We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Wonderful hotel-just the right size. Pleasant staff, excellent rooms-we had a family suite-incredibly roomy. Good bathroom, tea and coffee in room and excellent breakfast
Good central location and checkpoint Charlie is/was just round the corner

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrtillesauvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,233)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 3,233 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We checked in here after having checked out of another hotel which offered bad service.
As we were here for the IFA trade show we were worried we might not find a nice place.
We were very pleasantly surprised. In room coffeemaker and waterboiler for tea were offered complimentary upon request. Roomservice breakfast was exceptional.
Any problems we had were solved right away with a smile. Cost of parking in the hotel garage was acceptable and space was ample. Free use of internet in the room would make for the finishing touch. Our room had a balcony and view on the inner courtyard which was a small park with nice trees.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennalan110551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and wished we had booked for a longer stay. On arrival we were given a voucher for 2 free glasses of wine. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We stayed in one of the suites, it had a small kitchen, toilet, sitting area and a balcony downstairs. The bedroom and bathroom suite was upstairs. The accommodation was immaculate and climate controlled. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and varied.

The hotel is central to the attractions with 'Checkpoint Charlie' just around the corner, a museum and shops. The U-Bahn is also nearby (don't forget to verify your ticket before boarding the train) and you can also board several 'hop on - hop off' buses.

I would like to visit Berlin again to complete my tour experience and if I manage to go back I will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss10London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. Good location within walking distance of most sights. Also the underground just 2 blocks away. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. My only complaint was the price of 18 euros for breakfast which I thought a bit high. There are, however, many coffee shops within a short walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnapolisAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Good central location, lots of coffee bars & restaurants + everything is walking distance. We were impressed with the room which was a good size & clean. The staff were all friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Great for getting around and all staff very helpful and friendly, would highly recommend. Bar a bit pricey but otherwise great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

As with all the other reviews I cannot fault the hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming and always on hand to help out. It made a real difference to our trip. They recommended local restaurants and were very helpful with directions. You can't go wrong with this hotel

Room Tip: Go directly to the hotel website
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,126 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#63 of 635 in Berlin
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £79 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing