We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent city hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #15 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
“Excellent city hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent 7 nights in the Grand Hyatt. It provided a very well-located base for our business and leisure activities. It is near shopping (including 2 grocery stores in the nearby Arkade) and transportation. Since we are walkers, we found it easy to walk to the Zoo, the Checkpoint Charlie/Mauermuseum area, and to restaurants.
The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The penthouse pool area is amazing--what a place to relax, unwind, and see sunset after a long day!

Since we are Platinum members, wifi was free--agree with other reviewers that the practice of luxury hotels charging for this is absurd and objectionable! However, we were not offered a newspaper, very unusual for a Hyatt. We did see them hanging on others' doors...perhaps there are only German-language papers on offer?

The room was comfortable, with a very firm bed. The minbar had room for some milk and juice of our won. The bath was well-appointed.

A few quibbles:
(1) Housekeeping was very erratic. Depending on who cleaned the room, one may or may not get hand towels, an extra roll of toilet paper, more instant coffee. It is IMPORTANT to turn the green light on when you leave for the day or you may return and find no one made up your room.
(2) What's with the soap?!?! The bath/shower area and sink are far apart. When we arrived there was one bar of soap. In most places, it is usual for there to be a bar for the sink and a bar for the tub/shower, assuming one does wash one's hands with soap after using the toilet, etc.
The one bar was never added to or replaced for 7 days. We bought our own soap and used that in the shower. I stgrongly suggest Hyatt provide 2 bars of soap. (Sure we could have asked, but it was simpler to just buy our own, after a very confusing set of communications with housekeeping the first day.)
Customer service ion the lobby--concierge, desk staff--was excellent.
Vox was great for breakfast and very nice fo our first dinner.
The lobby bar was not a good experience for me (a middle-aged woman). I went for a drink by myself after a day of sight seeing and it took a long time to be served...when I placed my order, the waiter then served others, chatted with a colleague, before bringing me a beer. Perhaps they do not care for women in the bar. All the otehr partron were men or male-female groups.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    559
    119
    47
    19
See reviews for
350
1,103
205
796
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I had to return to Berlin only for 24 hours and decided to go directly to the Hyatt for the night of the 31th of May. This time I wanted something modern, comfortable and it was exactly what I had. The staff at the reception is perfect, very helpful and nice. They proposed me 2 different rooms. I choose the biggest one, with a little living room, a desk. Everything is very modern, design, you can plug your Ipad on the TV to listen to your music... the only thing is that Wifi isn't included in the price of the room (I never understand why?!). Bed very comfortable.
On the 1st of June my plane was in the afternoon and I had to work after the check-out of my bedroom which was booked by someone else just after me. Not a problem for the Hyatt which gave me for 2 hours an other room in order to work... very professional and rare!
The sport area is at the last floor of the building and the view on the park is beautiful. I will also recommend you the great swimming pool on the roof with also certainly the most beautiful view of Berlin!!! incredible by night.
Vox restaurant is good for diner and at last breakfast in my room in the morning was not the best one but still correct.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We just stayed at this hotel for one night as we had a Hyatt coupon to use up -- wish we could have stayed longer as it is a lovely, elegant hotel. Customer service was outstanding. We were allowed to check in very early and given the quiet room we had requested. The room was very comfortable with an amazing bathroom. There was also fresh fruit and flowers. The location is great as it is near the U-Bahn. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Grand Hyatt is one of the few places, where everything around you falls into place and your requests are granted, still preserving the quiet atmosphere and privacy you require.
Rooms are very nice with perfect facilities.
Location in Berlin is great.
The Spa area on the top floor is beautiful.
Breakfast is fabulous, absolutely fantastic.

A true 5*Hotel.


One thing: Internet must be included in a 5* Business / City Hotel. That's the only negative point here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We ended up at the Hyatt Berlin by accident and it turned out to be a very happy accident. Granted, this is not a hotel suffused with old world ambience and European history (it is kind of in the middle of everything, yet there is nothing around - if that makes any sense). The hotel is lovely, sleek, and modern. Rooms were spacious, impeccably clean, and the shower and bed were above average.

Service was insanely good.

As mentioned, location is good (15 minute hike to Reichstag, Tiergarten, some museums), but if you really want decent cuisine (i.e. not mcdonalds), you will have to jump on a subway (very easy to navigate).

All and all, a great place to call your home while in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalaypokerplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I booked a club room and it was an enjoyable experience. The rooms were large, comfortable, quiet and the staff were excellent. The room was very bright and when needed the eletronic blackout blinds came down to blanket the room in darkeness for sleeping. I used the gym a few times and it was a fantastic hotel gym with many machines available for use and the indoor pool after a long day of meetings was very enjoyable. The hotel staff could not be helpful enough at this hotel.

If I could make one change it would be the internet fees. I thought paying extra for the internet when you are a club floor guest is not ideal. They give you 30mins per 24hrs free, but I need too use a smartphone and 2 laptops when I travel so I'm looking at an additional Euro 60 a day. Apart from that it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The club floor room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This amazing hotel features stunning guest rooms and amazing customer service.

The rooms are spectacular. Upon entering the room, I was greeted with a lovely, bright ambiance. The beds were FANSTASTIC. Definitely the best sleep I got on my business trip. The electronic blackout curtain was very nice and the bathrooms were out of this world.

Was on a tight time schedule the first day and the lovely room service staff rushed my order to make sure I got to eat before I got out of the hotel.

The lobby bar was very nice and the drinks were fairly priced.

All in all a great stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurmanMurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing