feel very sorry if the room was not as bis as you have expected. To save some space you can store your bags in our luggage room. And next to it you can find another wc as well. Beside that we are offering 6-bed dormitiories which are more comfortable. Perhaps you would like to check them out during your next stay...?

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location is very central with excellent access to public transport, and there are some nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Hackescher Markt is only a few minutes away.. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfy at a very good price. Excellent value for a city trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilviaK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment!
We hope to see you again in the future!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 635 in Berlin
746 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#84 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#154 of 635 in Berlin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £53 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing