We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Ranked #191 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this very central and well positioned hotel. Our balcony had a superb view over the Gendarmen-markt and the hotel is an easy walk to all the things you want to visit in the centre of Berlin.
We particularly appreciated the breakfasts which set us up very well for a good day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    109
    28
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
118
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is located next to the Gendarmmarkt, a very central point of Berlin surrounded by numerous choices in terms of leisure and not only experience. We had a smooth checked in and after a challenge in getting into the room (key card system is not optimum) we finally entered to see a very nice designed room.
Not spacious but still more than enough for just a day. Everything was at its right place and especially the shower area was very spacious and nicely placed. Guest amenities are at the minimum level but still enough.
Breakfast area is small (really small with just maximum capacity of 34 seats) nevertheless the hotel has less than 50 rooms. It is just the feeling as a guest that you have breakfast in such a small area somewhere hidden on the first floor (not really welcoming). Breakfast service was just ok and variety of products also.
Parking could be a challenge.
All in all the hotel is value for money if a guest does not expect too much for the reasonable price he/she pays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadster2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I made this the centre for a week's stay and then came back to it for a couple of days. The modern room I had was excellent with balconies, and a super view overlooking the Gendarmenmarkt. It is very central for major sights and museums, and a good place to begin exploration either by walking or using the U-Bahn - U-Bahn Statdmitte station almost in front of the hotel. The staff, who all spoke perfect English, could not be more helpful. The ordinary breakfast was excellent, but if you want something really special go for the breakfast in the Panorama room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ian214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

No aircon in the rooms!! I couldn't believe it!
well over 30 degrees C inside the room and opening a window didn't really help seeing as it was really hot out as well. This must be the first hotel I've stayed in in over a decade that didn't have a/c in each room.

But to be fair, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and in a way charming (if a little small) and the location is very nice for tourists; there is heaps to do in a short walk from the front door.

Room Tip: May be in winter this place is nice......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a fabulous and charming hotel this is! I loved that it was small and personable,(unlike the huge, ultragrand Hilton right across the road.) Obviously a LOT of thought went into the decor of the rooms and as a result they are very comfortable and very chic. Most importantly, the place is spotless! The people at the front desk were all very helpful and friendly.
The location is also perfect- it is in Mitte which already makes it pretty central to many tourist attractions and it is right across the street from a subway. From the balcony of our room we could look out onto the charming square (Gendarmenmarkt) that houses the Philharmonik and right next door is a marvellous Chocolaterie with an elegant cafe on the 1st floor!
Amazing experience all around!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent 6 nights here and have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. The rooms are clean, modern and relatively new looking. The staff was always friendly and helpful. There was a large convention in town while we were staying and the price here was much better than we could get a other larger hotels. You cannot beat the location, a one minute walk to the GendarmerMarket, less to the subway system, and close enough to walk to major sites such as Museum Island. We did not take breakfast at the hotel, so no opinion on that. There are several bakeries in the neighborhood that offer an excellent value for breakfast and lunch. There are also a large number of restaurants within 2 blocks so dinner is never a problem. We requested and were place in a room with air conditioning and I would recommend that in warm weather as the street can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Close to everything, modern facilities and good value for the money.Did not have breakfast (thought 15 euros a bit steep). Staff were wonderful .Exceptionally clean . We definitely will go back next time we visit Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Tito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
#510 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gendarm Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gendarm Nouveau

Property: Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Address: Charlottenstr. 61, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#124 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#128 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gendarm Nouveau 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most beautiful places in Europe.To keep Berlin and the Gendarmen Markt in wonderful remembrance,the Gendarm nouveau Team will give its best to create you an awesome time through charming service, little surprises and great comfort during your stay.We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gendarm Nouveau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gendarm Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing