We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
245
496
220
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
496
220
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswittenbergplatz u bahn stationasian breakfastcomfort roombit datedbus routesminute walkrooms are basicbahnhof zooair conditioningtwo singles pushed togetheraround the cornerexcellent locationdepartment storethe wi ficentral locationeasy accesstourist attractions
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If location is the prime asset for a hotel, then this one should get 100%!

The hotel is located in a quiet side-street connecting the Wittenbergplatz to the Kurfürstenstrasse.

The subway station in the Wittenbergplatz (hub for the U1, U2 and U3 trains) is a mere 130 meters from the hotel doors; due south. The bus stop for the number 100 double decker bus {Tiergarten, Siegessäule (Victory Column) on the “Großer Stern” (Greater Star), Schloss Bellevue, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Reichstag, Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linden, Museum Island, Berliner Dom (Berlin Cathedral), Television Tower on the Alexanderplatz - and in the opposite direction, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, Kurfürstendamm and the Zoologischer Garten (Zoological Garden)} is a 100 meters to the north of the hotel. The number 200 bus stop {Berlin Philharmonic, Potsdammer-Platz (Sony Center), Unter den Linden, State Opera, Alexanderplatz and more...}, is about 300 meters away on the Budapester Strasse.

The entrance to the KaDeWe shopping center is just off the Wittenbergplatz on the Augsburgerstrasse. There is a small market on the Wittenbergplatz most weekdays.
The staff in the hotel is friendly and eager to help and assists (some are more knowledgeable than others – so use your discretion).

Rooms aged but spotlessly clean.

Breakfast: If you have ordered your room without breakfast - don’t bother with their breakfast buffet. The price is exorbitant € 12.50 per person. Just across the road, and a little to the left, there is a lovely little bakery with great coffee. We went there every morning – no complaints! We spent an average of €3-€4 for breakfast per person.

Now the gripes:
WiFi passable during the week – when there was low occupancy. WiFi near impossible at weekends – during high occupancy.
Bathrooms are clean but aged and the plumbing leaves much to be desired.
Walls must be made of paper – pray not to have noisy neighbours!
There are only 2 elevators serving a 7 story building with over 40 rooms per floor.

Tips:
Ask for the higher floors. Ask for rooms a fair distance away from the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors. Ask for rooms a fair distance away from the elevators. Even room numbers are better than odds
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shalom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Shalom M.,
thank you for the 100% for our location and the good mark for cleanliness. Yes, we are right downtown, but it is still a quiet and friendly neighborhood. Our large SORAT-Breakfast offers sparkling wine, salmon, different sausages, cereals and alone 9 different warm meals. We also upgraded our Wifi and all issues from the past have been solved. Once again thank you for your recommendation.
Kind Regards,
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hi, this is the second time I've stayed at your hotel. The price with the DIN discount is very good, but I have a couple of issues I'd like to mention.

Just when I was leaving my room to check out I noticed a bloodstain on the pillow I had slept on. I am certain it was not from me. It was about 4 cm in diameter. That was not nice at all.

In the shower, the shower gel bottle was empty. I pulled it out and took the one over the sink (leaving pig puddles of water on the floor). I noticed then that the bottle holder in the shower was very dirty where the bottle had been sitting.

So, other than that it was a good hotel experience: the breakfast is very good and I had a good experience of the people in the reception. But the cleanliness in the room could have been better.

Best regards,

/Jörgen Wyke

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Mr. W,
thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you had an easy check in and enjoyed the large Breakfast Buffet of our property. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as I suspect you saw through out the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. Please reach out to me personally at direktion-ambassador@soratmail.de with your check in date and confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what fell through in the cleaning process of your room and ensure it won’t happen again. Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Kind Regards, the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is good if you specifically only need a bed to sleep. The other reviews are correct that WIFI is not good. They constantly have maximum users logged in and when you enquire regarding this, they advise you to wait for other users to log off. Although not a major issue, they do charge for baggage storage per piece. (1.5euro)

The beds were nice and clean and overall room was cleaned well, however, it had a very bad smell. Ventilation in in our double room was non existent. Though it was good the windows opened. As others mentioned, we booked for a double bed, and it was two singles pushed together (with a gap still in the middle).

Pros: Close to train station, friendly staff, hotel for a sleep. Affordable
Cons: Smelly rooms, Bad Wifi, No free baggage store, twin beds pushed together for a double room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank IanCoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ian,
thanks for your review. The Wifi issues has been solved and we upgraded our system. For the rooms we can recommend book our newly refurbished Comfort Rooms with free drinks inclusive.
Kind Regards, the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel Ambassador has an excellent location close to underground-station Wittenbergplatz and also within walking distance to Bahnhof Zoo. Staff is extremly nice and helpful.

The room had a good size, and you also heard very little from the street. But you had more noises from inside the hotel. The doors to the rooms had to be slammed to be locked, and that sound transplanted through the hotel. You also heard everything from the room nextdoors. The room otherwise was quite nice.

Bathroom was small, a bit old but at the same time functional. However, somtimes there was an unpleasant smell coming from the pipes.

So, in some ways it is a very good hotel, but sure could need some improvement in other ways.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews