We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel only for business not for private trips!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #128 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hotel only for business not for private trips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

In general the Hotel was ok, but the prices are too high for what you get. First the lack of information is not good. The Internet is not free, you must pay every single item (for example one lap top and one mobile phone, so 2 items) one hour nearly 4 Euro internet. It just says access to high speed internet on the online booking but just in the room you see the price for it. So that is bad really....I would go there for a private trip again. This hotel is pure for business not for private trips to explore the city. If you make a business trip this Hotel is the best one.
We had honeymoon in that Hotel and it was not good for that occasion. So dont go there if you have private trips. Breakfast is ok, service ok. Next time I wouldn book there anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    714
    201
    72
    32
See reviews for
251
653
172
594
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

A very pleasant hotel located in a quiet place. The room is spacious and fully equipped. The Hotel Staff was very courteous and helpful. Located near the park Tiergaten and about four blocks from the metro. There are not many dining options nearby, but the Sony Center is about 15 minute walk or a short cab ride.
PROS: spacious room, excellent breakfast, helpful Staff.
CONS: very expensive wifi internet, location is not excellent, room service prices above average.
I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre Xenofonte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

On arrival we check in and get to our room. It is a very hot day. The air conditioning is not working. My friend phones downstairs and we are told it is a general problem that will be resolved in 20 minutes. We go out, come back later, still it is not fixed. We make clear we believe the problem is specific to our room. Nobody wants to come up and look at it. At 8PM (i.e. hours later) we come back and it’s still not fixed. We open windows, and have a very sweaty and noisy stay on night 1

On the morning of day two, air conditioning is still not working. We phone down asking for someone to come up and look at it. Once again they don't want to. We literally had to shout at them just to get one of their staff members to come up to the room and look at it. After an argument one of them does so. They get to our room and are forced to agree that the air conditioning is not working. They change our room but only after we had spent one night needlessly in a stinking hot room.

On the day of check out I ask for a late check out of about 6PM. I made clear that I was willing to pay. I was told that this was not possible as the hotel was full. I go back to the room, log onto the internet via my iphone and successfully book a room for another day. I go back town to the same people at reception who had who had told me they were full only 20 minutes earlier and gave them my booking reference and asked them if I could NOW have a late check out. They reacted with a combination of amazement and disgust that I exposed them and gave me (and charged me for) a late check out

There are plenty of other hotels in Berlin...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The reason I give this a 4 is because in my book a 5 is the Ritz Carolton or Waldorf Astoria. However for the price, this is a very good hotel. It has all the amenities and more of a nice hotel. The staff is great and all know fluent English. They were helpful in booking restaurants for me. Also the hotel has a number of bars (Harry's NY Bar) and restaraunts with outside seating which was a nice touch. The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom was large for Europe. We slept in a king size room on the 6th floor. One thing I liked is no matter what time it was, there was always a taxi ready to take you anywhere. We had to get to the train terminal very early when we checked out. The decor was very modern and exciting.

There are only a few minor tweeks. I would have liked to see free WI-FI internet. At 10 euros a day, seems a bit high but not bad. Or I would have liked to see free WIFI in the lobby only. Another drawback is the location. This is probably why the price is so good. It is located below the Tiergarten in between Potzdamer Platz and the Zoo. Both of those places have U bahn stops. Not a bad walk to either or to closet U bahn station.

In the end, I would definitely stay here agin and reccomend it. It is good for business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have spent 2 nights in early May. Hotel is very good although you can find a better location if you come as a tourist.
Rooms - clean, modern, of a good size. Very good soundproofing. Comfortable bed. Ask for the room on the upper floor (at least 4th floor) to have a view. River (or canal) view is not worth higher price.
Reception - nice, professional and very helpful.
Breakfast - very good, big choice.
Location - well, rather convenient if you are a business traveller. But for the sightseeing I think that I would prefer a hotel in a more touristic location. Don't get me wrong - the hotel is close to Tiergarten and the neighbourhood is very nice. But you either take a taxi or have at least 20 minutes walk to get to the nearest touristic attraction of the city. On the other hand the taxis prices are really fair in Berlin.
Some weak points - lack of free we-fi is always a weakness. As someone already mentioned - 6Euro per bottle of water in the room is not serious.
Overall - very good and (quite surprisingly as this is rather a business hotel) - friendly hotel.

Room Tip: take a room on the upper floor to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomasz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 days on a trip combining business and holiday.
Positives - very professional staff, spotlessly clean throughout. The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. We had drinks and bar food in 'Harry's New York Bar ' - food tasty, drinks excellent, more than adequate for what we wanted. Well finished, great location.
Flaws - this seems to be a predominantly business hotel as it's not right in the city centre but the wireless internet access was very expensive if this was to be the case. Having said this it was fast and reliable when needed. As per another reviewer air conditioning not brilliant and our room did get quite hot. Watch out - the bottled water provided which doesn't state that it will be charged to your room bill at 6 euros per bottle can be a bit of a surprise.
Aware I have listed a few flaws but this doesn't detract from what is an excellent hotel, with a great atmosphere, very attentive staff and an overall brilliant experience. Taxis wait at the hotel so are easy to get at all times of day, the concierge is knowledgeable and keen to help and the location next to Tiergarten is perfect for lazy holiday strolls...

Room Tip: I'd recommend one with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMBennett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Excellent service from everyone in the hotel.
Spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, beds comfortable but room far too hot, air con didn't seem to work, informed that the air conditioning doesn't start cooling the room until the OUTSIDE Temp. reaches 19 degrees.
The floor to ceiling windows gave a fantasic view and made the room very light but as no blind the curtains had to be closed most of the time.
Very expensive mini bar, no complementary water, 6 euros for a bottle of water,
Small swimming pool, felt uncomfortable to use with others as felt you were invading their personal space.
10 minute walk to the U-bahn but the No.100 bus stop is less than 2 minutes across the main road.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#94 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Property: Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing