We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean and Centrally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #153 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Got to the hotel from the airport in about 40min and from the first moment the experience was great. Friendly staff at the front desk who checked us in within minutes, gave us directions and told us where to go for a supermarket. Also drinks, beers and snacks are available at the front desk.

The central location puts you within a 20-30min walk to anywhere in the city and the S-bahn station steps from the hotel's door puts you anywhere in berlin within minutes.

The hotel is very clean and new, the room was small but seemed to have been refurbished recently. The furniture seemed brand new and the bathroom was very modern and clean. For its price this is an excellent hotel.

The guest kitchen was very handy to cook a meal or have breakfast and was barely being used during our stay (we had it all to ourselves). It is equipped with the essentials to cook just about any meal. A supermarket is about 15min walking from the hotel. Next door to the hotel is a small restaurant that serves a good, german, well priced meal for those who don't want to cook.

Only downside I could say is the "adult nighttime activities" along oranienburger strasse further down from the hotel, but this was not at all an issue for us and the area seemed very safe regardless.

All things considered this is a great place for a comfortable, budget weekend trip to berlin....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thanks for the great feedback!
We are happy to have made your stay in Berlin a good one and would be happy to welcome you again!
Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were 7 guys, but we booked a room with 8 beds so we could have the room to ourselves. It was great - we were only staying the one night, so just needed a base to dump our bags for the day, come back to change and rest before going out, and somewhere for a few hours sleep.

This was great - comfy bed - although you would hardly notice being drunk - but a convenient charging socket by each bed. Very clean and modern rooms, toilet and bathroom within the room - toilet separate to shower - which is handy when you are a group of guys. Bascially - it's like a nice hotel room but with many bunkbeds instead of one. We were on the 4th floor.

Location is great - 10 mins walk to alexanderplatz, but there are good bars, places to eat in the area.

Check in staff helpful - would have been good if we could have checked in a few hours earlier than we did though - but we arrived early - just left our bags in lugagge room.

I am reviewing as excellent not comparing to hotels but to other hostels I have stayed in. - Hence the excellent rating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shackleton_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review!
We are happy to hear that you had such a good night at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
Why not check out our other hotels around Europe on your next trip? Maybe Amsterdam or Munich?
Hope to see you again one day!
Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Right next to Oraninenburger 'S' bahn and less than 10mins from anywhere you want to visit. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Certainly on my list for Christmas market accomodation.Also very close to Orianengurger Tor, which hasvsome excellent bars & restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thanks for rating us!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte is indeed located very central with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants around. A good starting point to explore the capital.
Hope to see you again soon!
Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you plan on having a nice, quiet stay with your family in a hotel in Berlin then be very careful here!

My wife, two children (age 5 and 8) and I have just spent 3 nights here and were very surprised to find out that we were sharing the the entire floor with high school students on a school trip. Despite house rules the students were running in the corridors, knocking and slamming doors and shouting most of the night. The staff (who in general was very kind and understanding) assured me that they were going to take action but nothing happened or it didn't help at all.
I was also told just to contact the reception if necessary but then I had to get up and get dressed since there was no telefone in the room!
After the first night we asked to be moved to another room but we were told that this wasn't possible.

I'm shocked that Meininger Hotel Berlin Mitte chooses to place a family like that instead of finding a more quiet floor. The least you can do is to inform and warn people about the risk - that would be honest and good business behaviour. The name hotel is definetly misleading in terms of Meininger Hotel Berlin Mitte even though you say you are for all types of guests. In my opinion it's nothing but a youth hostel.

PS:
1. There are people smoking under the windows on both sides of the hotel which means that you have to keep your windows closed at all time. Especially if you stay on first floor!

2. The beds are horrific as the mattresses are very thin.

3. Our room was incredibly small so there was almost no furniture

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhc2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your comment!

First of all we would apologize for any inconveniences. We feel very sorry if you were not able to enjoy your stay.

You are right about the great variety of guests we have. This is our concept. We
aim at providing central and modern accommodation which offers our guests exactly that what they are looking for. Due to this, besides classical single and double rooms, we offer family rooms and dormitories as well. And there are also a lot of school groups among our guests.

We want to be a homelike place where one can meet other people, at the bar or in the guest kitchen for instance. Of course it is very important especially if you are travelling with children to have a quiet room in which you can relax and sleep without any noise from the outside. For that reason the receptions is occupied 24h and our colleagues at night make sure that nobody disturbs the peace at night. If they have not done this we would sincerely apologize for that.

We take your comment seriously and we will do anything necessary to avoid such a situation in the future. We are grateful for your feedback and we would be glad if you give another chance to convince you of our service.

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

For the amount of people in our room there was not much space at all, considering how much it cost to stay there. Saying that though the room was very clean and tidy. Location is very good, near lots of bars, organised bar crawl etc. Breakfast was wildly overpriced, I've found this at other Meininger Hotels also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Henchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your comment!

We are glad that you had a good time but we feel sorry that you were not onehundred percent satisfied! You are right about the room sizes. We are offering modern, comfortable and clean accomodations in metropolis for a generally low price. To save a little on square metres is the only way to place value on high standards (faltscreen tv, free wifi...). For guests who need some more space we have a luggage room. Or if you prefer a bigger room we would be happy to show your one of our superiour rooms.

Our continental breakfast buffet for 5,90 Euro includes coffee, tea, bread, rolls, cereals, jam, cheese, ham and much more. We try to keep the costs as low as possible but quality is very important for us. For guests who want to save some money we have a guest kitchen. In the kitchen you can store your own stuff in a fridge and cook for free.

If you have any questions or ideas how to improve our service we would be glad to hear from you again! Thank you for your feedback!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hostel belonging to a famous international chain, it is very clean and cosy, with nice and simple twin room and small but clean private bathroom. Position is very goo, close to undergriund and in any case at walking distance from interesting sights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne_822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you very much!

We are very happy about your comment and we hope to see you again soon!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here and the place is ideally located for all the key sights within Berlin, close to all the transport links also.

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was great in the morning and the free wifi a real bonus.

The team on reception very helpful and would recommend this place to people travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrG0ggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment!

We are glad that you liked our rooms and services. We hope to see you again soon!

Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 635 in Berlin
746 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 635 in Berlin
481 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#155 of 635 in Berlin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £53 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing