We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #35 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel was good, we had a superior room with a balcony. The room was spacious and immacuatly clean.

The bed was really comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

I only have two problems with the place and because everything else was good and I did not want to ruin the start to my weekend I did not mention them so to an extent it is my fault.

The room had 2 large single beds pushed together to make a double and I was not asked told this when booking.

The second problem was that they wanted 4.5 Euros for a bottle of water. It may seem a little tight on my part but if I am spending over 300 Euros for two nights accomadation you would have thought they could have given you a glass of water.

It is worth noting that you have to pay for inernet as well unless you are happy to use the PC/wifi in the lobby.

I dont want to end on a bad point though as I had a great time in Berlin and and the accomadation in no small part added to my experiance.

Room Tip: If you want/ need a double room make sure you confirm it with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,869
    1,157
    139
    22
    15
See reviews for
825
1,132
335
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We booked this at short notice after our othe hotel was overbooked. The Mercure was in a good location very close to the Stadtmitte underground and Checkpoint Charlie. The Topographie des Terrors was only 5 mins walk or so away. Hotel was in a quiet and safe location. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was very good for two adults and our daughter as it has two bedroom areas and a separate WC and bathroom. Buffet breakfast also has a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaggyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
821 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Pretty much a basic "formula" hotel, clean and tidy but rather lacking in individuality or style, as you would expect. The room we had was quite large, although it does look as though some rooms are smaller. The breakfast was pretty good. The location, close to Checkpoint Charlie, is ideal for touring Berlin: we had planned to get a 3-day ticket for Berlin transport, but actually we didn't need it, because - with a good bit of walking here and there - we only used the U-Bahn a couple of times.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Popular with business people but well-located for visitors—many main attractions (Museum Insel, Bundestag, Unter den Linden, Jewish Museum, Kreutzberg) are no more than a 20-minute walk. Rooms are unusually large, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed. Front desk is often busy but generally helpful. Wi-fi is free only in the lobby; otherwise—a retro touch—it costs 9 euro per day. Breakfast is excellent but pricy; try to negotiate an inclusive price when booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our family (2 parents and a child) was in Berlin from the end of October 2011 to the beginning of November 2011.
I booked a normal room. However, we got Privilege Room.
It is huge. I'd never been in such large room in hotels before.
The breakfast was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Internet was included in room's price.
I stayed in hotels before and after that. But Mercure Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is on the first place. I recommended it to my colleague. He's going to visit Berlin in July. I hope he would enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashkalikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is close enough to the metro so going around berlin is easy. The rooms are large and clean plus free wi fi in the lobby. The best part is the free breakfast. Lots of choices and some hot entrees. I will stay at this hotel again and recommend it to my friends

Room Tip: our room faced the main street. Street noise at night is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#14 of 634 in Berlin
825 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,792 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 634 in Berlin
5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing