We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and good 5 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #134 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is great and very affordable for a 5 star. Rooms are nice and spacious. The food is excellent and prices are very convenient. On the down side there is no free Wifi anywhere not even in the Lobby so you have to pay for your internet and it is definitely not cheap. The location is not great you have to take a walk every time you want omething as there is almost nothing to do around the hotel. The Spa is not one of the strongest points either you have to pay around 9 euros extra for the Sauna and basically the only thing that is for free is the pool...but don't expect something like a thermal bad it is just an indoor pool and you are luckly if the Water is not freezing. If you can live with having to pay a few extras and not being near anywhere the hotel it is a good choice for the value you pay but I definitly qould recommend considering some extra budget if you decide to stay there..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CintiaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,049)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

When we first checked in I was a bit confused as I was not accustomed to the dark interior of a Hotel, It was way to grey inside considering the fact that it is supposed to have grand lobby as it was reviewed on high standard. The room was ok we are on Deluxe executive facing the river ( a bit pricey compared to City View ) Staffs are friendly especially the Middle Aged guy who attends to all the guest during breakfast he always makes our daughter happy whenever we are going for breakfast as he offers different treats to my kids every single day. The room is small but clean not so much to anticipate for, very standard type of amenities you can find in a 4 star hotel. Near the bus stop if you so wish to go around town , take bus 200 so it can go to Alexander Plats, Brandenburg Gate, TV Tower and ZOO. 10 mins walk away from the main shopping and U bahn station. BTW the breakfast buffet has not changed for the last 7 days of my stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the city biew as nothing is interesting in the river view type of Hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark777Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Always my first choice in Berlin!

The hotel is located in a quiet area in West-Berlin near Tiergarten and Potsdamer Platz (about 15 minutes to walk).

- nice and quiet rooms;
- 'Harry's New York Bar' (inside the hotel) is always a good choice;
- hotel staff is always friendly;
- good food (both breakfast and dinner);
- good value for money.

Perfect Hotel with a very good standard if you travel by car or taxi.

Room Tip: I always choose rooms to the 'city-side' (not the river side), they seem to be more quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armstronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The best about this hotel is its excellent staff. Their kindness and helpfulness is rarely seen. Thank you!
The hotel is some 300 m from the metro, which is very convenient, and city-centre is also easily reachable by foot – some 20 minutes.
Rooms are nicely furnished, spacious, warm, and very well kept. Good mattress and pillows ensure great sleep and rest. I would recommend room at upper floors because of the view. Dawns in Berlin could be pretty spectacular.
Breakfast is excellent – variety of food and at great timing – from 7 to 12. For 5 EUR extra, you can even have it in your room.
The pool is rather small, but it sufficed us.
In the hotel bar they are making excellent cocktails. They are rather expensive, but I suppose it is reasonable price for Germany.
On the minus side there are two things – Wifi, which is chargeable and toiletries. Wifi is really, really expensive – almost 4 EUR per hour or cca 9 EUR a day – but you have to spend it all at once. Toiletries are kind of poor. I think the hotel management should rethink these.
In total, this is an excellent hotel for reasonable price, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend room at upper floors because of the view. Dawns in Berlin could be pretty spectacu...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The great location of the hotel - 15 minutes walk to Potsdamer Platz and 15 minutes walk to Tauentzienstraße and KA.DE.WE - make it an ideal place to stay for a short visit in Berlin.

The rooms are good size; The bed is large and very comfortable. All the pillows and the soft blankets are welcoming you to jump into the bed; A large choices of food in a good tasty breakpast; Welcoming staff; Very clean and tidy.

If you book a room in advanced and online you can save a lot of money and enjoy a good 5 stars hotel for the price of a 3-4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. After breakfast walked to the train station instead of taking a taxi.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From arrival to departure I couldn't fault anything about this hotel. Everything was just perfect and every single member of staff we came across was polite and helpful. I loved that the man who greeted us for breakfast remembered us after the first morning, gave us our newspaper in the correct language and asked if his help with directions from the day before had been helpful. This is a large hotel with huge numbers passing through for breakfast so I was really impressed!
We ate in the hotel restaurant Eck one night, lovely staff and good food and then had one night in Harry's Bar. This was a lovely, comfortable place to have a good wine and a cocktail, and again the staff were exceptional.
I loved the location as it was a nice quiet area with a bus 2 minutes walk away and Nollendorfplatz U-bahn 5 minutes away and the whole transport system is so efficient, it was no problem to get access anywhere.
I saw a lot of reviews about wifi not being free, so I checked some other 5 star hotels in Berlin (including The Waldorf as we have stayed there in NYC and Westin Grand due to Jason Bourne - shallow I know!!) and they didn't have free wifi either. In fact, it is quite difficult to find anywhere in Berlin so I guess it's just not that important, and when in Rome etc...
All in all, I wish we didn't have so much to see and do in Berlin as I would have loved to not leave the hotel. Would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

In a nutshell:
Hotel: Superb
Staff: Superb
Food: Superb
Value for Money: Oh yes book it straight away.

From the first minute we arrived the staff and surroundings did not disappoint, we had a Suite which had complimentary chocolates on arrival - a nice start to the stay [For the extra few pounds to upgrade it is well worth it]. Yes you have to pay for Wi-Fi but find a 5 Star in Berlin that gives it for free!!! But this is in no way an excuse to give this hotel a bad review. If you dare to go 5 Star then 10 euros is nothing in reality
The staff were absolutely fantastic, we took a meal in Eck and had cocktails in Harry's New York Bar and the service was exemplary. The concierge was incredible and the a whole attitude of the staff was right up there. My wife and I stayed in the Waldorf Astoria in New York in Dec 12 and the courteous and friendly nature of the staff here is at the same level.

Well done Grand Hotel Esplanade a 5-Star example of customer service, and thank you for a most wonderful stay. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 635 in Berlin
1,903 reviews
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#29 of 635 in Berlin
2,460 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#113 of 635 in Berlin
2,830 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#99 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £85 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing