We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central and Best breakfast”
Review of Hotel 38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 38
Ranked #164 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very central and Best breakfast”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel is comfortable minimalistic and has the best breakfast worthy of any 5 star we have stayed at. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Would recommend hotel as it is convenient and close to transport and lots of restaurants in a very buzzy interesting area with "ladies of the night" pacing the sidewalks!!!!!! Mary and Vaughan Norton

Room Tip: Think all rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    159
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
67
103
37
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NW Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the former East Berlin & is surrounded by restaurants & is close to museum island & the Berlin Dom as well as public transportation. Lots of variety here & is safe. It is also a block away for IES overseas study students. The room was comfortable & the staff were accommodating & friendly. The rate for a triple was 133 Euros which included all taxes. I would Rate the hotel with 3 1/2 stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 0-6FAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in room 301. I agree with all of the positives listed in previous reviews. A few notes that make this hotel just shy of perfect for me:

- bathroom was open to the main room and the shower had a glass wall: this meant that light/noise in bathroom disturbs the other person (who could still be trying to sleep)
- no safe
- although clean and new, furniture in the room seems of low quality; slightly disappointing for what I had expected for the price

I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wabush labrador
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I read reviews on trip advisor and everything pointed to the kind of hotel I like. A small hotel that I discovered offered great personal service. Staff was always available and so friendly offering all kinds of information of enjoying my first visit to Berlin. Suggestions of where to eat, cafes, shopping and most important places to visit. The rooms have personality, the hotel is next to the public transportation, getting there from the airport was a breeze. restaurants , bars, cafes, boutiques, all near by. walking distance to major attractions , for me at least . Galleries, Market...everything I love. The value for money was fantastic....stay here and enjoy Berlin. The Breakfast was amazing, and the Breakfast area and courtyard makes you want to linger. Do yourself a favour, stay at hotel 38.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wabushtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

+ Great location on Oranienburgerstrasse (only a few hundred meters from Hackescher Markt, the best place to start either a shopping session or a pub crawl),
+ Good value for money
+ Excellent Breakfast (was included in the price of my room) with a lot of different things (salty or sweet)
+ Hotel has been renovated recently (whereby, they put more effort in the decoration of the common space than in the room)

- Well, if you're looking for one of those fancy boutique hotel, you should probably keep looking. On the other side, if like me, you spend most of your time outside, striding along the city, and you just need a central place to sleep and shower, then this one will totally get the job done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonzarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my bestie for my eighteenth. It was a lovely weekend, in a lovely hotel. Each floor has a different colour scheme - we were on orange. Everything is sleek, clean, modern. For some reason we both ended up taking about two showers a day because it was a really nice bathroom. Breakfast was at a good time, and served a lovely spread of fruit, bread and cheese. There was quite a lot of meat, but as a vegetarian I substituted this with breakfast cake. The staff are great, very helpful and really know their stuff. Although we are sorry we stole so many sweets from the bowl by the door. They were tasty and we were drunk.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a great place to stay. In walking distance of everywhere.breakfast was amazing. Lots of places to eat very close and great bars . Shopping is out of this world and it is very close to the train station and airport ...all in all fab

Room Tip: Just book it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freida7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#111 of 634 in Berlin
1,793 reviews
Mitte
ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#165 of 634 in Berlin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Dietrich Bonhoeffer Haus
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Augustinenhof
Hotel Augustinenhof
#278 of 634 in Berlin
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 38

Property: Hotel 38
Address: Oranienburger Str. 38, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 38 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing