We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual, what you expect from a Ibis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ranked #165 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“As usual, what you expect from a Ibis”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Very good location, walking distance from Ostbahnhof station that leads you wherever you want and you can have a cheaper breakfast. Some people of the staff were extremelly friendly and proactive, others not that much.

Room Tip: There are rooms for 3 people avaliable, or extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duda_cecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    459
    215
    36
    14
See reviews for
126
267
136
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ibis at the end of September for 3 nights and in typical Ibis fashion the hotel was clean and respectable but nothing flash. As it was during the Berlin Marathon the price was what attracted me to the hotel and I can say that it was fine and very comfortable.

The location of the hotel is great as it is close to the station and not far on the train to the main tourist areas as well as it is walking distance to the East Side Gallery,

The staff were not overly friendly and not particularly helpful when asked questions maybe they need to be sent on some Customer Service training courses as telling me to catch the bus from the main square and then walking off before I could find out where abouts as the main square is quite large was very frustrating

My only suggestion would be that there appears to be a halfway house of some description opposite the railway station so stay on the railway side of the rad until you walk down to the hotel intersection as it was a little scary at night with them all sitting out the front.

Overall pleasant but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nicely located near the station and the river. Friendly and efficient staff. My room was at the back of the hotel so was very quiet and comfortable. I could imagine that a room at the front of the hotel might be noisy as the hotel is on a very busy road junction. Breakfast was good and the check in/check out very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the room to be comfortable, though a bit lacking in storage space. Could be a problem if you're planning a longer stay. The staff seemed friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good and appreciated. Free wifi is only available in the lobby area.

The hotel location is fine, though it's not very close to many of the major attractions and there are not many restaurants nearby. It's easy enough to take transit or just plan for a long walk if you're heading to any sites on foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hallo! 3.5 stars.

I stayed here two weekends ago with EF, an educational travel company for our International Training Tour. We arrived at the hotel by 10AM after a 30 minute bus ride from the Berlin-Tegel Airport. We weren't able to check in until 4PM but we securely stored our luggage in one of the hotel rooms. I think Hotel Ibis has a few locations in Berlin. The decor is pretty modern and European. The front desk attendants were helpful and do speak English in case you're traveling from the States. There are two computers for using the internet. They do have free WIFI, but it's very slow and you have to constantly log back on. They originally gave us a single room, but after asking to switch, we were giving a triple room with handicap accessibility. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet for the most part. Our room didn't have much of a view, but we were only in our rooms to shower, relax, and sleep. The bed was SO COMFY. Though it's a twin size, I slept very well and wanted to take home the pillow. There wasn't air conditioning, but you wouldn't really need that until the summer. The shower had plentiful hot water and the bathroom was clean. There's also a small flat panel tv to watch German programs. They do have other European channels, but none from the US. It was cool to watch The Simpsons in German!

The continental breakfast was included with our stay and is served from 6:30-10:30AM (I think) They have bread, eggs, cereal, sliced cold cuts, some fruit, nutella (!), pastries, yogurt, and an awesome espresso/coffee/hot chocolate machine. It was pretty delicious.

The hotel has a good location. It's within walking distance to The East Side Gallery where you can see the artwork on the Berlin Wall. You can also walk to the Galería mall (they have some department stores), there's a small market where they sell fruit, food, and some handicrafts on the weekends. Most importantly, the Ostbahnhof train station is so close. The train station has lots of stores in case you need to buy something to eat or you forgot something in the States. The stores were open until 8PM which is convenient of course.

The Hotel Ibis Berlin City Ost is a great central location when visiting Berlin and you will enjoy yourself in Germany's capital.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor on the "left side" can pick up some of the free wireless netw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#59 of 634 in Berlin
189 reviews
Friedrichshain
IntercityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
East Side City Hotel
East Side City Hotel
#405 of 634 in Berlin
117 reviews
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof

Property: Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Address: An der Schillingbruecke 2, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Mathijs PARSCH, the manager of the ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof hotel, would like to welcome you. Situated on the banks of the river Spree, the ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof is just a short distance from the city's Ostbahnhof train station. This provides easy access to all city districts and the surrounding area, so you can experience the diversity that makes Berlin such a wonderful place. Guests are welcome any time of day or night. Stay in one of our 242 modern, air-conditioned rooms or enjoy a drink in our bar, which is open 24/7. Convenient parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Berlin City Ost Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin City Ost

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing