We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patrick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
California am Kurfurstendamm
Ranked #217 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Patrick”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very good location.The minus was the very poor internet connection that kept breaking down.Really every day and the reception could not do much.Also the shower door was broken and kept falling off the rail.This was reported to the reception on at least two occasions and despite assurances that it would be fixed nothing happened for the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose one where the shower door does not fall off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    389
    228
    57
    40
See reviews for
190
378
71
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely place, good atmosphere, great cocktails. If we were not already staying nearby would definitely go there again. Friendly staff and nice outside area to sit and watch 5the world go by. All that was missing was The Eagles!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean, quiet and nice staff. Great location and central to shops, cafe's and eateries. Tip: there is a nettostore a few meteres to the right as you come out the hotel. Good for water, juice and snacks and cheaper than the minibar. Breakfast is continental and vast. Different breads, cold meats,cheeses, fruit and cooked foods available. Even biscuits and cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. Rooms face the back but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

just arrived back from berlin, this is our 3rd time in the california, we even get a best wishes for xmas email from the staff. Well were do i start, wonderfull clean rooms, fresh towels everyday, every 2nd day clean bed linen. Very friendly reception staff, nothing any trouble, excellent breakfast, right in the middle of the kudamm, know berlin well, i lived there, nearest tube uhlandstrasse, many shops, restaurants, great city for shopping, sightseeing and eating. Superb.

Room Tip: we had room 650, big balcony, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 750peterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california_kudamm, Front Office Manager at California am Kurfurstendamm, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the great review.
We would be very happy when you visit us again as soon as possible.

Many many thanks and all the best for the future.

Best Regards

Theresa Salihovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel has a old world charm and the location is bang in the middle of the Berlin making it extremely accessible. I got booked into room number 203 and i found the room to be very well tastefully done and comfortable. The Bathroom at first glance looked functional even though it was tiny. The Toilet Paper stand was fixed so close to the WC that it was very uncomfortable. The shower cubicle was also tiny and there is very high chance that you will hurt yourself if you try to turn in the enclosure. The staff was courteous and the check-in and check-out was smooth and professional. The breakfast seem to have a good spread of continental food but lacked options if you are a vegetarian.

Room Tip: Avoid the room numbers ending in 03
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good location, near the shopping areas, restaurants and the metro. The staff is friendly and helpful, and I got the room very fast. If I travel to Berlin, I will choose this hotel(California am Kurfurstendamm).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumstead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I will keep it brief! If this is the first hotel you've reviewed then save time, stop and book a room. Location is excellent - 45mins (3 changes) on the wonderful metro from the airport - and a 5 min walk to the hotel from the station. Get the metro app for your smart phone - makes journey planning a diddle) Excellent bars and restaurants all surrounding the hotel - hotel bar is an excellent place to have a night cap. Staff are very helpful and well organised. One tip - breakfast can get busy (I was there over Easter weekend) so I had to wait for a free table on one occasion - otherwise it's a bounty of food and drink to start the day. I did say I would keep this brief so one final thing - would I go back? I would be mad not to!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PlumsteadBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#74 of 634 in Berlin
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hollywood Media Hotel
Hollywood Media Hotel
#67 of 634 in Berlin
721 reviews
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#230 of 634 in Berlin
485 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#183 of 634 in Berlin
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California am Kurfurstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California am Kurfurstendamm

Property: California am Kurfurstendamm
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 35, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel California)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#127 Family Hotel in Berlin
#135 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#166 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — California am Kurfurstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic ambiance meets big city modernity. In excellent location at the Kurfuerstendamm, the world famous boulevard, our hotel is situated in a building combining history and design. 160 Rooms and suites equipped with modern interior combined with perfect service offer highest comfort. The modern spa sees to relaxation from urban life in Berlin city center west. A bar with a boulevard cafe and a backyard in the quiet courtyard invites to rest. Hotel California combines tasteful elegance with historic charm - such a lovely place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your California am Kurfurstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Am Kurfurstendamm Berlin
California Am Kurfurstendamm Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing