We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
Ranked #255 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's a budget hotel.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's a budget hotel located in what used to be in East Berlin. Have been told not to go out at night on your own as this can be a dodgy area, but by day it seems fine. Most of the staff are helpful. Din't ask for a gin and tonic in the bar at the reception because you will be told that it is served in their other bar which was closed when I asked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    58
    31
    35
See reviews for
30
29
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 day city break, staying at the Hotel Kolombus in Berlin. We booked through Ryanair's website when we booked our flights, as were impressed by the price per a night for a mid-week stay at a hotel in Berlin city centre. We received a warm welcome at the hotel in German and English. The staff kindly answered our questions about Berlin and transport links from the hotel.

We did not book our breakfast over the Internet with our room initially but decided to have it on our first morning (we booked it on arrival). It cost 8 Euros per person and was a traditional cold continental breakfast. As previously mentioned, the hotel's main guests are schools and sports clubs, however the groups of youngsters were not seated in the breakfast room with us.

To get into town, you have to walk for 5 minutes to catch the M6 tram from Genslerstrasse to Alexanderplatz and then change at Alexanderplatz to catch a train or underground. At the Genslerstrasse tram stop, there is a small shopping centre with an Aldi and Kaiser's supermarkets, Burger King, pharmarcy, bakeries/cafes etc. We bought a torch during our stay as the walk from Genslerstrasse tram stop back to the hotelat night is not well lit.

Our room on the 4th floor was clean and we were impressed that there were English speaking TV channels. The shower cubical did not fully close, meaning that the floor in the bathroom becomes flooded, however the shower was lovely & warm!

All in all, we had a lovely stay at Hotel Kolumbus, however we would not recommend it to other couples wanting a romantic break as it really is a hotel designed for groups, especially youngsters, who fill up the foyer & bar at night and can be quite loud if you want an early night's sleep. However if you are travelling as a group, it's perfect for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were here for 3 nights with a group of about 90 persons.
The hotel had several type of rooms, from the most simple for group to some better (but a bit smelly)
The food and the service was fine! If you are on couple vacation or need some quietness, expect some noises from youths in this hotel. This is a real budget hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

People working there were not nice at all not even aswering "thanks".
So unfriendly that was not nice at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Denisse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Los angeles/Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very simple and very cheap! Booked this hotel in the middle of summer on 12 hours notice for less than $100 USD for 4 people and a dog. Hostel like rooms with bunk beds and no frills but for the price it was fine. Stasi museum right next door too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlynsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A good experience. Our 4th floor room was newly refurbished. This hotel is good positioned in a quiet environment within easy reach of the bus and tram station. Lots of parking is available. The staff were friendly and communicated excellent in English..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBisschoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my family because it has 4-bedded rooms. Our room was on the 8th floor which was only accessible by stairs from the 7th floor, which was kind of inconvenient. The internet, which was not free of course, was really slow no matter where you use it from, your own computer or the hotel's computer. Rooms were very clean and staff was helpful, though. There is were nice Chinese and German restaurants within walking distance, and a small shopping mall for things like breakfasts or groceries.

Hotel was mostly occupied by school groups or groups of young travelers, so do expect noise and a little bit of chaos especially when they have just arrived in the lobby. The walls are not sound proof, either.

Like most of the other reviews say, the hotel's location is pretty far from the city center (Alexanderplatz tram stop), but there is a direct tram from the shopping mall which takes around 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanoihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 634 in Berlin
729 reviews
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#366 of 634 in Berlin
299 reviews
Lichtenberg
City Hotel Berlin East
City Hotel Berlin East
#292 of 634 in Berlin
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Kolumbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Kolumbus

Property: A&O Berlin Kolumbus
Address: Genslerstr. 18, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 351 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Berlin Kolumbus 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A&O Berlin Kolumbus is located in the heart of North-East Berlin, just a few minutes from the tram station. The hotel has bright, modern rooms that whet the appetite for the day ahead, which gets off to a perfect start with our all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet. The A&O Hotel is just 5 minutes away from 'Genslerstraße' tram station. Perfectly accessible by public transport, the hotel makes an ideal base for discovering the sights of Berlin, especially the nearby Hohenschönhausen memorial. Parking is available, so arrival by car is also convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Berlin Kolumbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akzent Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing