We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class service, courtesy and style”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #18 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed for four nights in this wonderful modern hotel which can genuinely claim five star status. When we arrived, our room was not quite ready and we were immediately upgraded to a superior room than we had paid for, with complimentary breakfasts etc.The pool has views over the city and the situation of the hotel, generally, could not have been more convenient for sight-seeing and shopping.But it is the professional and friendly staff that make this hotel superb.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowieAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,633 of 3,167 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed here while in town for the marathon. Excellent location, wonderful staff, great gym/spa. Only drawback is that the beds are very German (ie, firm!). Kinda hurt after the run. Would definitely recommend this hotel to all visiting Berlin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notthatdeadyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Centrally located hotel with 2 great restaurants (Vox and Mesa). Across the street from the Arkaden Shopping Mall which was very convenient for shopping and to grab a snack.
The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The Spa was a great amenity. Steam room, gym, sauna, and cold plunge were great to use after a long day.
An excellent experience in a great city !!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank In206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Generally speaking, the hotel is not bad. Location is nice enough opposite a shopping mall and a couple of pleasant restaurants, and the rooms are nice and spacious. It is certainly a very corporate minded hotel, but not in a negative way. The Spa on the 8th floor doesn't look like much, but the staff is attentive, and particularly the massage personal is outstanding. Voicing concerns or special requests for massages (exclude painful areas, or pay particular attention to problems - great knowledge and provision of great solutions. Certainly extremely well trained and knowledgable in what they do. The pool is nicely situated overlooking the city and when the weather is nice, you can sunbath on the sundeck outside, partially on grassy areas. Downside is, that no F&B is served up there. Occasionally the odd staff member pops by and they do have soft drinks & Orange juice, but that's about it. - I would have consumed a whole lot more, if they would have offered it, as I spent 2 half days and nearly 1 full day in the Spa. - fruit platters, a selection of freshly squeezed juices or healthy teas and mocktails (or cocktails) could certainly sell well up there. Also some minor snacks would be nice. The VOX Restaurant has a pleasant breakfast buffet, with a wide range catering to all tastes. Service is attentive and well trained, and it was enjoyable every day. The VOX Bar outside is pleasant to sit & watch people passing by towards to close by Casino and Theater. Unfortunately that seems also be the main sport of the Bar staff. Slow and unattentive service. Really frustrating!!! Some severe training is needed there.
The Mesa restaurant is nice in terms of the concept, but it is - same as the Lobby bar - very frustrating that you cannot get mocktails anywhere else rather than in the Vox Bar after 6pm. - Being pregnant and tired to drink O-Juice & Apple Juice all day long, some creative, non-alcoholic fruit juice mixes are such a pleasant change - especially on a holiday, and it's frustrating if the staff is incapable of reproducing simple mixes in other outlets too, or get them from the Bar & cross-charge - for the customer it doesn't matter which check you sign or pay - I would have been far more happy (and would have consumed more) if I would have had a bit of a creative choice.
The annoying part of the stay was the towel issue. Double room - 2 ppl - should have had daily: 1 floor mat, 2 bath towels, 2 face towels, 2 hand towels. - that calculation NEVER happened. We went from not having hand towels at all, to having nothing but 1 face towel, floor mats seem to have only been avail on 2 out of 5 days......Requesting at Front Desk to get it fixed resulted in a professional apology to get it fixed. Unfortunately it happened again the next day, and the very professional, customer service minded young lady at Front Desk ended up calling Housekeeping in front of me, and got a bullocking from the Housekeeper as seemed - the part of the conversation I could listen too, made that clear. Poor her! Housekeeping was clearly unorganized and poorly stocked, and even with a public holiday in between and the laundry service closed or delayed, there is NO excuse why a 5-Star Hotel runs short or out of towels. Not for the price charged. Front Desk handled the issue very professional and sorted things out, but clearly the back-of-house needs some sorting out. All in all, not a bad hotel to spend a few days at.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us and the users of tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin due to our staff´s service quality mainly.

Nevertheless, I have also noted your comment regarding the towels and the service offered at our Vox bar, and would like to ask you to accept my apologies. The service quality you have experienced does definitely not correspond to that which you may expect at Grand Hyatt Berlin! You are totally right, we run short of towels these days due to extraordinary circumstances, but I am pleased to inform you that we have already improved our internal procedures in order to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Please feel free to contact me personally at your convenience, if I may be of any assistance in the future.

With best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel was the best hotel we have stayed in. The location is key, clearly in the nicest part of Berlin. There is a rooftop pool and infinity jacuzzi which are extremely nice. You get what you pay for here, as the rooms are perfect even with additional bells and whistles. The restaurants are a little pricy, but close enough to many great restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful finding restaurants as well as providing wine glasses while we were at the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel, we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aua2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Hyatt is in a good position just off of the Potsdamer Platz by the Sony Centre and within easy walking distance of the Bradenberg Gate and other attractions.

The views of the casino next door or the shopping mall by the back door may not be as iconic as you would wish but the Hotel offers other attractions. I had a very large room with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom has two sinks, a separate wet room and separate toilet with very nice Aveda accessories. The cable internet in the room was fast and gave 30 minutes for free (€18 for the day is however expensive).

The hotel also features a leisure club with swimming pool and a couple of restaurants one of which, VOX, has a good jazz/soul band in the evenings and a lively bar.

So why not a 5 star rating. Well firstly there are much better hotels in Berlin (the Adlon and Ritz Carlton to name just 2). Secondly, service can be sloppy (the room was not made up until after 5pm for example and check in out was very slow).

All in all a good choice but not the best there is in Berlin

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Hyatt Berlin on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your detailed description of our facilities, but I genuinely regret that the service quality you experienced was not up to our standards.

Please be assured that we will review your remarks carefully and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Berlin in the not-too-distant future.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I spent 3days in Berlin on a business trip, staying on the club-floor. Compared to many Hyatts the food at breakfast and drink-time was not plentiful.
The room and bathroom were both very nice. I thought the bed was comfortable and slept well. It was a bit tricky to understand how to fill the bath-tub and to regulate the shower. Once You knew - it was perfectly logic, though a bit different from what I was used to. I thought it was unpractical not to have a connection to the internet cable (wireless did not always work) from the desk but from behind the desk. I would also have preferred a bigger writing desk. I was upgraded to have free use of the minibar. Great, but they never refilled it and when my favorite beer was consumed I had to take the next best etc.
The restaurant VOX was really great, very good quality of dinner.
The area was a bit strange - felt sort of new and artificial although there were many restaurants around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our Vox restaurant, but please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the wireless network not working in your room and the tricky handling of the bathroom installation. I can totally understand your displeasure at the minibar, which was not refilled constantly, and you may rest assured that I have already reviewed your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager.

It would be our true pleasure to welcome you back at Grand Hyatt Berlin soon and for any further assistance, you are more than welcome to contact me personally.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,402 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,996 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 634 in Berlin
3,610 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £116 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing