We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hackescher Markt
Ranked #259 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Perfect for a city trip”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location, cosy room, spacious bathroom, friendly staff.
Room has some odd, extra furniture and a carpet but other wise was perfect!
Easy to get to different sights, shops, restaurants etc. Very quiet room so easy to get some rest too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minde70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    75
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
23
77
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, good location, good breakfast, staff is courteous and helpful. I stayed on 5th floor loft room, the first night was terrible as the entire floor was boiling as there was no ventilation and windows were locked. The next day got windows opened but it was very noisy due to tram and street noise. Pillows are worn out and had to use cushions in addition to pillows, although I got a new one but it was even worse.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashif C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

3 years ago we had a great time here. Things have changed. There aren't enough staff, we had to ask for simple things like toilet paper and the internet service is complete rubbish. If you like good service and need an internet connection try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not overlook the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geneseeperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have booked 2 nights at the hotel but after the 1st night decided to move to another hotel. Firstly our room was directly above a tramlink end station and the window are not soundproof,you can imagine what noises where there. Room does not have a main lamp at the center of the ceiling just side lights. The size of the room is very small which is the main reason for being so hot inside and don't forget you have to keep the window closed because of the tramlink station. There was a blood spot on the duvet it was not properly dry cleaned. We asked the receptionist whether she knows any car park nearby and she gave us directions for a car park where they charge 20 euros per day and we found a car park ourselves for 4.50 euro per day. Location is very good and this is the only one positive about this place. For us was the worst hotel ever and the first time I had no choice but to leave a negative feedback.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebastianpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at Easter at the Hotel Hackescher Markt - can't fault it at all. Firstly, it’s the perfect location if you’re on a short visit to Berlin. The train stop is 1 minute walk from the hotel - from the airport to hotel with one train change is approx. 30 mins, it was so easy to make our way. Hackescher Markt is less than 10 mins walk from Alexantplatz - where all the hop-on-hop-off tour buses leave from.
The hotel location (Hackescher Markt) is away from the main tourist areas so the bars, café’s and restaurants are good value, mainly catering for locals so you get a great taste of local life - but most of them do have English menus and the staff all speak good English. There is a choice of restaurants types - Italian, tapa, pizza, Turkish, German, American, etc.. Behind the hotel, you can sit outside bars and watch the boats go up & down the river. There is a lovely German restaurant about 6 mins walks from the hotel called Gaststätte Sophieneck – check it out if you like German food. Its amazing value & the food is #1 … 2 cold beers, 3 course meal for two people, and a bottle of good Italian Chianti, all for only €60 – you can’t find better value traditional German food in the city centre.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor which was so quiet, we never heard a sound during the nights. Bed was so comfortable, we had a great sleep every night (walking all day did help!). Bathroom was spotless everyday and shower was very powerful. We spent our 3 days sightseeing so we only used the hotel for sleep/shower, we didn’t eat or drink there. There were lovely café’s around the corners so we grabbed coffees/croissants in the morning as we headed off for the day. In the evenings, there were such a choice of places to eat and drink – all within2 mins walk.

The wifi didn't work well in the room, it did work in reception. We didn't care as we didn't need internet for our stay - but if you really needed to use wifi in your room, it could be an issue. That is the only negative I can report on - but it didn't affect our stay.

If we go back to Berlin, I’d def stay in this location again and I will go back to the Hotel Hackescher Markt if we get a good deal again (like we did this trip).

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the top floor and it was so quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was booked into Hackescher Markt Hotel for a workshop in Berlin. It's on a lively square near a Metro station. The rooms are typically tiny, clean, and austerely appointed.
Pros: location, helpful staff, decent breakfast and wifi
Cons: outer lobby smells like garbage, odd elevator, the shower in Room 502 was constructed in such a way that water inevitably ran onto the bathroom floor

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Hackescher Markt for three nights as we were visiting our daughter that is studying here. We had a suite which is in the inner courtyard, so it is very quiet, a little bit dark though, our room was clean, big and comfortable, bathroom was new, we had a bathtub as well as a shower, plenty of space for personal belongings. WIFI was working properly but it was a bit of hassle having to log in and out all the time, it expired quite quickly. Breakfast was very good, lots of bread, cheese, cold meats, fruits, juices. You could also have eggs any style just by ordering them, the lady serving breakfast was pleasant and competent. Receptionists were helpful, we were able to leave our luggage there for the whole day as we had a late evening flight.
A bit strange though to have to ring the bell to get into the hotel, but you get used to it after the first day.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard by all means because of the tram stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#74 of 634 in Berlin
469 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Lux 11
Lux 11
#236 of 634 in Berlin
499 reviews
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#234 of 634 in Berlin
480 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#78 of 634 in Berlin
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hackescher Markt

Property: Hotel Hackescher Markt
Address: Grosse Praesidentenstr. 8, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hackescher Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our British-style "Hotel Hackescher Markt" is situated in beautiful eastern Berlin, amidst the flair of historical buildings and surrounded by the energy of Berlin Mitte's cosmopolitan residents and visitors. Enjoy the hustle and bustle of the shopping districts around Alexanderplatz, the designer stores in the Hackeschen Hofen, and the cultural diversity that this central district has to offer. Various attractions, countless shopping opportunities, and beautiful sights are all just steps away! Relax to chirping birds with a coffee and newspaper in our peaceful courtyard, or find a moment of tranquility in the sauna of our partner hotel Hotel Alexander Plaza. Meeting and conference rooms may also be booked here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackescher Markt Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing