We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service.”
Review of Tauro

Tauro
Ranked #2,006 of 8,396 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Prenzlauer Berg
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Nice decor and welcoming staff. Salad starter and main course piella was excellent. Worth a visit sometime.

Helpful?
Thank CulturalAttache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    75
    42
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Terrible spanish tortilla”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

It seemed like it was heated in the microwave, hard and disgusting, it could be possible to build another wall in Berlin with these tortillas.

The wine was good and not too expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alv1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“the greediest owner”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

how can i describe the lame experience we had? ok, it was supposed to be a great night... i went there with a big group of friends and family members expecting great food and great service, since i trusted the good ratings i've read here. we were 12 people, 7 came directly from canada for a really especial ocasion, and i wanted to give them a good impression of the city. you can imagine the amount of money that 12 hungry and thursty people were willing to spend on that place. and canadians, just like americans, are good tippers too. anyway as we got there the restaurant wasn't full at all, but it still took 20 min for the waitress to come and take our drink order. after we got our drinks, it took her ONE HOUR to take our food order. still the canadians were very patient and friendly. one of them didn't like the so called "sprüdelwasser" (bubble water) and asked if he could get a glas of leitungswasser (tap water). you know what the waitress said? "we are not allowed to give costumers tap water. you have to buy the regular mineral water". ok, did i get it right? we are spending around 400 euros here and you guys can get us ONE glas of tap water? are you kidding me? any other decent place would have offered us not only a whole bottle of water for free, but also good coffee or aperitives. that was the most awkwerd experience i've ever had. the waitress only said it was the bosses' instructions, but not even once she said she was sorry about that. as we asked the reason of that "instruction", she said "well, we cannot give you tap water because the owner of the place is the one who pays the water bill; that means he would have to pay for that glas of water". yes my friends, it was only getting worse and worse. we asked to talk to the manager... and it wasn't about the water anymore. it was about the whole greedyness and stinginess we were being forced to put up with. the manager also didn't apologize at all; he was just as lame as the whole place. i guess one of the requirements to work at that restaurant is being as greedy and lame as the owner. even if you want to be the best employee, there are things you just cannot stand for (at least not if you're a normal thinking person). i understand that you have to stick to the rules if you want to keep your job, but trying to justify your bosses' attitudes instead of apologizing is just ridiculous. we didn't get the bloody glas of tap water, we didn't get any apologies. oh, and the food by the way nothing but ordinary, just far far away from matching the "wanna be sofisticated" atmosphere of a way too pretentious restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summer_page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exellent tapas”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Don't misjudge the Tauro Restaurant by the Spanish cliched ambience, they serve exellent tapas and Spanish wines. I have visited the restaurant twice and both times they meet my expectations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SH50-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive interior, decent steak and good wine”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We came across Tauro by pure happeninstance - it was the nearest restaurant to the subway station on a cold evening. We were pleasantly surprised by the warm spacious interior...the downstairs is a Spanish tapas which looked busy however we opted for steak in the upstairs part. The restaurant upstairs was large and airy...we were seated and the menu had a good selection [and price range] of steak. I had a Argentinian steak with spinach and tomato. It was cooked to perfection [medium] and the spinach and tomato was a tasty accompaniment. We also ordered a bottle of Malbec [my favourite with steak] and it was delicious and reasonably priced. The bill came to around €110 for 3 main courses with side orders, water and one bottle of wine. The waiting staff were attentive without being overbearing and the over all evening there was lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealEzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tauro also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Tauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing