We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting ITB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #117 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The room was good, the gym was ok. I would have liked to have drinking water available, towles to whipe off the sweat and TVs to watch while running. The gym equipment also needs to be up-dated, it felt old and worn out. The shuttles to and from the ITB expo were excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Inger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, location 5 minutes from. KDW, very warm atmosphere, nise rooms with carpets, very clean!!! Will stay another time, but this year the prices in January were high. Highly recommended!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Zhanna,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Clean and well maintained hotel on unbeatable location, in quiet residential street just few steps from busy shopping area,malls, KaDeWe , restaurants, bars and mayor Berlin traffic hub: Zoo station.Important landmarks easy to reach by metro.Even walking along Spree river to Potsdamer Platz, Charlie checkpoint or Brandenburg Gate could be a nice option, but end of January was too cold to be pleasant enough.
Room (single) is decent size one, with quite large bed, basic toiletries and free and fast wireless connection.
Friendly and efficient staff working on reception desk and bar,in particular Concierge

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivocro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Ivocro,
We were delighted to welcome you to Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin and thank you for taking the time to pass on your lovely comments.
I do hope that we will see you again soon. Yours sincerely Vanessa Helbig Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just a quick note to thank the staff at the Alsterhof for another excellent stay. Very well situated, warm, clean and comfortable. Very close to the u bahn and easy to get around. Wrap up warmly if you're visiting Berlin in February!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Richard,
We were pleased to welcome you again to Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin and thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon.
Kind regards Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is an unusual hotel in that it has a 4 star rating due to being modern and clean but it is a hotel in the budget mould. All furnishings are cheap but presentable with hard foam mattresses for bedding, no proper soaps or shampoos - there is just a cheap dispenser on the wall with low quality soap that was apparently for hair and body. Unusually this hotel also charges for in room tea and coffee. There is no room service and dinner is very limited and not available on Sundays. The mini bar is also very limited.

On the bright side, the hotel is very well located, the breakfast is fine, there is free wifi for one device per day and the staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful with the exception of the blonde lady who was very rude and unhelpful during check out.

Overall it was ok but I would not choose to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jimbomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to quality of service and staff. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, as this can only assist with our aims to provide an unsurpassed experience here at Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin.
Kind regards, Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and found it to be clean and quiet, in a great location very near the famous KaDeWe department store, easy to public transport, good wireless connection (need to get a new password from the front desk every day, for a single device). Staff was fine, not particularly friendly. But the hotel was basically just a place to sleep, nothing more than that, although a good price for the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Diana,
Thank you for taking the time writing your review about your last stay. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again to the Hotel Alsterhof Berlin in the near future an to convince you from our service next time.

Yours sincerely
Stefanie Malek-Spingat, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have stayed at the Alsterhof before and love the location and the general relaxed atmosphere and hope to stay here again. Newly refurbished to a high standard and we were upgraded! The bedroom had lots of space and a nice bathroom. Breakfast is very good, lots of choice and dining area is very nice; the waitresses are also very friendly.
The reception area had been redecorated and the colours are quite cold so doesn't feel very welcoming and the reception staff were ok but not overly friendly and we were kept waiting whilst the receptionist finished her clerical task, even though we were paying. Main gripe though is although they provide a kettle and crockery there is a charge for tea bags and coffee; even three star hotels we have stayed in where tea/coffee is provided it's free - we just feel the price of the room justifies a free tea bag!
But we still love it!

Room Tip: Better off the ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdean187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the room. Thank you also for your feedback with regards to quality of service from the reception staff. We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative, as this can only assist with our aims to provide an unsurpassed experience for our guests. We would be happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Alsterhof Berlin.

Yours sincerely
Stefanie Malek-Spingat, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#139 of 635 in Berlin
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SANA Berlin Hotel
#99 of 635 in Berlin
1,352 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#78 of 635 in Berlin
669 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Str. 5, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Alsterhof Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#58 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#100 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £64 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Berlin Kurfürstendamm is a newly renovated hotel in Berlin's Western city center, close to shopping and famous historic sites and just a short drive from Berlin’s exhibition grounds. This new Scandic hotel has an ideal location in Berlin for shopping and sightseeing. Close to the hotel you find renowned department store KaDeWe, and Kurfürstendamm boulevard offers countless shops. From the hotel you have an easy walk to historic Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, the Berlin Zoo and Story of Berlin museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Berlin
Berlin Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing