We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here, good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
art'otel berlin kudamm
Ranked #179 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Second time here, good but not great”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's my second time staying at this hotel - location is the best thing about this hotel - it really is very centrally located close to many things to see, do and places to eat.

Unfortunately, that's not what I was in Berlin for.

The room I was given upon arrival was unacceptable. It smelled like people had been smoking in it for years - stuffy, stale. I would not have been able to sleep. I asked to change it and the reception was very accommodating immediately and polite about it. That was good but it is still not ideal to arrive late in the evening, on business travel and immediately have to go back to reception to ask to have the room changed. I think they knew it smelled...

Having stayed here before, I knew what to expect - it is reliably clean, quiet and the rooms are very functional (quite basic but functional). I had a big bathroom but there really are no "extras" at this hotel.

Breakfast is excellent. Staff at this hotel is generally very polite. The lobby bar can be quite lively and the service is polite and good.

This is a good place for a night or two without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Fed S ,

we appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the art’otel berlin city center west I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.I apologize again for the room, we are a non smoking hotel. I'm going to this thing on the ground.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
Email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    167
    47
    39
See reviews for
127
356
77
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I've been sitting on this review for a while with the hope that either the hotel or Hotels.com where I made the reservation would address this issue that I have brought to their attention, but they have not.

While Art'otel is quite a nice, conveniently located and averagely priced hotel, they claim to have air conditioning. They do not. They have a air ventilation system, which is not the same thing, since it just slowly circulates the air without cooling it. Still, the hotel staff insisted to me that this indeed is 'air conditioning'.

Due to this, the rooms are uncomfortably hot in the summer. Also, forget the windows. If your room is by the street, it will be noisy due to traffic, and if your room is in the inner courtyard, it will be noisy due to the locals partying. There are also mosquitoes which will not help.

I booked this hotel specifically due to the promise of airco, since I knew that July is a hot month in Berlin, and I was let down on the one thing I really wanted, and invested extra money into. This is why I am giving and otherwise nice hotel a Poor review, since fraudulent claims just should not be accepted.

Room Tip: Maybe in another hotel that has actual air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear JD S ,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel and to share your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor. it is a while ago where you stay was with us. In part of our hotel we have a Wall air conditioning that why we dont have a fan coil, also we had some problems doing your stay. I feel realy sorry that we dont meet your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope we can welcome you back one day and you'll have a much better stay with us next time.

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my husband and were very impressed! We found the staff to be friendly and helpful on arrival - we were informed of the facilities on offer and directed to our room. We did enquire about city tax and were informed it would be around 7Euros payable on departure.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious with everything we needed inside.
We were close to public transport links and the U-Bahn 'Uhlandstrasse' is around a 10 minute walk away.
We were issued with a 20% off voucher for one use in the hotel bar and restaurant - we found the bar quite expensive but the service was excellent and the surroundings luxurious - velvet seats, crystal chandeliers and marble bar area.
The hotel felt up-market without being snobby and the staff were very attentive.
The only minor issue was that the bathroom was more of a 'wetroom' - it wasalmost impossible to have a shower without soaking the whole of the bathroom floor!
However, it did not spoil our experience and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a basic room - when the windows were open we heard the chimes every morning and workmen in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

we appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback via Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the art'otel berlin city center west we would like to thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was attracted to this hotel by the fun art theme, the excellent website photos and reviews on TripAdvisor - plus it represented good value - but the one thing I require most from a hotel is a good night's sleep.

The rooms are impossibly hot and stuffy and in reality don't have working air conditioning. We tried opening the windows but the road outside is incredibly loud (through the night) and despite asking 3 times for someone to sort it out we were ignored. However, if you syaed in winter this would possibly not be an issue...

We also asked for lights to be fixed as one side of the bed was in darkness - but nobody managed to fix this either.

The front desk staff are all very young and are friendly enough I suppose, but are obviously not ambitious career hoteliers - with no real desire to deliver really excellent customer service. When I complained about the air conditioning I got a very un-smiling and curt response. He obviously knew it wasn't something he could fix so he just paid me lip-service.

I did like the Andy Warhol theme but at the same time it felt somewhat dated. His work has not passed the test of time as well as some artists from his era. Probably destroyed by too many Athena prints in the 80's and 90's and overall the hotel was noticeably less impressive than their photos would have you believe - however, it is perfectly fine (except for the room temperature) and the bed was very comfy indeed. There was also little atmosphere in the public areas - with the restaurant and bar all but deserted everytime we went by.

The hotel is in an ok location, but not as good as some reviews might lead you to think. It's in a fairly upmarket shopping area with lot's of big outlets in the road it runs parallel to - with some big brand and high street names and plenty of good restaurants. The end of the U1 Underground is a 5 minute walk so it's easy to get around from there but it's not the most atmosperic or interesting end of town. If it were London I would compare it with Kensignton High St but with a road far wider than Oxford Street.

It's also an easy commute from Tegel airport on the 109 bus - which is also very cheap. However we would probably have felt more in the action had we stayed a little more centrally.

Some other tips and observations.

- The underground has no barriers or staff so there can be some less savoury people on board than you might get in London - nobody checked our tickets once over 3 days - it's incredibly efficient and fast, if not scruffy and a bit dated - in comparison with LUG

The Fat Tire bike tour is so worth doing - the best way to see the city and so much fun too.

Vapiano restaurant is well worth trying if you don't mid queueing for your food - they cook fresh pasta to order and you then watch them cook it for you - amazing!

You cover lots of ground (hence needing a good nights sleep!) so wear comfy shoes!

Berlin is a facinating city - sometimes beautiful, sometimes stark but also, for a town known for its hedonism - rather sobering - what with such a horrific history.

We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dungdeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Dungdeane,

we appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the art’otel berlin city center west I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
I have forwarded your comment about our air-conditions to our head of engineering and he is currently looking into this problem to provide our guests with a more feasible solution.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
Email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity1108
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Got this hotel on a special rate for an upgraded room
Easy to find and around 5 mins walk from Savignyplatz station.
Check in was smooth and easy, staff very friendly.
Our upgraded room was really quite big and the décor is pretty funky. Bathroom was also big and the shower is very powerful and hot.
We didn't have breakfast or eat / drink in the bar so cant really comment there. The bar however did look very nice and there were always a few people having a drink in the evening.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, funky and fairly central 3* hotel.
I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verity1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Rest assured I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team, I am sure they will be thrilled to hear the fantastic feedback.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights with a friend, and I have to say, I was really impressed by this hotel. It cost €35 for two nights per person, and it was great value for money. The rooms were very clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, and the shower was great. The only thing I would fault the room for was the large picture of Andy Warhol at the head of the bed, (it was a bit zany, but nothing too intrusive at all, and was to be expected considering the entire hotel is Warhol themed), and the air conditioning wasn't too great. There was a great range of channels on the TV too.

The staff at reception were very nice, and the map of the city they gave us was invaluable for the rest of our trip.

The hotel itself is excellently located, only a few minutes walk from the main shopping street (Kurfürstendamm), as well as a few bus stops, and U-bahn (underground metro) stops, so getting to and from the hotel was a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscaricardo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the art'otel berlin city center west. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Rest assured I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team, I am sure they will be thrilled to hear the fantastic feedback.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
email: fweiss@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Positives - This hotel was great value for money, £160 for 4 nights. It was nice and clean and quiet, handy for the U-bahn and shops, cafes and bars on and around the K'Damm. There was also a nice hotel bar serving excellent cocktails.

Negatives - We had trouble with the safe, our belongings got locked in and although the staff managed to open this they couldn't fix it so this remained unusable, also please be advised that we were charged a 'City Tax' when we checked out which we weren't aware of having to pay when we checked in. It was only 7 euros for the 4 nights but would be annoying if you'd spend all your money before checking out!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blimey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiss_F, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Rest assured I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team, I am sure they will be thrilled to hear the fantastic feedback.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Florian Weiß
Operations Manager
email: fweiss@artotels.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#89 of 634 in Berlin
966 reviews
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#175 of 634 in Berlin
675 reviews
Abba Berlin Hotel
#69 of 634 in Berlin
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bleibtreu Berlin by Golden Tulip
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#76 of 634 in Berlin
649 reviews
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel berlin kudamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel berlin kudamm

Property: art'otel berlin kudamm
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 85, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Berlin
#119 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel berlin kudamm 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Berlin hotel features Warhol ArtConveniently located near ICC Berlin and the Ku'damm, a major shopping destination, the distinctively designed art'otel berlin city center west displays original artworks by famous pop artist Andy Warhol and offers guests a variety of amenities, including free wi-fi. Guests at our central, boutique-style Berlin hotel also enjoy spacious rooms and private parking. Ideal for both leisure and business travellers, our accommodations in Berlin offer comprehensive business services, fitness room and a brand new sauna facility. With its trendy, art-inspired design, comfortable rooms and first-rate amenities, the art'otel is one of the top Berlin city center hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your art'otel berlin kudamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin City Center West Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing