We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good breakfast in an elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #140 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 14 May 2014

elegant - business like - hotel with nice rooms that comes with every facilities you need. they have a small pool but very nice and clean. a nice lobby and a good bar also.

the breakfast has so many options and everything i tasted was very good. except for the coffee(espresso) which was bad.

they have a tassimo coffee machine in the room which provide also a bad coffee. in the apartments they have a very good nesspreso machine with a very good coffee.

the wifi is 10 euro per day! in romania is 5 euro per month! not even in the lobby there is not free wifi. common it is 2014 :)

the service was very good and friendly.

close to tiergarten, bus station, metro. turistic "hop on " buses near by. very nice surroundings with a lot of embassies.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madalinsimion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Positives - Clean, efficient, the breakfast must rank as one of the most extensive ever seen [three kinds of smoked salmon, all self service], great entrance bar which is open air but underneath a glass canopy, great concierge services, good location opposite Bauhaus Archive and Tiergarten, near bus 100 which is the main route east to west Berlin for all the sites, great little swimming pool and spa, good views from higher rooms, good beds, daily maid service, speedy lifts, all very efficient and smart.

Downsides for me- no free wifi and its pricey, no kettle but instead a Tassimo so you cannot actually boil water for your own decaff coffee or tea, given they offer a Tassimo for 'top coffee' they also provide powdered creamer which is horrible, very expensive bar and especially cocktails, also the hotel is rather 'middle aged' in its clientele and so seemed a bit sedate. This might suit many people but not us. It is a little sanitised without a 'Berlin feel' to it?

We smiled because they offer conceirge parking behind the hotel but noticed that if you bring a Porsche, BMW, Ferrari etc they leave that in front of the reception area downstairs for days.
Just around the corner is an hotel called Berlin Berlin which seems the opposite of this one, we went in a couple of times. That hotel seemed hip, cool, trendy with a younger feel to it. It so cool the carpet is made like a faked damaged lino with gaps in it. They have a pool table in reception and flashing neon lights outside at night. Esplanade concierges must sniff haughtily at that one. I suspect most of the guests do the same.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a view, 7 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our stay at this hotel was during the easter break. The hotel itself is very clean, modern and welcoming. The facilities are fantastic, and there is an onsite bar, restaurant and gym (with swimming pool)

We stayed at this hotel with another family. Both familys had young kids, and I have to rate the hotel on its tolerance of noisy kids.

On the days that it was raining, we were supplied with umberellas, the conceirge were very helpful with the directions and advice on places to visit.

A few things I would change, the bar is not open on sundays. Which is a bit of a shame, because that was our last night and we wanted to relax in the hotel with a few drinks. The restaurant offers good food, but I think they should look to increase the variety of food especially for on the childrens menu. Lastly I would suggest having Wi-Fi atleast in the lobby.

Generally the hotel is in a good location for sight seeing and the staff are very friendly. i would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aman1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel that has got a good location for sightseeing in Berlin. Rooms are well equipped and very modern. It offers a good service, staff is very friendly, and the breakfast has a very healthy selection. You can also find a small indoor swimming pool and gym. Unfortunately, the hotel wlan is not for free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eberhard475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel, spend few days with my gf and both of us enjoyed the stay, clean,luxury,good location,friendly stuff, excellent bar, swimming pool and gym. Most of the furnitures and equipments in the room are new. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darsadzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great atmosphere and wonderful service. The location is convenient to sights, shopping and transportation. Didn't try the breakfast but found a nice bistro around the corner. The only caveat is to be careful about some areas near the hotel. I felt extremely safe during my 4 days in Berlin except for one neighborhood within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptakerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Currently staying here at the moment and outraged to find that they charge for wifi. €50 per week. Not great as I'm staying with two children and there are no English channels on the TV. Maybe this is standard practise in Germany but I know Novotels don't charge for wifi and they don't charge as much per night. Disgusted. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we wish to thank you for taking the time to inform us of your dissatisfaction regarding your last stay.

With regrets we read, that the service provided to you were not to your satisfaction.

Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconveniences.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
2,574 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#118 of 634 in Berlin
2,947 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
2,044 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,203 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#50 Family Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#102 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £80 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing