We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin's hidden treasure”
Review of Askanischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Askanischer Hof
Ranked #443 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Berlin's hidden treasure”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It's not easy to find an hotel of charm in Berlin, but Askanischer Hof is one of the most charming hotels we ever stayed at. It's one of the oldest hotels in Berlin that has survived two world wars, however - this doesn't mean it's outdated.
It rather a pension than hotel - it occupies first floor of the regular building facing Kurfurstendamm. When entering you will feel as if you suddenly find yourself in 1920s. The rooms are spacious and clean and tastefully designed to the same epoch as the hotel common areas. Some rooms are facing the backyard, some - Kurfurstendamm, but double-glazed windows care that no noise get through. There is no air condition that can be an issue in summers, but in spring this was not a problem at all.
Wi-fi is available for free, however you can't catch it in some of the rooms further back in the building, though it works perfectly in the lobby. The breakfast is very good and wonderfully served. The staff is very friendly.
The position of the hotel is also quite convenient - in 5 min by foot you can reach Savigny Platz station, in 20 min - Zoo station.
Overall - a really good place to stay when you're at Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
49
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

If you get a room off the street, Wi-Fi will not reach you with an iPad or iPod. I had sit in the lobby anytime I needed access. I just wanted to let others know, as that feature is very important to me. Also, unless you are into large name brand shopping (Gucci, etc) there are very limited shopping options nearby. Only expensive restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Be prepared to do a lot of walking if this is not what you are looking for.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

It has a couple of great features that you can spot among great hotels: very friendly and helpful staff, charming atmosphere, well-conserved antique furniture. We got a great room, with a balcony to the front street, which was a lovely touch. Somehow it's a bit of a hidden gem, but in the other hand it feels as if it could benefit from a more professional approach in management. I'd definitely stay there again, though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsoalheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

First time in Berlin since 1995 - was looking for a quiet place that was close to public transportation and had some charm. Got it! Arrived early in the morning to this first floor establishment located on the Kur'Damm, offered coffee, and was promptly escorted to my room, which was actually a suite of a foyer/dressing room, full bathroom and double bed (American-sized full bed). The atmosphere reminds me of a c. 1920's house with several guest rooms. The breakfast room was really more of a parlor, with comfortable wingback chairs and rich tapestries. My room (#18) had a large bathtub, modern bathroom, and overlooked a courtyard full of bicycles and trees with birds. No cars. The bed was comfortable - but it does feel like you are sleeping in someone's home - furniture is older, but clean and linens are crisp but not "industrial". There is a low-key vibe to the place - breakfast is served at YOUR leisure, and rooms are kept tidy. The hosts were all very gracious and made me (a single lady traveller) feel most welcome. The only drawback (and I am very hesitant to say this) was the loud guest in the room next to me, who spoke on his cell phone all day at the desk of his room, which was located next to his door. Good thing he was using a dialect of German I can't understand, or I might know his state secrets! Rating comes from the AAA standard, btw.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. Also, be very clear if you travellng as 2 separate beds - most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms was clean and warm and spacious. The bathroom was large too with a great bath. Lots of hot water for a soak. All the rooms are individual and this added to the charm. Breakfast was a real highlight- Cereal, fruit, choice of breads, tea, coffee and an egg. We never rushed this part of our day, but rather savoured it.
The staff were so helpful , most especially Mark who sorted out restaurants, glasses for a pre dinner drink and taxis.
The location is on a good bus route (M29) and handy for most parts of town.
Stay here, so much more than a clinical Holiday Inn or the like.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good but not all have baths so do ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This hotel was built 1910 as a town house. It has been a hotel for many decades & the decor, furnishings are intact. The whole place is straight our of an Isherwood novel & provides a very atmospheric & cosy experience in Berlin. It is a gem in a great location with good transport links to the rest of the city. Plenty of good restaurants, bars nearby, including one on the next block with a 3 hour Happy Hour. Plus a Netto for wine in the room.
We had one of the larger rooms at 145 Euro per nght inc a good breakfast. There are smaller rooms at a lower price I believe. Our room was HUGE with a seperate glassed in sitting area with lovely views of the Ku'dam. The reception lady showed me some of the other larger rooms to help us choose for our next stay. It is tremendous value for a hotel of this style & loction.
The staff are very helpful & kind. The hotel only has a small number of rooms so you feel like a house guest. There is a small bar in the corner of the breakfast room but we didn't use it.
Two things I would suggest to improve the experience even more - 1) Tea/coffee making facilities in the room 2) Soft music playing at breakfast, Baroque by a German composer would be nice.
I loved this hotel & will return. Many famous people have stayed here, including David Bowie & Arthur Miler. I would hate to see it over-restrored or modernised in any way. If you want that, you can find it elsewhere easily enough but once a place like this is changed it will be lost forever.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for one of the larger rooms, really a Junior Suite & well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunbury
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel is a gem from the 1930's. The property is well located and the rooms large.
Staff are very helpful. It needs some $$'s spent and definitly new mattresses.
However my wife and I would certainly stay here again.
Apparently the Germans like hard beds !
O yes breakfast is excellent and included in rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrybBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Art Nouveau
Hotel Art Nouveau
#307 of 634 in Berlin
143 reviews
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#75 of 634 in Berlin
475 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#43 of 634 in Berlin
669 reviews
Charlottenburg
Come Inn Berlin Kurfuerstendamm Opera
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askanischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askanischer Hof

Property: Askanischer Hof
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 53, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #443 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Askanischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Askanischer Hof Berlin
Askanischer Hof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing