We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #126 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

I travel a lot and normally stay in very good hotels or, when travelling for private, in small charming hotels. As I work in the travel industry I'm familiar with the common standards of what's supposed to be a 4 star hotel. This hotel is more than 4, I'd even say it's very close to 5*.
Staff is incredibly friendly and professional but still discrete, rooms are generous with all armenities and facilities you'd ask for in any decent 5 star hotel. Buffet breakfast is great in variety and choice, dishes are freshly prepared and orders are quickly taken from staff in a friendly and prompt manner. Lobby is generous and inviting. I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    716
    202
    72
    32
See reviews for
251
654
172
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Nice, big rooms, look new and fresh with windows that open BUT.... 9.50 euros for drinks in the bar/restaurant, and 23 euros for internet Stay here but drink and surf elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights over new year.The 10 minute walk to the centre of town was a bit of a drag in the snow and cold,but otherwise it was an extremely comfortable and welcoming place, making us feel at home.Bar prices were very high but what you expect from a 5 star city centre(ish) hotel .Breakfast was pricey too, but again no more than you would expect and it was very good. We had all breakfasts in the hotel.We did not eat at the restaurant but did try the pub-type place in the hotel when we arrived and that provided a decent snack for us all at a reasonable price.Rooms were big,comfortable and cosy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laygatelad2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

...before you get to anything interresting. But if you can tolerate that, this is an absolute bargain. With three children, we had two rooms, upgraded on upper floors with great view, for a couple of days for less than the cost of two dinners. Nice and clean pool and good coffee in the bar.
Bus stop just outside the hotel, so if you can do Berlin with bus and metro, there's no reason for not staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu Town, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

After a lot of research before I visited Berlin with a family member, I decided to give the Grand Hotel Esplanade a try because the room rate was very sensible and I liked the photos on the website. I did not want the strictly business oriented hotels and the other -and more famous- five-star establishments were expensive beyond belief.

From the moment we set foot on the hotel, I knew it was the right choice. The lobby was great, the colours contemporary and relaxing, the atmosphere urban and not tacky at all. The staff at the reception checked us in quickly (although it was long before check in time) and the room was just beautiful. Neutral and soothing colours, fine beds with quality linen, a big frame window with a city view and a Le Corbusier-inspired chair. The bathroom was spacious enough with plenty and good products. I had to scream with joy when I realized that the Bauhaus Archiv was right opposite the hotel. We also tried the food at the tastefully decorated Eck restaurant which was very good (a bit expensive though) and the service was professional and adequate. I felt that the hotel was like Berlin in general: contemporary and stylish with a sophisticated personality of its own.

The hotel stands in a quite residential area close to a lovely canal and it is not located right at the city centre. You'll need to take the metro (very convenient) and it's only one or two stations away. This was the only disadvantage I can recall but after a couple of days this was only a minor hassle as it became a part of our daily routine. The layout of Berlin though does not suggest a single city centre and the sightseeing areas are quite scattered throughout depending on what you actually want to visit (Unter den Linden, Potsdamer Platz, Museuminsel, Kurfürstendamm, Charlottenburg) so you'll end up using the transportation anyway.

I recommend the Esplanade hotel without a second thought to any serious visitor to Berlin. Of course, there are better and more luxurious hotels in the city but in terms of rates and style, it's hard to beat. And if you get a good deal you will not be disappointed. After all, Berlin is just great!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KostakisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

This was the last hotel I stayed in while visting Germany. I loved my room and it was very clean. Service was not so good. Staff seemed confused and when asking about locations in the vicinity of hotel we were given a map. Not a simple map. A cartoon like map like you would recieve at a theme park. This was rather annoying. I specifically asked for the address of a restraunt they recommened so we could drive there...they handed me a map again. 10 min walk...they say. Ok. Just ignor the fact of what I asked for and totally disreguard the fact that I'm in heels and dress that I probablly don't want to walk 4 blocks away+ it's cold outside. Sorry guys 5 star hotels are better than this. Get with the program. Open your restruant on Sundays too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

My room wasn't ready on arrival, and despite booking a double I ended up with a twin even after a wait. Depsite this the room was good. The beds were comfortable and the standard room was fairly large with additional seating.
The hotel restaurant was good, fairly reasonable cost-wise for a hotel restaurant, in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Breakfast was OK - standard. Room service was slow to respond and not particularly hot on arrival. Harry's bar cocktails were delicious. Staff were really friendly, helpful and keen to assist. All spoke impeccable English. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping could not have been more helpful. Location is good - across road from Bauhaus Archive and up road from Tiergarten. Transport links excellent - within walking distance of several U-Bahn S-Bahn and bus routes that are easy to navigate your way around. Taxis always available at hotel foyer. We stayed at a very busy time (New Year) and staff were probably stretched, but the atmosphere was relaxed friendly and the staff courteous.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#98 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Charlottenburg
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
#159 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Property: Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#94 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing