We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than first impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ranked #154 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first visit to Berlin and so we had no idea of the location and although the hotel is not at all centrally located , it is very close to the excellent metro service which means that we were easily able to see all that we wanted to.
Scary moment when we arrived as the first impression of the hotel is poor and not as the pictures suggest , even scarier when we first saw the room . But if all you want to do is use the hotel as a dormitory , then it works well
the Breakfast is excellent and the staff are really nice
to the important questions
would we stay there again? NO
would we recommend it to friends ? again No

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel in March of 2014. We were in room 614 facing the park on Hasenheide Strasse. Can't say much for the view because it was somewhat obstructed by a concrete barrier. That's the only negative thing I can offer about this room. I look for the following items when making a reservation- Free WiFi, Breakfast, Parking and easy access to public transport. This hotel had all of these items. You will be given a WiFi code from the front desk personnel. No issues with speed or conductivity. The breakfast is outstanding. The staff replenish all the items throughout the meal period. Doesn't matter if you are there at the beginning or the end. Your food choices will be the same. We loaded up on breakfast, carried energy bars with us to hold us to dinner so we didn't have to stop for lunch. Our bed was a double (two twins) and very comfortable. Our room had a shower, no tub. My husband is taller than 6' ft., and sometimes the European shower heads do not adjust to that height. Our shower head went above that height; excellent water pressure and temp. control. Your room will have liquid shower gel/shampoo in a dispensor. The parking area was well marked and located behind the hotel. The hotel is located next to a Conrad electronics store and parking is shared. The hotel is also located between two underground stations. SudStern is approximately five blocks from the hotel, Hermannplatz is one block. Find a map at this website of public transportation-http://www.visitberlin.de/sites/default/files/S2BU-Bahn_1506_2010_0.PDF. We spent approx. 30 euros for subway-train tickets during our stay. There is a Karstadt dept. store, Lidl grocery store and many other stores in the area. Loads of restaurants and bars. Don't be put off by the grafitti in the neighborhood. There appears too be quite a bit of it in Berlin. The area is Kreuzburg, southeast to the city center. Lots of young people. My husband and I walked to Check Point Charlie one evening, and Sudstern Brauhaus. Lots of people out walking, biking, etc. Like any major city, we stuck to the main roads. I reserved our room on Booking. com but found later that the prices are lower on the hotel website. Here it is-http://hotel-rn.com/hw/a406892/index.htm.
The staff is friendly, helpful and bi-lingual. Have fun!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the park are on Hasenheide Strasse which does have traffic noise if the windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinainBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked with this Hotel 4 nights, I had to cancel it because I attend my grandfather funeral in another country. I called them and sent emails to the hotel, but they never replied.

Booking.com tried to find the best possible solution for me because it eas charge associated with the cancelation. But the hotel told them NO, no exception, even we offer them to send a even death certificate document.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Kali_E07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel in February of 2013 with my dad. We had planned this father/daughter trip about six months in advance and got an amazing flight & hotel deal through Expedia.

There are so many great things about this hotel! First, the complimentary breakfast was completely spectacular. Fresh buns and bread, lots of fruit, eggs, sausage, cereals. Second, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Third, the location was awesome--2 minute walk to the UBahn with close access to a department store with groceries and a bakery. Free WIFI worked well too.

Most hotel rooms in Europe are very small. While this isn't the size of a North American hotel room, it was much larger than some other rooms I've stayed in while in Europe. The rooms are very clean, with a nice sized bathroom that was also very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The staff, especially Ivonne and Michaela, went out of their way to communicate with Air Berlin and locate lost baggage. This relieved our stress load enormously, allowing us to get on with the business of enjoying our holiday, rather than stressing our over lost luggage.

This is an excellent hotel, clean, comfortable and located conveniently close to transport.
We felt safe walking around the area at all hours of the day or night (we love the Berlin night life as well).

Hamy's at Hasenheide 10 is an amazing little Vietnamese restaurant that you cannot afford to miss if you enjoy Vietnamese cuisine. Don't be deterred by the queues; you'll be seated within 5 minutes tops, and won't regret the decision.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JafaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JuliaS288
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is an excellent hotel in terms of price/quality. It's clean and has all the necessary services. Provides great breakfast and staff are extremely professional and friendly. I recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthPasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#195 of 635 in Berlin
564 reviews
Gruenau Hotel
#339 of 635 in Berlin
61 reviews
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Citylight Hotel
#215 of 635 in Berlin
254 reviews
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 635 in Berlin
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel

Address: Hasenheide 14, 10967 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Berlin
#111 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3-star-hotel is located 200m from Hermannplatz, between the two lifely areas Kreuzberg and Neukölln. Our 67 comfortable rooms with shower/WC, desk, an armchair and table are an Oasis of quiet and relaxation right in the middle of the bustling Capital. Whether you want to stay only one night or whether you are planning a longer stay, the Hotel Ludwig van Beethoven is looking forward to becoming your home away from home in the German capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludwig Van Beethoven Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing