We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, brilliant staff, best for 20-somethings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #148 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is in a really good location in Mitte, just a 5 minute walk from Museum island and 15-20 minutes from the Parliament building and Brandenburg Gate. The staff are super polite and helpful, and for those of us without German skills they speak almost flawless English. The wifi is strong and reliable and there are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink.

The hotel is probably best for 20-somethings as this is the usual crowd. It can feel a bit like a hostel at times. Because of this it can be a bit noisy, especially if your room overlooks the central courtyard. In the summer the rooms can be very warm as well. Our group was spread across 4 floors and it seems those higher up suffered the most.

The hotel is great value though and perfect for something like a stag-do, which is why we used it. There are good bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. There are also large numbers of prostitutes along the road at night, so I imagine holiday makers with kids might want to avoid this place to avoid awkward questions!

Room Tip: Possibly lower down in the summer as the ones higher up get hot. Also not overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you very much for rating us!
Great to hear that you enjoyed staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte with a few friends.
You`re absolutely right, the location is indeed really good, so close to the main sights and places of interest. I guess we all didn`t expect this summer to be that hot! :)
Hope to see you again some time, maybe in our hotel in Amsterdam, Vienna or Munich?
Take care, your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hostel is extremely well located, right in the heart of Berlin and surrounded by many bars, restaurants and shops. The hostel was very clean and tidy and it wasn't particularly noisy.

The main drawbacks are that it's extremely hot. You have to sign a waiver to be able to fully open the windows and even after doing this, it is still very hot. As the rooms are not particularly big, when there are 6 people in there trying to sleep, the room massively overheats. Definitely need some fans to be installed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CastleRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung!
Das ehrliche Feedback unserer Gäste sehen wir als Möglichekeit uns stetig zu verbessern und unseren Kundenwünschen gerecht zu werden.
Wir freuen uns, dass Sie einen schönen Aufenthalt im MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte verbracht haben und begrüßen Sie mit Freude jederzeit wieder!
Nächstes Mal vielleicht in unserem Hotel in Brüssel, München oder Salzburg?
Alles Gute für Sie!
Ihr MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Rooms and Room Size
So I stayed here with my school. Don't know what all the fuss is about small rooms, I had 8 Guys in my room and we could of easily accommodated another 10 if everyone was to stand up in our room. But maybe we just had a large one. The bathroom was spotless and clean with granite finish and hot water (hurray!)

Rooms and Food
The rooms were fairly clean and modern, and the beds relatively comfortable. The breakfast was probably the best food that the hotel served, with a mixture of breads, jams, cereals, yoghurts fruits and more. Unfortunately the dinner was not great but for a budget hotel it was fine- if you couldn't stomach the main courses (mystery meatballs and stodgy mash or a strange pasta) there was plenty of salad and bread to fill up on. Or maybe this was for group mealtimes and I was just unlucky? The puddings were interesting, some nice, some weird.

Staff
Staff are friendly, polite, efficient and helpful.

SUMMARY
If you're quite a tourist and doing loads of traveling or maybe you're a city worker and need to stay in the city, or perhaps you're a student with some friends, this is the hotel for you. Frankly the only major let down was the food. If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message.

Room Tip: If you sleep with the window open, do not pick a room at the front of the hotel as you will be greet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esnosrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback!
We really appreciate the honesty and are happy to hear you had a great time staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte with your classmates.
We totally agree with you, the rooms are indeed spacious and comfortable - an ideal base to explore the bustling city!
If you think there`s room for improvement regarding the dinner, we will have to work on it.
Hope to see you again some time, maybe with your family or a bunch of mates?
Take care,
your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very young staff but friendly and helpful. Small play area in the reception. Room was spacious and had enough storage space. Shower and toilet in separate rooms is great for a travelling family! Very comfortable beds but rooms could have been cleaner. 1 or 2 more towels would have been appreciated. Only german channels on the TV. Wifi was free but extremly slow. This is more of a fancy hostel than a hotel but if you are travelling on a budget this is a great option. Walking to city center is only about 15 minutes. We had breakfast in the small breakfast restauarant across the streat and did not try the hotels breakfast buffe. All in all for the price we paid we got good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback!
It helps us make your stay even better next time! We are glad you found the family room, you were staying in, very spacious and comfortable. It`s our philosophy to create a space like home for travellers all around Europe, which they are looking forward to returning to.
We are going to work on the areas where you could see room for improvement and hope to welcome you again soon. Maybe next time in Brussels, Amsterdam or Cologne?

All the best, your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Don't ever book the 4 persons room. It's very small and no airco. The window can only be tilted. Very small. It's a clean hotel and the placing is perfect. I would advice people over 30 to book somewhere else and pay some what more. Or if you really don't care about a little space go ahead. In a very lively street.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Marcella1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback!
The location is indeed perfect, right in the center of Berlin with lots of interesting sights, restaurants and cafes reachable by foot. For exploring futher parts of Berlin, the S-Bahn entrance is just in front of the hotel.
For your own safety windows can be tilted only - however even on hot summer days the temperature during the night cools down again.
We would love to welcome you again and hope to fully convince you next time!
Why not book a superior room on your next trip to ensure you get all the extra space you prefer having?
All the best, your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed as a group of 3 for 3 nights between the 12th-15th July and had a great stay.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, with two beds located on a mezzanine above the bathroom and one sofabed at entrance level.
The steps up to the mezzanine are quite steep, which could cause a problem for older guests, but it wasn't a concern for us.
Our room was fairly quiet (we faced North on the 5th floor), but other than the odd bit of traffic outside sound was at a minimum.
The weather was very warm while we were in Berlin, however owing to the high ceiling and large windows of the room, we found that the air conditioning unit (mounted on the ceiling) was ineffective at cooling the room adequately at times.
There were lots of restaurants and bars close by (I recommend Cafe Orange just over the road for a good Breakfast or Lunch), and travel is equally simple with an S-Bahn stop literally right outside.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation, and would definitely use them again when I return to Berlin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Conkers2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for rating us!
We are glad we could make your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte an enjoyable one and love to hear that you would like to return on your next trip to Berlin :)
Did you know we also have hotels in other European cities, like Brussels, Munich and Vienna?
Hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in a family room with our 18 year old grand-kids. We liked that the toilet was in a separate room from the shower with a sink in each room. It almost seemed like 2 bathrooms. It was very clean but because of no air conditioning it was hot and hard to sleep. Fans can be used on loan with a 10 euro deposit. It helped a little. There were a very small group of us older travelers in the full hotel. For 5 euros each the buffet breakfast had a lot of good choices. It was very reasonably priced for the 4 of us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Franida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for rating us!
It`s nice to hear that you had a great stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
When you`re travelling around Europe next time, why not check out our hotels in other cities, like Brussels, Cologne or maybe Vienna?
Would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
All the best, your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#161 of 635 in Berlin
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#91 of 635 in Berlin
492 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#116 of 635 in Berlin
758 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £49 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing