We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic. Basic. Basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
Ranked #296 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic. Basic. Basic.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ok, the staff is really friendly and very helpful and it's close to Alexanderplatz! But that's the only good thing to say about this hotel. My room actually stank as if noone had opened a window for two weeks. Probably understandable because it's next to one of the largest and loudest streets of Berlin. The hotel restaurant was closed every day and instead, the put up a sign to advise you of a restaurant 10 minutes away. And next to the hotel is an entire housing block which is closed and looks like it'll be demolished soon - not my idea of spending a few good days in Berlin. And on top of all that, it's not even a bargin compared to other hotels nearby. To sum it all up: Next time I'm in Berlin, I'll make sure to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    464
    360
    151
    77
See reviews for
250
354
110
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this very last minute as we couldn't get into our original apartment, 10 min walk from Alexanderplatz, lovely receptionist on check in, booked a suite for 3 people, very spacious and comfortable, 5 min walk to kaiser supermarket, would def stay here again if I visited again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jvr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was a bit shocked by the building, looked a bit run down but once we were inside found rooms very spacious. Great café next door for breakfast and walking distance to main shopping area and restaurants. Allow for city tax charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very poor hotel. Assumed at a price of €177 per night & with an international brand that I would be getting a decent place. It certainly was not worth even half that !. Felt like it hadn't much changed since the wall came down !. They also additionally wanted to charge me €18 for what looked like a pretty basic breakfast. Avoid at all costs, if you must stay in the Alexanderplatz area the Ramada looked a lot better for similar pricing.

Room Tip: As you go to the other side of Alexanderplatz the area becomes very cool with lots of restauraunts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this Mercure over a weekend.
I really liked the location, 5-10 minutes walk to Alexanderplatz U-bhan and S-bhan. Malls and tourist attractions in walking distance. If you are in Berlin for a sightseeing visit then this is a great hotel and because it is located in east Berlin the room prices are very competitive. The hotel is located on a big crossing with trams connecting it with the city center and Alexanderplatz if you mind the short walk. The rooms a very quiet so no noise from the street will bother you at all. They are very big and specious with a big balcony. This building has the look and feel of an old post type concrete block made in the communist times as you feel as you would be in some type of a block apartment which is kind of cool. Making a stay here some kind of an experience and imagining that some east block family might have lived here! Still don't get me wrong the rooms and the hotel is very modern, clean with WiFi in the rooms, SAT TV, tea and coffee in the rooms. There is a safety deposit box and if you are checking out there are storage holders for your bags. I simply loved this hotel!
The only downside was the check-in, as we arrived early (around 11AM) they did not have any rooms to check us in as the check-in time is 1500. We had to leave our bags and comeback later. Well although travelling a lot this never happened to me anywhere else. For one maybe the hotel was full or this is just a German charm. I did not mind it that much as we hit the city fast for sight seeing but a nice touch is to make the guest feel more welcome and maybe just even apologize for the situation.

Still happy to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grubenmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Clueless staff, the worst hotel reception I've ever had to deal with.
Room spacey but dirty not cleaned on a regular basis, rooms are well over priced for a run down dirty hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody, the read up on the hotel was misleading and incorrect

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Darren M,

thank you for sharing your experiences concerning your stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, many rooms as well as the lobby and breakfast area have recently been modernized and many guests appreciate our new style.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another chance to convince you of our services.

Best regards
Angelika
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Mitte
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz

Property: Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
Address: Mollstr. 4, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Berlin life: The Mercure Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz is in a prime location in the center of the capital, just a stone's throw from the Alexanderplatz U-Bahn, S-Bahn and local train stations. Our 158 spacious rooms and Suites are comfortably furnished and all feature WIFI. From Tegel Airport, the TXL bus goes directly to Alexanderplatz; from Schönefeld Airport, the RB14 takes you the short distance to the hotel. If arriving by car, parking is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Berlin
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing