We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor WIFI rooms okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #525 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week in December 2013. The location was good 2-3min walk to U2 and U6 Underground stations that have direct connections to major stations allowing ease of access around Berlin. Walking distance to most attractions even just 30min walk from Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, Topographie of Terror, Checkpoint Charlie, Museum Island.
The hotel is very basic, the staff friendly the rooms were clean and serviced daily. I had pre-ordered online a Berlin WelcomeCard including Museum Island that cost 36 euros. But no one knew anything about this so it was very disappointing to have wasted the money.
The Lowenbrau Hotel provided breakfast daily from 12euros and the food was from Bavaria - very nice with a great atmosphere.
For me the biggest disappointment was the very poor Wifi. I needed access for work they charge 10 euros for 2 hours and you have to sit in the Lowenbrau Hotel next to the hotspot to get any coverage. Access in the room was non existent. I was in room 217 so if you're looking for WIFI access avoid the 2nd floor. I was directed me to Potzdamer Platz 30min walk for free WIFI, when I found Starbucks around the corner was much closer.
If you're looking for piece and quiet then the 2nd floor is a good option. I would give this hotel 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: I had room 217 which was big enough for 1 person, beds comfortable. Very quiet. Room was warm enoug...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We visited Berlin on 13th December for a long Weekend.
This is a basic hotel but the room and bathroom was very clean and tidy.
The Hotel is above the Lowenbrau Bar & Restaurant although we were not disturbed by an noise.
The bar itself has a real German flavour with steins of beer and typical food of pork, sausages, sauerkraut, red cabbage etc
The hotel is very centrally located within walking distance of the Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Tiergarten and Check Point Charlie.
The Stadtmitte Station is also just around the corner giving easy access to other parts of Berlin.
All in all the hotel would be a good choice for anybody wanting to see the sights of Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was the first hotel in Berlin, and I hope the only one, where I had really bad experience. The room was dirty - hair of previous guests was in the corner, the tiles are yellow as they're not cleaned properly, the shower has yellow stains all around and although I asked for a quiet room in advance, nobody really cared. The wi-fi code is only for one device and it costs 18€ per day. Nobody tells you you can get a cheaper one for 1 or 2 hours. When I asked the staff to change a room on 1st floor close to the main air-condition compressor above the restaurant, they said they couldn't, although the guests were leaving the hotel and there were spare rooms. They have rather checked me out of the, read it carefully - PREPAID HOTEL! Really really disappointing.

Room Tip: It's near the main Leipzigerstrasse, so the rooms are noisy. On the other side, it's better...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visited Berlin from 24 until 28 July and stayed in the Cityhotel. Location is excellent: you can walk to different historical places and museums. Public transport is nearby too. Our room on the second floor was spacious, clean and quiet. Bathroom was good too, perhaps a bit small and simple. There is only a soap bottle and no extra's, but it was clean and o.k. for us. Breakfast was sufficient. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Next to the hotel is the Lowenbrau restaurant with Bayerish food; The terrace in front of the hotel is nice to have a drink after a tiring day visiting the city. Berlin is a very interesting city and we will certainly come back and stay at the Cityhotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is located a short walk away from the Stadtmitte U-Bahn station (U-Bahn is the name of the subway in Germany.) You can hop on the U-Bahn and get to wherever you want to go in Berlin quickly and easily. If you plan to visit Checkpoint Charlie, it is a short walk away from the hotel. Also, the area is pretty quiet at night, so I was able to get good quality sleep in the comfy bed. So overall, the location is good.

The hotel amenities are pretty basic. We stayed in a double room. There was a reasonable-sized bathroom with shower stall, air conditioner, mini-refrigerator, and desk. Breakfast and wifi were not included and awfully expensive. Breakfast is around 12 euros extra per day, and wifi was around the same price. For 12 euros the breakfast would have to be spectacular to be worth it. I learned from another review on TripAdvisor that there is a Starbucks nearby with free wifi, so I took advantage of that every morning.

The price was very reasonable for this hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The location of this hotel is very good, not far from the underground and the Gendarmenmarkt is really nice to sitt on a terras outside.

Rooms very good enough. very clean and comfortable. I have not tried the breakfast, no can't say anything about that. i had a room opposite of the main street, so it was quit there.
Friendly staff

but if you are there like me for business purposes and need a steady Wifi connection, you A. need to pay for it and B. if you are in a room far from the wifi connection (room 201 i had) there was a very bad connection, making it allmost useless. even in the lobby the connection was slow.

Room Tip: If you need a Wifi connection (payed) ask for a room that provides a good connection.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Good central location, near subway lines and at walking distance from many tourist attractions. The exterior didn't look inviting and the lobby was small, but my room was large, comfortable and very clean. The room faced the street but there was no noise and I slept well. Air conditioning worked but wi-fi was not included; reading light could've been better. Bathroom was basic and clean. Didn't like the soap (nothing new there; that's why I always bring my own soap and shampoo). The shower was good for an average-sized person but if you're over 180 cm you'll probably think it's cramped. The only thing I really disliked was the green carpet (I prefer wooden floors) even though it seemed clean. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reissaaja100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#543 of 635 in Berlin
72 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
#184 of 635 in Berlin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
TopDomizil Apartments Checkpoint Plaza
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Leipziger Str. 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £48 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Cph Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing