We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm
Ranked #226 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Was at this hotel for Sunday brunch and had the best view over Berlin from atop the building. Food and service was impecable!! Will go there again and again!!! The rooms were all outfitted perfectly for the needs of a tourist or business person.

Room Tip: All the room are the same, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    116
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
108
20
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

It took us approx. 20mins to arrive at the hotel from the centre by car. The location is quite opposite to the S station and quite close to the Citadel. The room given to us was on the 14th floor. Which was very clean and spacious. Wifi speed was quite good too. We used the restaurant for dinner and for breakfast, that offered a great view. The entire staff were excellent, not forgetting to mention the Chef who agreed to make a main-course for me in Chicken as the other meats on the Menu were not of my palate and Victor the Steward who was quite good at servicing with quickness and smile. The only drawback for me was that there were no menu cards in English. Apart for it overall our one day stay was very good and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valenie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Very clean and tidy; excellent breakfast/good range of quality food. The refurbishment is first class.

Location is immediately opposite an S-Bahn station on the main line to Berlin City Centre, with very frequent train services to/from the City and just 1 stop from Berlin Spandau station which has InterCity services as well as regional ones.

However, the only disconcerting thing is that there are no curtains in the shower room/bath room, but hardly a problem on the 11th floor!

Room Tip: All rooms are on 11th floor upwards and soundproofed/air conditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOTAOHSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Was "diverted" to this hotel for the night after the original hotel that I reserved was overbooked. This hotel was at the edge of Berlin and was a good 30 to 40 min taxi ride from the city centre. The service was OK but the rooms, that was a different story. The room was very run down and dirty. Stains on the chair; mini ancient TV; the mini fridge was actually missing; Rusty old showers; and the folder that contains information about the hotel was actually empty.

The only marginally redeeming thing about this hotel is that it is right across from a S-Bahn Station and semi close to the Olympic Stadium.

Would not stay here again even if it was free.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Spurpur

finally we discovered the problem after you have posted this review for our Winters Hotel Berlin Spandau im Spiegelturm.
We had previously asked you to contact us when you posted a review for our Hotel at the Gendarmenmarkt, but now you were quicker with posting this review !

We truly apologize for what happened to you, first at our Winters Hotel, which you gladly rated well, and now at this "new" Winters Hotel im Spiegelturm.
If you scroll down to our last review for this hotel, you will see that you are indeed absolutely right with all your comments. Therefore we have decided to close the hotel for the entire month of January. The details of this can be seen in our reaction.
If you come back to Berlin we would be very happy to host you again at one of our Winters Hotels there, to show you that our standards are indeed much higher than what you experienced.

Thank you again for having rated also this hotel and all your time spent on this.

very best regards
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed there two nights.
There is only one positive thing about this hotel ; across the street there was a train station, so we could go to the city center easily. ( but it takes 25-30 minutes)
Most of the rooms have a nice view but not spacious and unfortunately not clean enough. Also they need a serious refurbishment!
We had terrible breakfasts for two days. The restaurant was closed for two days and you have to go out for dinner.
No room service after 11:00. Even you can not find a glass of hot water.
And the most important thing;
They dont have any idea about "service business". They were like a soldiers. No smile, no kindness, just doing their simple tasks...
If you are having a vacation, strongly avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehmetbugra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guests,

since the 1st of October of this year, we have aquired the former Senator Hotel . This hotel is now managed under the name of Winters Hotel im Spiegelturm. Some areas of the hotel are not in a particular good shape. To accelerate the renovation with less inconvenience for our guests, we have decided to close the hotel in January 2012 for 4 weeks.

The current planning looks as following:

Start will be on departure of the guests on the 2nd of January and the reopening will be on Montay, the 30th of January

During this timeframe we will complete the following works in the hotel:

* Complete renovation of the lobby and the reception area
* The same applies for the kitchen and restaurant, meaning the entire 16th floor
* Renovation of further hotel accommodation floors which have already started
* Complete renovation and new design of the other public areas and the meeting space on the 15th floor

As of February we can offer you a completely new Winters Hotel im Spiegelturm and we would be very pleased if you would test us as soon as possible, and of course, give us your positive comments.

And for those of you, who ask themselves about the social aspect of such a big project in a hotel:

It is of utmost importance for us that all staff members will continue to be employed by us, as a hotel succeeds or fails with its employees. For this reason, we will keep them all working for our three other Winters Hotels in Berlin. This enables us to train and further familiarize them with our philosophy and work ethics.

Please keep supporting us also in the future. We highly appreciate your business.

The employees and the management of the Winters Hotel im Spiegelturm, Berlin Spandau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Booked though Flight Centre in London. Was excellent value. The hotel is directly opposite the s-bahn station and whilst being several stations from the Hauptbahnhof we found it a pleasant ride in-off peak times. It is an easy walk to Standau. The old Standau is a delight. The new Standau is as you would expect anything new to be. As for the visitor complaining that he couldn't find a pub to have a beer, he must have missed the one on the corner about 100 metres from the hotel with a delightful (non English speaking) host. The room was more than satisfactory and we found the breakfast quite adequate considering it was included in the more-than-satisfactory tariff

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbentley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Senator might seem too far from the attractions of the city for a stay in Berlin but it is served by the S-Bahn immediately outside the hotel to anywhere you want to go. I stayed on the 13th floor overlooking Stresow S-Bahn station and had no problem with noise as some people have mentioned. The 16th floor is the restaurant with a panoramic wonderful view of Spandau and beyond. Staff were helpful and friendly with some English spoken and they were patient with my attempts at German! The old medieval town of Spandau and the ancient Zitadelle are a short walk away and well worth a visit. The Olympiastadion is just a couple of stops on the S-Bahn.

Room Tip: The higher floors are best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spandaubailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Spandau
Ibis Berlin Spandau
Ibis Berlin Spandau
#194 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Spandau
SensCity Hotel Berlin Spandau
Spandau
Hotel Benn
Hotel Benn
#333 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spandau
Hotel Lindenufer
Hotel Lindenufer
#408 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Kreuzberg
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm
Address: Freiheit 5, 13597 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Spiegelturm)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Spandau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#139 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind a futuristically designed glass front the doors open to a vibrant place of hospitality. All rooms are generously and comfortably furnished and have a fantastic view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our hotel is situated close to the fair grounds, the International Congress Centre (ICC), the Olympic Stadium, the castle Schloss Charlottenburg and Berlin’s High Street Kurfürstendamm.Thanks to excellent traffic connections there is easy access to nearby motorways in all directions. You can also easily discover all of the city’s touristic highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Spiegelturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing