We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel”
Review of Estrel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estrel Berlin
Ranked #213 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my partner who was on a conference. Not ideal for visiting Berlin as it is about 20 mins train/underground journey but nice place to stay if you want to get out of the city. Very good facilities, nice clean room which is spacious. Clean room/hotel also. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities are good, good selection of bars and restaurants although some were closed during our stay. Nice outside bars also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazeve1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    501
    300
    69
    39
See reviews for
66
167
61
731
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The conference facilities are good - plenty of space, meeting rooms etc. and the food provided for the conference was good. Some of the meeting rooms however had doors marked as being for technical stuff from which quite a lot of noise came which made discussions difficult at times. The hotel has lots of restaurants, but you can't count on them all being available - for example whilst all were open over the weekend when I was there, on the Monday night half of them were closed.

The rooms are okay - nothing fancy but good enough, but the lack of a safe in the room was a surprise. I've seen other reviews commenting on this where the management have said "but we have safe deposit boxes at reception", but that's really not equivalent, and in my opinion not good enough. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in what seems to be an industrial area and only had one nearby restaurant, this is fine for a conference, but I wouldn't stay here if I wasn't on business.

Overall, a decent conference hotel, but not somewhere I'd go for anything else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything is very efficient, staff are nice.
Great views, a little far out for a tourist hotel but for a conference it has everything you need including an ok gym which does have a fizzy water fountain.
Its really odd that you dont have a kettle in your room, I asked for one and got one ...

Room Tip: Definitely the higher the better and looking out to Berlin, dont take rooms on the lower floors espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themiddleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a very large event hotel a bit off from the city centre with a lot of shows going on, but that didn't disturb me at all. I had a deluxe room, very spacious, plenty of work area and a great bathroom with perfect cleaning. The view was great from the 14th floor. A typical hotel at the business level, with a good breakfast. Good working internet connection during my whole stay which is important to me.
After the two-day conference I moved to a hotel more in the centre of Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanStenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
253 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for a conference - and on that basis the hotel was a 4-star score - beds fine, room good, decent working desk and good facilities etc.

Would I stay here again: yes for a conference - and for a conference I think they are doing a good job. Also the fitness facilities are nice and there is a decent and easy to follow running path as you can go running along the canal.

I would not recommend this hotel for holiday as it is not in the centre of town, not a nice area etc. - but if you are asked to go on a conference here, you can rest assured that the hotel does the job for a conference guest in terms of sleeping quality, bar for networking, decent breakfast etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'm writing this from the hotel before checking out so I dont forget things... live on the scene if you like!

I'll start with the bad points (that's the bit we all skip to, right..?).

The pillows are shockingly thin. Even doubling-up isn't quite good enough.
The Air Con isn't switched on until the summer, yet with large windows, a big hotel and 20+ degrees outside it gets warm inside your room.
There is NO KETTLE! Awful, just awful.
There is no iron.
There is no safe.

That's about it though for critiscisms.

The good...

The hotel is wonderfully clean and well maintained, I really am impressed with its cleanliness in the room and public areas.
The bed is nice (pillows aside...).
The room is nicely designed and a good size, light and airy, plenty of storage space (despite what other reviews would suggest, there is a wardrobe and plenty of storage space).
The staff are exceptionally good; friendly and polite, knowledgeable, efficient and well trained. Everyone had the answers I needed instantly and with a smile. Well done!
Breakfast is decent, something for everyone, hot and cold, fruits, breads, cereals, hot and cold drinks, the lot. Very good indeed. I never struggled to get seated either which was a bonus.
The restaurant I ate in was very good, very well priced, again excellent staff who knew the menu and the beers well enough to suggest something I might like. Very impressive (and they were right!).

Also, to address a complain in another review I read, housekeeping did respect my privacy and when I left a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, they simply popped a note through to say they respected this, left the room alone and I could call if I wanted them to come back. Exactly what I wanted.

The indifferent things... it's not all Good or Bad...

As other reviews suggest, the in-room toiletries are a squeeze bottle on the wall. Not bad though, nice to use and smell nice, just not as nice as other hotels.
The beds... they're nice (so worth a mention in the Good section) but a 'double' is actually two singles. It might bother some people so I'm mentioning it.
Also, not a criticism of the hotel itself but the area... there is nothing here. You stay at this hotel for practical reasons (a conference in my case, maybe a show or something that demands you be in the area). A holiday destination this is not, it's quite far from the city and airports (€35 taxi ride from Tegel).

Overall the hotel is well worth its 4-stars, I had a very pleasant stay and if you need a hotel in this area, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gutersloh, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The hotel is nice particularly because we paid a very good rate. I wouldn't have wanted to pay anymore than what we paid. The rooms are nice and we were lucky enough to have a good view of Berlin from our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgerm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#267 of 634 in Berlin
168 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#432 of 634 in Berlin
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#185 of 634 in Berlin
551 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Erlanger Hof
Hotel Erlanger Hof
#318 of 634 in Berlin
67 reviews
Ibis Berlin Neukoelln
#263 of 634 in Berlin
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrel Berlin

Property: Estrel Berlin
Address: Sonnenallee 225, 12057 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#142 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 1125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrel Hotel Berlin is Germany's largest hotel, and they have something to suit every taste and need: 1,125 rooms and suites, five restaurants, three bars, a summer garden with its own landing pier, a modern wellness & fitness area and even free internet access.The hotel is adjoined to the Estrel Congress & Messe Center, which covers a space of 25,000 sqm and houses 75 conference rooms providing the ideal conditions for an event of any kind and size.The stage at the adjacent Estrel Festival Center hosts top quality Las Vegas style entertainment all year round. Our "Stars in Concert" show series and numerous other highly acclaimed in-house show productions give guests "Entertainment at its best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Estrel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Estrel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Estrel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing