We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring rooms but standard was good all in all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

+ wonderful beds, the location, fresh and well mainedtained in general.

- cleaning services (one dirty glass stayed as long as we did, 4 days).

Rest was OK, nothing more. One surprise was the breakfast. When you read the reviews here it sounded great but in truth it was just above average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had the two bedroom apartment at MHRBCC and it was excellent. It is on a quiet street, but literally a few blocks away to Checkpoint Charlie and within comfortable walking distance to many other sights. There are also many good quality restaurants nearby, including Entrecôte, which we really liked.

Our room was most spacious and very clean. We appreciated the half-empty fridge in the room, which gave us an easy task to store water and fruit. I liked the shower a lot and the bathroom products were decent quality. The breakfast was excellent, with something for everyone, although I was sad that the pancakes were on for only one morning that we were there. My children had a room service dinner one evening and were very pleased with the taste.

We appreciated also the closeness to Kaisers, a well-stocked supermarket and the boutiques and department stores of Friedrichstrasse, so really, it was hard to fault the experience in what is a most fascinating and appealing city.

Room Tip: Get a room near the back to get a less-patronized lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enmorecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A fantastic gem in the heart of Berlin and close to all major tourist attractions, especially the Topography of Terror (a must see) and Checkpoint Charlie which is just around the corner. The Brandenburg Gate is just to the west whilst the Jewish museums are south and museum island is to the east. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and on the top floor with a long balcony and the staff were all very efficient but also friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the bar area worth a visit !! There is an outside terrace surrounded by trees but also some tables within some cover. The breakfast was extremely varied with all types of breads, croissants, cereals, cheeses, fruit and hot food. Not many hotels I know offer coffees like latte and cappuccinos for breakfast !! Whilst the hotel only offers light bites for lunch and evening it is very reasonable and there is a wonderful French restaurant on the same road called the Entrecote (although may be a little expensive for some people) and opposite an Italian which is less pricey. Just a few minutes walk to the Gendarmenmarkt and you have many German restaurants that are very reasonable with all types of German food. I will certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: We were upgraded without asking so cannot comment on other rooms but the ones we had were large, cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I booked this Hotel after my gf found it....It was a location booked for a mature stag party. We found the rooms to be fantastic and the service from all staff to be excellent. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy Berlin, while also not blowing the Bank. I now am looking to go back to Berlin on a more romantic trip and I will be booking the same Hotel, but miss the Beech bar out this time lol!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The location of the Mercure is wonderful. It is a 2 minute walk to Checkpoint Charlie and is a short stroll to the restaurants near the Gendarmenmarkt. It is roughly centrally located between the Potsdammer Platz and Museum Island, we walked everywhere.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is only open for breakfast but there are many nearby, we can recommend the little Italian restaurant around the corner. There is also a fabulous little bakery nearby where you can purchase excellent pastries and croissants for breakfast.

I'm a little late submitting my review, we actually stayed there in April 2011

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very good location and pretty fair prize!
Nonetheless, some of the staff don't speak sufficient English :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisSF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Mercure CC has 7 floors and only one elevator, anyway, it looks that way, but at the end of the hallway... there's a second lift.
The rooms have a lot of sq meters. Good desk to work at. And, a separate WC.
The only disappointment was that internet acces is not free (euro 9,50/24 hr).
The reception was very helpful to print my boarding pass for the return flight; the service in the bar was very friendly, but it takes some time before you get your drink).
The U bahn (metro, underground) is not in the direct vicinity; but just in between two stops. For Both (koch and Stadtmitte) walking distance = 5 minutes.
And the name of the hotel (CC), that takes a two minute walk. You can't actually see the checkpoint from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 635 in Berlin
5,187 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#67 of 635 in Berlin
4,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: £77 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing