We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel and enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #130 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Glad I booked it as this is a great hotel and beautifully decorated. Specially booked one of the suites on the top floor with great views, big and not disappointing at all.

Although it may be slightly away from the sites but nearby shops, restaurants and transportation.

The front desk were very professional, welcomed with smiles and always happy to help. The concierge and room service were very helpful and good. Generally speaking, all the staff were always ready to help and was made welcoming.

Only criticism, wifi is charged as extra 10 euros which I feel is a lot, especially for the price paid and type of the room this could have been included. Oh yes, too many light switches which were confusing at times unless you get used to it. I can't fault anything else to be honest.

Will definitely come back, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Kristina Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    724
    203
    73
    32
See reviews for
252
663
172
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decent hotel in a quiet (remote) part of town. Very friendly, helpful staff. We stayed here for 3 nights in early May. Large, very clean rooms. Expansive breakfast buffet, including eggs cooked to order, wide selection of fresh fruit. Hotel dinner menu and bar a bit pricey. 3-4 blocks to other restaurants. Somewhat removed from tourist attractions but bus is only a blocks away. Others have pointed out the minus of having to pay for wi-fi. (this was the only property that did not have free wi-fi our 3 week tour of Europe)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Kristina Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Extremely cosy and romantic rooms with great beds, was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud! The lobby was beautiful, the hotel was spotless and the staff was very helpful and polite. The hotel is situated in a very calm area with great connections to most of the main sights, bus #100 stops at most of them while the U is also close. The pool was also nice and so was the bar. The main complaint is for sure that you have to pay for WiF, which I find strange, the majority of complaints on booking sites cites this as a main issue and given the quality of the hotel, the WiFi should for sure be free (would also benefit the hotel as their rating would pretty much be perfect if they fix this issue). Additionally, while the breakfast is very nice, it is not worth €22. There are plenty of good cafes all around Berlin which offer a good breakfast for half the price or even less. However, it was overall a perfect experience and the value for money was great! Will for sure stay here again the next time I go to Berlin and would recommend others to do so as well!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicklasNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear NicklasNilsson,

thank you very much for this nice feedback.

It is nice to see that you had a good stay here at the Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin.
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric
Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

With three girls heading for a weekend in Berlin, we needed to find a comfortable, fairly central and good value (but smart) hotel. We were amazed when we entered our penthouse room at the Esplanade, with it's beautiful balcony, plenty of space and a surprisingly comfortable third bed, all for around £70 ppn/pn.

Just 5 minutes from the Tiergarten, we walked everywhere we wanted to get to, and took advantage of the lovely little pool at the hotel as well. The only slight downside was that in looking for somewhere to eat on the Friday night when we arrived quite late, we didn't find anywhere that looked nice or busy in the local vicinity (it was about 10.30pm though), and instead accidentally ended up in a red light district! However, we headed back to the hotel and Harry's Bar, and ate a very tasty meal indeed - really high quality food, especially for a hotel.

This place is recommended if you don't mind walking a bit as it's not really that central (about 35 minutes to the Reichstag / Brandenburg Gate, but through the park), but it is absolutely fantastic value for money, and really a wonderful experience. It was certainly perfect for what we wanted, and I can't imagine anywhere else would have been better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
With reference to your kind review we thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our hotel.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was on business trip in Berlin and had some meeting in Grand Hotel Esplanade. Very nice conference rooms, well organised coffee breaks and snacks, excellent lunches, comfortable, spacy, nothing to complain about if it was not for internet connection that you have to pay for extra! Why? Such a super hotel should offer it free of charge! If you are there in summer, take a boat trip in Berlin - they stop just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our hotel.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a fine choice for a hotel on a special lover's vacation to Berlin… close to Tiergarten and walkable to the Ku'damm and Mitte and/or a short bus ride. Nicely designed soundproofed rooms are well appointed with plush, comfortable beds. The lobby is spacious.. good bar and restaurant.

Staff friendly and efficient.. The breakfast buffet is excellent, and can be included for a discount with your (make an online reservation) room fee. Don't bother with the espresso, which was underwhelming (go to italy for that), but the rest is great, with a very wide selection that is constantly replenished and tended to.

Room Tip: Make sure you get high up, and River Side which has a great view, rather than the City Side and no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witsend99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The top floor "penthouse" rooms have a balcony, but do not expect too spacious floor plans. All in all very clean and very friendly service. Best breakfast in town (in a hotel, that is) in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indichur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property.

Yours sincerely,
GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN
Verena Schmelcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#27 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#100 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#35 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
#159 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Property: Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#96 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing