We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Ranked #182 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

DIN recommended staying your hotel. It was nice to stay: everything was more than average. Thank you! I dare say that door lock of the room was a bit troublesome to open. The aspargus I enjoyed at the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICHIRO Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ichiro,
THANK YOU so much for recommending us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    447
    190
    53
    35
See reviews for
102
347
155
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I traveled to Berlin with a group of 14 university students, and we spent 6 nights at the SORAT Ambassador. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's close to Wittenbergplatz and the U-Bahn station provides easy access to just about anywhere you'd want to go in Berlin. It's a very short walk to a supermarket, lots of restaurants (including a doner stand and a currywurst stand), and KaDeWe. It's also a short walk to the Zoo.

The breakfast is very good with lots of variety--breads, cheeses, meats, smoked fish, scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon, 3 types of sausages, pastries, fruit, and champagne. The only issue we had at breakfast was one morning when one of the attendants forced each of the members of our group to sign a bill for breakfast, but we were not charged.

Why the average rating? The hotel had what I consider two serious shortcomings. The first was the lack of air conditioning. While Berlin might not be known for its hot climate, we had 3 days when the temperature in Berlin exceeded 27C (80F), and it reached 30C one of those days. This was in May, so I can imagine how hot it can get in the summer. Even though I kept the curtains shut during the day and the window open at night, my room (417) was uncomfortably hot at night, but it was still cooler than the hallways. Even a fan would have helped, but none were available. I know that Berlin might just have a couple of dozen days a year when A/C is needed, but that's still no excuse for a hotel like this one not to have it. By that logic, hotels in Florida should not have heat.

My other complaint was with the wifi. Although the issues that other reviewers have mentioned have been addressed, I still had a few times in the evening when the wifi was very slow (as in 100 kbps, according to a speed test). Also, the hotel limits guests to one device per room and required codes to be purchased for additional devices.

The employees were, for the most part accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face a busy street, so even numbered rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucsonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your detailed description of your Berlin experience with us.
We are happy to hear that you loved our downtown location. As for the other remarks we would like to comment: a fan is provided to your room upon request. And yes, we do offer free Wifi - for one device. Unlimited access codes are available for an extra EUR 10,00 / 24 hours per device. Kind Regards, the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Or Yehuda, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If location is the prime asset for a hotel, then this one should get 100%!

The hotel is located in a quiet side-street connecting the Wittenbergplatz to the Kurfürstenstrasse.

The subway station in the Wittenbergplatz (hub for the U1, U2 and U3 trains) is a mere 130 meters from the hotel doors; due south. The bus stop for the number 100 double decker bus {Tiergarten, Siegessäule (Victory Column) on the “Großer Stern” (Greater Star), Schloss Bellevue, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Reichstag, Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linden, Museum Island, Berliner Dom (Berlin Cathedral), Television Tower on the Alexanderplatz - and in the opposite direction, the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, Kurfürstendamm and the Zoologischer Garten (Zoological Garden)} is a 100 meters to the north of the hotel. The number 200 bus stop {Berlin Philharmonic, Potsdammer-Platz (Sony Center), Unter den Linden, State Opera, Alexanderplatz and more...}, is about 300 meters away on the Budapester Strasse.

The entrance to the KaDeWe shopping center is just off the Wittenbergplatz on the Augsburgerstrasse. There is a small market on the Wittenbergplatz most weekdays.
The staff in the hotel is friendly and eager to help and assists (some are more knowledgeable than others – so use your discretion).

Rooms aged but spotlessly clean.

Breakfast: If you have ordered your room without breakfast - don’t bother with their breakfast buffet. The price is exorbitant € 12.50 per person. Just across the road, and a little to the left, there is a lovely little bakery with great coffee. We went there every morning – no complaints! We spent an average of €3-€4 for breakfast per person.

Now the gripes:
WiFi passable during the week – when there was low occupancy. WiFi near impossible at weekends – during high occupancy.
Bathrooms are clean but aged and the plumbing leaves much to be desired.
Walls must be made of paper – pray not to have noisy neighbours!
There are only 2 elevators serving a 7 story building with over 40 rooms per floor.

Tips:
Ask for the higher floors. Ask for rooms a fair distance away from the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors. Ask for rooms a fair distance away from the elevators. Even room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Shalom M.,
thank you for the 100% for our location and the good mark for cleanliness. Yes, we are right downtown, but it is still a quiet and friendly neighborhood. Our large SORAT-Breakfast offers sparkling wine, salmon, different sausages, cereals and alone 9 different warm meals. We also upgraded our Wifi and all issues from the past have been solved. Once again thank you for your recommendation.
Kind Regards,
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hi, this is the second time I've stayed at your hotel. The price with the DIN discount is very good, but I have a couple of issues I'd like to mention.

Just when I was leaving my room to check out I noticed a bloodstain on the pillow I had slept on. I am certain it was not from me. It was about 4 cm in diameter. That was not nice at all.

In the shower, the shower gel bottle was empty. I pulled it out and took the one over the sink (leaving pig puddles of water on the floor). I noticed then that the bottle holder in the shower was very dirty where the bottle had been sitting.

So, other than that it was a good hotel experience: the breakfast is very good and I had a good experience of the people in the reception. But the cleanliness in the room could have been better.

Best regards,

/Jörgen Wyke

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr. W,
thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you had an easy check in and enjoyed the large Breakfast Buffet of our property. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced in your guest room. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as I suspect you saw through out the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. Please reach out to me personally at direktion-ambassador@soratmail.de with your check in date and confirmation number. With this information I can investigate what fell through in the cleaning process of your room and ensure it won’t happen again. Also, before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Kind Regards, the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is good if you specifically only need a bed to sleep. The other reviews are correct that WIFI is not good. They constantly have maximum users logged in and when you enquire regarding this, they advise you to wait for other users to log off. Although not a major issue, they do charge for baggage storage per piece. (1.5euro)

The beds were nice and clean and overall room was cleaned well, however, it had a very bad smell. Ventilation in in our double room was non existent. Though it was good the windows opened. As others mentioned, we booked for a double bed, and it was two singles pushed together (with a gap still in the middle).

Pros: Close to train station, friendly staff, hotel for a sleep. Affordable
Cons: Smelly rooms, Bad Wifi, No free baggage store, twin beds pushed together for a double room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank IanCoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambassadorBerlin, Manager at SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ian,
thanks for your review. The Wifi issues has been solved and we upgraded our system. For the rooms we can recommend book our newly refurbished Comfort Rooms with free drinks inclusive.
Kind Regards, the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danderyd, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel Ambassador has an excellent location close to underground-station Wittenbergplatz and also within walking distance to Bahnhof Zoo. Staff is extremly nice and helpful.

The room had a good size, and you also heard very little from the street. But you had more noises from inside the hotel. The doors to the rooms had to be slammed to be locked, and that sound transplanted through the hotel. You also heard everything from the room nextdoors. The room otherwise was quite nice.

Bathroom was small, a bit old but at the same time functional. However, somtimes there was an unpleasant smell coming from the pipes.

So, in some ways it is a very good hotel, but sure could need some improvement in other ways.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#118 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Luetzow
Hotel Luetzow
#263 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#260 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin

Property: SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Address: Bayreuther Str. 42-43, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unkonventionelles Cityhotel mit Witz und Pfiff. Direkt am Wittenbergplatz und am weltberuhmten Kaufhaus des Westens. Touristenmagnete wie Gedachtniskirche oder Ku'damm sind bequem zu Fuss erreichbar. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing