We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Berlin Kolumbus
Ranked #567 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean & Adequate”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I went with a large group at the time there were several other groups staying.
The room and linen were clean. There was a TV that had English speaking Sky News. unfortunately no kettle! The room was cleaned daily. The shower was small but warm. I was certainly not dissappointed at the general standards.
The staff however were a bit hit and miss. Some were quite friendly and helpful. Some others obviously went on the wrong course where instead of nothing is too much trouble, anything was too much trouble! That was a little irritating when you are huffed at for wanting to purchase from the shop or bar! After all it is a service industry!!
Breakfast is a continental buffet which is quite well stocked.
A room was broken into whilst we were there. Apparently this had never happened before? I did notice that there was no CCTV or other security measures. The back door is frequently left open for smokers and affords easy access to any others not resident at the hotel. I would suggest the usual caution with your valubles. But I would happily stay at this hotel again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    39
    56
    30
    35
See reviews for
29
28
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's a budget hotel located in what used to be in East Berlin. Have been told not to go out at night on your own as this can be a dodgy area, but by day it seems fine. Most of the staff are helpful. Din't ask for a gin and tonic in the bar at the reception because you will be told that it is served in their other bar which was closed when I asked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 day city break, staying at the Hotel Kolombus in Berlin. We booked through Ryanair's website when we booked our flights, as were impressed by the price per a night for a mid-week stay at a hotel in Berlin city centre. We received a warm welcome at the hotel in German and English. The staff kindly answered our questions about Berlin and transport links from the hotel.

We did not book our breakfast over the Internet with our room initially but decided to have it on our first morning (we booked it on arrival). It cost 8 Euros per person and was a traditional cold continental breakfast. As previously mentioned, the hotel's main guests are schools and sports clubs, however the groups of youngsters were not seated in the breakfast room with us.

To get into town, you have to walk for 5 minutes to catch the M6 tram from Genslerstrasse to Alexanderplatz and then change at Alexanderplatz to catch a train or underground. At the Genslerstrasse tram stop, there is a small shopping centre with an Aldi and Kaiser's supermarkets, Burger King, pharmarcy, bakeries/cafes etc. We bought a torch during our stay as the walk from Genslerstrasse tram stop back to the hotelat night is not well lit.

Our room on the 4th floor was clean and we were impressed that there were English speaking TV channels. The shower cubical did not fully close, meaning that the floor in the bathroom becomes flooded, however the shower was lovely & warm!

All in all, we had a lovely stay at Hotel Kolumbus, however we would not recommend it to other couples wanting a romantic break as it really is a hotel designed for groups, especially youngsters, who fill up the foyer & bar at night and can be quite loud if you want an early night's sleep. However if you are travelling as a group, it's perfect for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were here for 3 nights with a group of about 90 persons.
The hotel had several type of rooms, from the most simple for group to some better (but a bit smelly)
The food and the service was fine! If you are on couple vacation or need some quietness, expect some noises from youths in this hotel. This is a real budget hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

People working there were not nice at all not even aswering "thanks".
So unfriendly that was not nice at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Denisse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles/Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very simple and very cheap! Booked this hotel in the middle of summer on 12 hours notice for less than $100 USD for 4 people and a dog. Hostel like rooms with bunk beds and no frills but for the price it was fine. Stasi museum right next door too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlynsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A good experience. Our 4th floor room was newly refurbished. This hotel is good positioned in a quiet environment within easy reach of the bus and tram station. Lots of parking is available. The staff were friendly and communicated excellent in English..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBisschoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#364 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Berlin Kolumbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Berlin Kolumbus

Property: A&O Berlin Kolumbus
Address: Genslerstr. 18, 13055 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Lichtenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Berlin Kolumbus 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your A&O Berlin Kolumbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akzent Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing