We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berlin Mitte by Campanile
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Aquino(Berlin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
39
121
50
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
121
50
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe natural history museumnordic hotelcentral stationgreat supermarketbottled waterinexpensive hotelfree tea and coffeemin walkpower showerroom was cleanexcellent showernice hotelfirst floorwould stay againbrandenburg gatestayed here for nightsvery pleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel itself is rather good with nice rooms and very good brekfast, but IMPORTANT!! Chose a room on the rear side ! Rooms on the street side is very noisy due to heavy traffic on the Invalidenstrasse! Rather far from the real center of Berlin! But close to the subway!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were over for the Berlinale 2014 and stayed in the Nordic Hotel for four days. Upon arrival, which was earlier than expected, after a red eye flight that morning, we went to the hotel to see if we could check in early and go for a nap. None of the rooms were ready so we were told to come back at 3pm. This was ok, if a little frustrating (we were exhausted) but what was more frustrating was that we asked if they could just let us know if any of the rooms happened to be ready a little earlier, as they obviously weren't ALL going to be ready at 3 on the dot. Some, logically, would be ready a little earlier. They were baffled about our suggestion. The cleaner who seemed to be doubling at reception as the receptionist had gone AWOL then stepped aside when the receptionist came back. The receptionist was far more unhelpful than the stand-in receptionist/cleaner who had been vacuuming the restaurant when we arrived and had initially attended to us. Suffice to say that the extraordinarily unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist also told us that all rooms were ready at 3pm. Clearly they weren't budging. We left our number anyway, in case something was cleaned early, but obviously didn't get a call as we waited at a nearby cafe.

The tall blond receptionist who we dealt with earlier was thankfully gone by the time we came back to check in. But the wifi, that was a large part of the reason we chose the hotel, still wasn't working (we had waited in the hotel lobby upon arrival to try and check emails etc but couldn't get connected). This new receptionist informed us finally, after the previous receptionist being as unhelpful as ever, that the wifi would work up in the rooms. We didn't believe her, but we were wrong, it actually did! Success (why didn't the first receptionist know this?)! Bad Tripadvisor review averted...but no...that was just the beginning...

The room was small, not the end of the world, and it was perfectly clean, BUT it was RIGHT beside the busy road outside, so not only was a nap not feasible, sleeping was a nightmare (so to speak) throughout the entire stay. As beeping cars and noisy trucks thundered past outside the window as if they were right next to my head. I asked after a largely sleepless first night whether I could be moved to a room on the other side of the hotel and higher up away from the road and the receptionist (a different one) shrugged her shoulders and told me that it was busy roads on all sides and it wouldn't make a difference...helpful as ever. The other nightmare was that the shower in the room was one of those showers that you get to the right temperature, stand under it, and then after a minute it blasts scorching hot water out for about twenty or thirty seconds (or longer), so you quickly jump out from under the water and try and alter the temperature accordingly, and when you get it ok again the hot burst that has forced you to adjust it decides to spontaneously end and it then becomes freezing, and then you adjust it again and the cycle continues, scorching, freezing, scorching, freezing. A miserable, not to mention fraught and painful way to shower every day. At this stage I had the hump so badly with the staff that I didn't even bother complaining about this, instead deciding that I'd just rant about it on Tripadvisor.

The location was decent, not outstanding - the Berlinale is centred around Potsdamer Platz and the hotel is about a six or seven minute walk to the S Bahn train station that gets into Potsdamer Platz in ten minutes, so you're there 20 mins after leaving the hotel, which is decent enough. Though you're paying more for every time you use the S-Bahn (or get a cab home like we did) so overall it would have been better to just pay the extra money for a more central hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend AGAINST staying in this hotel. It's not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in I'm sure, but then, off the top of my head I can't actually think of any worse...certainly not with such rude and unfriendly staff anyway...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Certainly nothing special, but certainly no complaints.
Clean, comfy Beds and good location. Nearest station under 1 min walk (Naturkundmuseum - U6)
Which gives an easy journey to/from Tegel and easy access to most stations.
5 mins walk from the Trains and S Bahn (Nord) (One of the 'ghost' stations)
Breakfast reasonable, usual German spread, with hot and cold options.
All staff spoke English which was helpful. Wifi did not work in-room but did in lobby, computer there for use.
Would stay again for all the above at a reasonable cost

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Fairly short walk from the main station. Friedrichstrasse, Alexanderplats etc within walking distance.
Small, almost intimate hotel, so preferable to the hotel "factories" OK bed and rooms. Wow bathroom. Very good breakfast!
Will consider it for my next trip.

Room Tip: During my stay traffic on Invalidenstrasse was low due to road works. I can imagine that sound levels normally would be high in rooms facing the main street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is an acceptable base for your trip, clean and friendly and very handy for the central station (10 minute walk). There is also a kettle with tea and coffee supplies and free wifi. The bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. The room in itself was a little small but spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews