We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ranked #135 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We pre-booked this accommodation thinking it was closer to West Berlin than it was. Not to worry, we had a good room that had everything we needed except wi-fi. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Lots of eating places close to the hotel along with supermarkets and the trains and buses were travel free with the pass via the hotel. Breakfast was buffet and plentiful but closes on time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    198
    61
    8
    1
See reviews for
39
135
59
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because it is in the train station. Was able to book other travel without making an extra trip. Not much out of the train station but you have ALMOST all you need inside. Room says laundry service and facilities separately. Thought I could do my own laundry which is one of the reasons I chose this room but that is not the case. It is a dry cleaners that charges for each item. That was a disappointment and nobody at the reception desk would help me find one. We also saw the hop on/off tour buses drive by and the staff was no help when I asked where the nearest stop is where I could hop on at. "It is 2 blocks to your left of the hotel at the other side of the O2 arena." We did see a concert at the arena and it is the Perfect location to stay at for a concert. There is a sports bar inside the station with good food and a happy hour buffet and a Subway next to the entrance inside.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwiggyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
282 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Located inside the Ostbahnof station, on the ground floor. It's a fantastic location as Ostbahnof is very close to central station and also to Alexandraplatz from where all the major sightseeing points can be accessed.

Booked in advance and got a very good low rate.

Came in early at around 7am. Normal check in is 2 pm. Luckily many check outs in the morning. Pushing for an early request , they agreed and gave a room by 9am without any additional charge. Majority of people use this hotel as an overnight stay to catch early morning trains. No wifi in rooms or public space. One has to buy prepaid internet vouchers. Coffee machine in room and also kept at reception. They also give a 2 Day city travel pass that can be used on any city bus, train and tram. This saves a lot of money in case one is expected to travel for sightseeing or business meetings.

Rooms are reasonably big for a couple. Clean. No bathtub. Dental kits provided on asking. Lot of charging points in room which helps in case of multiple devices to be charged simultaneously.

Staff was extremely polite and helpful. Knowledgeable and jovial in explaining or helping out with instructions or replies to queries. Has lots of food joints just outside the hotel premises. Considering short stay, lack of wifi not considered as a hindrance.

Worth a repeat stay or recommended stay for couple and family in case of stay of 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Good advance booking gets one a very good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAB-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The smell of cigarette smoke on the 1st floor was disgusting.
I was given the wrong room which when you're jet lagged is probably more frustrating than when you're not so tired.
However the location cannot be beaten.
Wifi - you have to pay for.
Checkout took forever - they only had 1 girl on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fantastic value hotel right next to the Hauptbahnhof so incredibly convenient whether arriving by air or rail. Plenty of places for breakfast in the station and in town if you don't want to spend time eating at the hotel.

Hotel provides a transport voucher that's valid on all central buses, underground and overground trains and trams - amazing. But, actually, you can walk to most places and it's very easy to find your way around.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside to the hotel is that you have to pay for wifi which I think is a bit exploitative these days. But, there's always Starbucks if you're desperate.

Room Tip: No tips - didn't have a nice view from my room but then I was only in it to sleep so it's ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

When I first found out my client had booked me into this hotel, I admit I was pretty wary. When I found out it was locate *in* the station, even moreso. But I needn't have been. It turns out that - after a long train ride - the location was very convenient. Within mere minutes I had checked in and was up in my room. By being located in the main station, I not only had the option of eating in the hotel, but could quickly run back into the station to pick up something at one of the many snack bars, bistros, etc.

My room was tidy and clean, and - most importantly - quiet! I didn't hear a single train, though I was practically sleeping above the tracks. The desk staff was always friendly and helpful. In the meantime, I've stayed there every time I am in Berlin to work with that particular client, their office being only about 15 minutes away by taxi.

My one pet peeve: Paying €9/day for wi-fi!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caratime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for 3nights. Small rooms,clean and tidy. Great location,situated inside train station. Free transport ticket for duration of your stay,which we used to get back to airport on departure. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast expensive, but lots of places to eat near by. Supermarket,Bank and shops located inside train station. would defanatley stay here again if visiting Berlin again.Short rail travel to all attractions.Berlin wall across the road.Direct train from airport

Room Tip: states quiet room facing court yard.... room was quiet but no court yard, just a glass roof looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#40 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#169 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
East Side City Hotel
East Side City Hotel
#421 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof

Property: InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Address: Am Ostbahnhof 5, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#126 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel is situated at the Ostbahnhof (the Berlin East Railway Station) in Berlin. From there our guests have good transport connections to all forms of public transport and can quickly and comfortably reach all of the sights Berlin, such as the Brandenburg Gate, the German Parliament building or the Kurfurstendamm. Also, the O2 World Arena is set only 200 metres away from the hotel. Your FreeCityTicket included in the price of your room provides free use of all forms of local public transport in Berlin and Potsdam throughout the whole of your stay. The guests have 160 comfortable rooms and 3 studios at their disposal which are supplemented by 6 conference rooms accommodating up to 150 participants altogether. In best combination, the InterCityHotel know-how, our friendly hotel staff, the attentive service in combination with a pleasant modern ambience will ensure that you will feel at home in Berlin during your stay with us. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Intercity Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing