We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mandala Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Suites
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for four nights for our 7th Wedding Anniversary trip (working our way through the alphabet - G for Germany).

Our suite was huge,beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable - a real "home from home".

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be bettered, very central so most things that we wanted to see were walking distance. Although we didn't need to use it the U-Bahn was right outside, so public transport very convenient.

The Mandala Suites have a lovely breakfast room on the 8th floor, overlooking the City...only slight niggle was that it's not really big enough for the number of guests at the weekend - we broke the system by helping ourselves to the buffet and having to sit at the large table next to the sofa on the first day.

The hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant, but Maximillian's Restaurant in the same block is very good, and there are any number of excellent places to eat within a few hundred yards (especially recommend the Vietnamese restaurant on Leipzigerstrasse a couple of blocks south towards Checkpoint Charlie).

Overall a wonderful place to stay in Berlin, which is a fascinating city. Even though it's not cheap, you couldn't get a hotel room of this quality in the UK for twice the price (speaking as someone who stays in business hotels in the UK at least a couple of nights a week on average!).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    199
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
125
340
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Location; Two stops from train station Friedrichstr. Stadtmitte metro/U bahn (U2 en U6) on your door step. If you want to explore the city, this is a nice middle to get to all the area's. Also nice to have a shopping street on your doorstep (e.g. to get wine at Galleries Lafayette). But even a good walk to main attractions. Loved the Gendarmen Platz around the corner with nice cafe's around to have your last drink before go back to room. Is not a low budget area.

Suite; Nice to have a walk-in closet, so lots of space to hang your clothes. Kitchen if needed, with good size balcony. Nice and quiet in the room. Room (apartment) is spacious. Do not expect nice lobby area or communal spaces. All clean fairly new and well maintained. Business orientated.

Service ; Breakfast was an experience. Beautiful white area, good view over the city (8th floor) with nicely decorated tables. Well arranged buffet with all we needed. Juice, tea, coffee, eggs are served by personnel. Very service minded. Also reception is very helpful and friendly but are only available at set times. We did not mind.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed here for a 3 night break. Ideal location and very comfortable.

Room was basically an apartment with bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bathoom, toilet and walk in store. Very clean and well equipped. Staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was good. Choice of various cereals, breads etc.

Ideal location. short walk to under der linden, postdammer platz, alexander platz. checkpoint charlie just down the street.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

My husband was in Berlin for business and we extended our stay over the weekend to enjoy the city. This hotel is situated in the best location in Berlin, by Gendarmenmarkt in the Mitte district. Most attractions are either a walk or short metro or cab ride away. The Mandala Suites itself is like a home away from home. Their suites are very spacious and tastefully furnished. The kitchenette comes in handy on an extended stay. We stayed in room 510 and on a previous trip in 210.
The breakfast buffet is located on the top floor of the building, which provides magnificent views on the skyline and rooftops in Berlin. Even on a gloomy day, it looks pretty striking. The buffet itself is well stocked with a good variety of nutritious food. Make sure breakfast is included in your bill though as it does come at a EUR18 per head premium. But worry not, the Kamps bakery and Einstein cafe on the complex's ground floors provide the best bread and coffee in town. By next check out the Newton bar, a short walk away from the Mandala Suites. This is probably the best cocktail bar in Berlin. To conclude, the Madala Suites score maximum marks for location, cleanliness, rooms, value, and sleep quality. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelineip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Nice hotel very spacious food but my suffered from food poisoning after eating prawns from the buffet breakfast. I wrote to the hotel over a month ago and have yet to receive a reply

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheDon070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, and we got room 510. TONS of space, walk in closet, nice kitchenette, balcony and good sized bathroom. The staff was great, and they even met us at our parking spot and walked us up to the room to fill out paperwork and get keys.

The hotel is located in a mixed use building, which has a clothing store, bank, restaurant , hair salon, as well. It is located adjacent to the Standmitte U2 station. There is no room service, ect. but the hotel is located in a great area with lots of places to eat, and or stock up on snacks.

Parking is 18 euro a day, self parking. If you call ahead they will reserve a spot for you.

Internet is 13 euro a day, and if you need anything printed, you can email it to the front desk and they will print it out for you.

Breakfast is 18 euro a day on the 8th floor.

They have 3 washers and dryers in the basement which are free for guests to use from 7am to 1030pm. There is also a professional grade iron and ironing board there as well for you to use. I used them, and they cleaned my clothes just fine.

The only negative we found was that the hotel was a little lax in refilling toiletry items. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the rooms. Even with that, the hotel is a great value for the money and my husband and I plan to stay there again when we return to Berlin.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damnark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Firstly: location location location ...

You can not find a more central place to stay if you want to live in the middle of Berlin, right on Friedrichstraße, with shops right outside your door. . Only a 5 minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie, a 5 minutes walk from the "Gendarmenmarkt". A 15 minutes walk from the "Reichstag", "Denkmal für die Juden ermordeten Europe", "Berliner Dom", and "Under dem Linden) Lots of different restaurants, both for morning, afternoon and evening.

We - two adults and a two-year boy, lived in a "Management Suite" for five days.
Great apartment with huge hallway, separate toielet and bathroom with shower and bathtub and an extra room for storage. Large living room and a large bedroom (great beds) separated by a wall and a solid sliding door. Kitchen with everything you could want (free coffee hot chocolate and tea).

We have never stayed at such a clean hotel and there were not so much noise as we expected, when you consider location of the hotel.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel (23 euros. per person per day) but there is a delicious bakey right beside the hotel, open from early morning.

There is a great - brand new - gym on the eighth floor overlooking the city.

There is a large parking garage underneath the hotel, with elevator right up to the apartments. (18 euros pr. day)

The Mandala is highly recommended, both for families with children, elderly, singles and couples ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgitte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Suites

Property: The Mandala Suites
Address: Friedrichstrasse 185-190, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#20 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mandala Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highest individuality in the centre of the city THE MANDALA SUITES takes the idea of having a home away from home and makes it a splendid reality. Here the service offered by a firstclass hotel is combined with the very private atmosphere of one’s own perfectly equipped apartment. In these apartments you’ll find a peaceful haven in the heart of the city. This privately managed suite hotel creates lots of space in lovingly designed and generously proportioned rooms. Because the rooms can be directly accessed from the side streets, we offer you the greatest possible degree of privacy. The hotel’s elegant and understated appointments have been especially designed to meet the needs of visitors who want to stay in Berlin for a longer period of time. Here you’ll feel at home for a month, a week or just one night. An ideal location THE MANDALA SUITES is ideally situated, with its main entrance directly on the Friedrichstraße and the Gendarmenmarkt right around the corner. A short walk will take you to the points of interest in Berlin Mitte, such as Unter den Linden, the Reichstag, Checkpoint Charlie, the State Opera House, the Humboldt Forum and the Museumsinsel. Here the historic, cultural and political highlights of Berlin are lying at your feet, so to speak. Alternatively, you can use the Stadtmitte underground station, which is just one minute away, as your point of departure to conquer the entire city. From there you’ll have ideal connections throughout Berlin. The shopping opportunities on Friedrichstraße, with its elegant department stores and a multitude of small boutiques, are especially attractive. From here it’s also very easy to reach the big malls on Potsdamer Platz and Alexanderplatz. Rooms The 80 studios and suites, with between 40 m² and 100 m² of floor area, offer an unusual level of spaciousness as well as peace and quiet in the midst of the vibrant heart of Berlin. Separate sleeping and living areas, especially large bathrooms with separate lavatories, walk-in closets, roomy desks, completely equipped open-plan kitchens, and balconies all create a second home for our guests. Earth-toned colours are a balm to the eyes and the soul. Ultramodern technology is seamlessly and wirelessly integrated into this timeless and classic design. High-speed Wi-Fi is always free of charge throughout the hotel. The lounge on the eighth storey A very special breakfast experience awaits our guests every morning on the top storey of the hotel. With a clear view of Potsdamer Platz, exquisite design and a first-class buffet, they can enjoy a long and relaxed breakfast and browse through a large selection of international newspapers. After breakfast, the lounge is available to our guests by special arrangement. The fitness and sauna area is directly adjacent to the lounge. With a view of the skyline of Potsdamer Platz, you can train on state-of-the-art TechnoGym equipment or relax after a Finnish or aroma sauna on a large daybed with a cup of tea from our wide assortment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mandala Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandala Hotel Berlin
Mandala Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing