We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #35 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Really liked this hotel. Walking distance to many of the main sights, and in a area full of decent places to eat, have breakfast etc. Our deal didnt include breakfast so we ate ours at the Thurman's a few minutes away - where you could have a coffee, roll and cake for about £4-£5. The room was one of the best I have stayed in - it was huge - with a big tv, tea/coffee making facilities, safe etc. It was also very very quiet and we had an excellent nights sleep every night. Very clean too. Hotel staff seemed efficient, but twice when I asked for something they were unable to help, but then one of my requests was a bit tricky. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcovanbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 3,254 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

That's an excellent choice for tourism in Berlin! Great location, just few blocks away from the main spots and also metro stations. Our stay there would be flawless if weren't for the distraction on refilling the amenities on the room, including the courtesy bottle of Evian.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is brilliant. Max at the front desk was very helpful and assisted us so much with our enquiries. The boys at the bar were also great the two nights we had dinner there. The hotel is immaculate, great location (5 min walk from Stadmitte ubahn) and within walking distance of the city centre and sights. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shims7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had 2 nights at this hotel in a room overlooking the courtyard at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet. The location was good, easy to walk to all the points of interest in Berlin, with restaurants a few minutes walk away. Breakfast was good, and parking was easy, we parked one night on the street, free from 10pm til 9am, and one night in the hotel carpark. Overall, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is situated less than 2 blocks away from Checkpoint Charlie and 3 blocks from the StadtMitte U-bahn station (thus conveniently located), the (double) room was *very* spacious (actually the second most spacious double-bed room I have ever been in) and the amenities and comfort were superb (there was even a TV speaker at the roof of the shower/WC)!!

The area is safe even at night and there's super market and restaurants close-by.

All in all, perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpirosK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Excellent stay @ this hotel we were in Berlin for business and travel. Fortunately our group got upgraded to apartments which were ideal for our stay. The hotel is in a good location to explore Berlin, situated a short distance between two underground stations.
The price was very reasonable for the facilities, location and hospitality

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieLola34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Situated in the old eastern sector, this was ideally located for exploring Berlin. The hotel was clean, well equipped with friendly and helpful staff. As this was a combined business and family holiday the fact that breakfast was served over a long period was ideal.We had a privilege suite which was big and allowed everyone their "own " space, having two separate bedrooms. Public transport was a short walk away although we tended to walk to most places. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms in our suite opened out onto a courtyard thereby making them quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 635 in Berlin
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#25 of 635 in Berlin
5,196 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#64 of 635 in Berlin
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £78 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing