We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have marked as excellent, except for the lack of free wifi”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #19 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would have marked as excellent, except for the lack of free wifi”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Everything to do with the hotel was perfect and in fact there are 3 computors at the business center, but at this day and age free internet access everywhere, is basic. Beyond that the stay at this hotel exceeded our expectations. The pool and fittness center are top notch , the opening hours allow one to start and end the day with any desired form of activity. Breakfast choices were superb, I miss their soft poached eggs with chives on the best grain and nut bread with salmon and a crunchy green salad, sided by a latte macchiato and freshly made apple or carrot juice, every morning, since we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    568
    123
    48
    19
See reviews for
354
1,119
209
807
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The service, breakfast choices, ambiance, and location are excellent.

But, when traveling on business, I dealt constantly with no Internet connection, which I had to pay for each device! I hate that they even block phone Internet connections to get more money. The cost was 18 euro/ day to be constantly dropped and have slow connection when online.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The service is what really stands out here - the rest is just as one would expect from the Hyatt chain but seemingly, the Berlin staff go beyond the minimum required level, which is extremely commendable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Grand Hyatt Berlin has been among my top five hotels for many years, and I have enjoyed numerous stays at the club floor but more and more signs of wear and tear and savings now place the hotel on a downward trajectory compared to other 5* hotels in the city.

Thumbs up for:

- The always quick check-in experience and can-do attitude

- The instant room service experience and great food

- The iconic lobby that will make you invite business relations over for a drink

- The hands-on bellboys who will make sure yet get in and out of the hotel and around the city

- The VOX restaurant that you will miss and miss and miss when you finally leave the city

- The medium sized but well placed gym/pool at the top floor

Thumbs down for:

- The lounge is medium size with a poor breakfast selection; poor newspaper selection; and no proper access to a business center. Surprisingly, the service at the table is unattentive for the most part and the staff appears to have acquired "attitude" for working with business travellers on the club floor

- The new and slow internet provider will really bother you if you need to download documents of any size. The service keeps falling in and out and it can take ages to go through emails unless you can rely on your Blackberry (they've kicked out Ibahn to save money on Swisscom)

- The new and low-quality pay-TV provider with a very limited selection of movies that you have seen 12-24 months ago (again, they've kicked out their original provider to save money)

- Speaking of TV, the hotel sports old B&Os that should have been replaced years ago.

- The thoughtless savings program that have led the hotel to ditch the AVEDA brand of shampoo etc in the bath and replace it with a non-descript low quality producer that will send a number of guests spiraling with allergic reaction. What a nice way to wake up in the morning!

- The über-creative interior designer choice (probably also as a result of the hotels savings program) who have put in a new carpet that emits a foul odor what will keep you awake or sleeping in the hallway. Regrettably, the same designer has molested the original design of the rooms. What used to be efficient and minimalistic has now become over furnished, for example, the work desk has been replaced with a large glass roundtable that is useless, and the night stands have quadrupled in size, for no apparent purpose

- The Mesa (tapas) restaurant has straight-out menacing service. I have given it a new chance a couple of times over the past years but now I’m through with that place. Unbelievably rude and inattentive staff.

Room Tip: The "sunny" side is the Tiergarten side (where you enter the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JEM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive feedback regarding the check-in process, VOX Restaurant and Room Service.

Furthermore, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we did not take any measures related to cost-cutting programmes.

We always offer high-quality amenities in our rooms and we assure you that having unbranded amenities in your room was a singular incident. I have already talked to our housekeeping department and I assure you that you will find an excellent product in your room during your next stay. Regarding your comments concerning our new room category, we have redesigned our guestrooms to make sure that we can offer you a warmer and more comfortable experience in the future.

Please also rest assured that your problems with the Internet in our hotel have now been fixed. We have installed many new access points to guarantee a high-speed Internet connection. The installation process will be finished within a short time.

We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would be grateful to have the chance to restore your faith in Grand Hyatt Berlin soon. Please get in touch with me directly, as I’d like to handle all of your arrangements personally.

Kind regards
Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Again a great stay in this fabulous hotel.
Rooms have been refreshed, very professional and helpful staff, convenient location (PotsdammerPlatz) that you can really use as a hub to visit the city.
Club rooms offer a real added value versus regular rooms with an excellent breakfast and a great wine and cheese service in the afternoon. Excellent choice of drinks (non alcoholic) available all day long. I would recommand the upgrade.
Spa is kept perfectly tidy, it still looks brand new. I have never seen such a Berlin city view from a swimmingpool. And, do not miss a sauna experience there, a bliss!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I recently stayed here for 3nts in a club level room and had a great promotional summer rate so I hate to say anything negative and on the whole, it's a fine place to stay-great location, clean, quiet room with nice bathroom and I had a Potsdamer Platz view which was enjoyable. Being a Hyatt Plat. member, my internet was free but the connection from the rooms was not great as I was not the only person having trouble staying connected. This was unexpected for a modern 5star hotel in efficient Germany! It was better in the club lounge but it's inconvenient not to have it working properly in the rooms. I was also not impressed with the club lounge as it is just one, rather smallish room, and when too many people show up for breakfast, they have to send some of them down to Vox which has a much better buffet but surprising that the lounge is not larger to accommodate everyone. The breakfast was just continental though they had some soft boiled eggs occasionally. The evening canapes were fine and the wines were pretty good and service in the lounge was ok though there is not a dedicated person for checking in/out so one had to be called when I checked out and that took a bit of extra time.
I was not impressed with either of the two concierges in the reception downstairs as they misinformed me about some of the information re: the Pergamon Muesum and they were quite brusque. They told me not to worry about booking a ticket online as there would be no lines for the museum since schools were back in session but this was still Aug. with many tourists and there were LONG lines and crowds for all the museums.
Housekeeping also did not replenish some items for the coffee making service in the room so I had to call for them in the morning.
I liked the location as it was convenient to most of the major sites and the room was very comfortable but it wasn't an impressive stay and I've seen a lot of club levels at various hotels, inc. the Hyatt Grand in Tokyo and Dubai, and this was not even close to what those facilities provide in terms of service.
I did not have time to see the pool upstairs but it looks wonderful from the photos.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the theater in Potsdamer Platz and it was quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having visited Berlin regularly over the last ten years and having stayed in five different hotels, the polished and professional Hyatt is the one I prefer. Admittedly in August it is a significantly quieter than at the time of the Berlin film festival and the promotional offers are likely to be more attractive, especially for the otherwise pricey seventh floor Club level. But even allowing for that, and ratcheting up my already high expectations, the hotel must rank as one of the best five stars in Europe. Other reviewers have commented on the prime location (not least to the Berlin Phil and the Gemaldegallerie) and excellent facilities, including the top floor pool, but the little extra touches are outstanding. For instance, the slightly overripe banana in the room fruit bowl that was magically replaced during the day without asking; or the porter who removed the airline luggage tag on delivering the bags to the room; or the unlimited supply of towels at the pool.
Areas for continuous improvement to be considered by Management? Well, the tap controlling the choice of bath/ handheld shower/actual shower had lost its labelling; wifi was a bit erratic in parts of the building; and the trainee at checkout perhaps needed a bit more off the job training before facing guests.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#11 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing