We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Graz
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Was surprised”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Spending a couple of days there for business was a very good experience for me - I never good such an amazing room fur a reasonable price in a Berlin - not even taking the location of the hotel itself into account. The staff especially at the reception area was outstanding as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    1,147
    133
    21
    15
See reviews for
808
1,119
333
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have to travel to Berlin regularly and since there are so many hotels I usually try to stay in a different every time, so I know quite a lot of hotels there already. This one is indeed a very good one. It is located very close to the city center, but still quite enough for a decent sleep. I liked the spacious rooms and the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stop at the Mecure Checkpoint Charlie. They upgraded me without my asking.
A nice big room, very very clean.
A good coffee machine, refilled every day (another reviewer states theirs wasn't).
Room nice and warm, and on a quiet street so the windows can be opened if needed with not much noise intrusion.
5 minutes walk from checkpoint Charlie, 5 to 10 from Gendarmarkt, 15 from Potsdamer Place and Brandenburg gate is about 10 mins from Potsdamer.
So in a decent location. Stadmitte U-bahn is 5 mins walk away.

The only bad points....the TV has only 3 English language channels. All news. Many hotels in Germany are the same, doesn't stop it being slightly annoying that its essentially 1 station as the news is all the same.
And also....Internet. One star is lost due to having to pay for Internet except in the lobby. It's a 4 star hotel, it caters for business users but wifi costs extra?
Maybe a little petty, but a 5 star review should be perfection.

Incidentally, every member of staff was courteous and helpful. Some of the best hotel staff I've encountered.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The location is very convenient, and the profesionalism of the staf is very good. My room on the first floor was a duplex, with a stair : I will prefer a smaller room with a bath tub.
The wi-fi is free in the lobby but you have to pay for use in your room...
I didn't try the Fitness and Sauna at the 7th floor but it's open 24h/7d.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Let's face it: Germany is not renown for its warm welcomes and everything from a museum visit to a taxi ride tends to be a very formal experience. Berlin though is a fantastic city. Even if prices have gone up in the last few years it is still quite affordable. And among the various accommodation options I picked this one out, because the rate was ok and also because my first choices were sold out due to the late booking. And it turned out to be a good pick. Staff in most of these hotel chains just do their jobs and nothing more, but this place is packed with employees that smile and never hesitate to ask you if they can help. Reception desk called a taxi with the press of a button, and the estimate of the taxi fare that the receptionist gave me was right on. They know the city very well and could answer all questions accurately (not that I was trying to test them). Room was almost spotless (little water stains on the WC floor) and super quiet. It is not super luxurious but for that price bracket it was excellent. Location is a tiny bit to far form Unter den Linden or museum Island but manageable if you like to walk.

Room Tip: all rooms are in the back over small courtyards so street noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hholbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stayed here recently for a weekend away in Berlin.
The hotel is located in a good location. Close to U & S Bahn stations, and only a few minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie.

My room was spacious, clean and a nice place to be. Wi-fi is available in the lobby, but for in room wi-fi access there was a fairly hefty charge which was a little annoying. But like I said in the lobby and bar free wi-fi was available. No problem connecting and it was certainly quick enough.

Would recommend and I would stay again if/when in Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyWMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. It is well located within a short walk to the Check Point Charlie / Friedrichstraße.
Staff very helpfull all the time, specially as we arrived late at night.
Room was good and clean.
Breakfast was excelent. The bar does not stay open untill very late, but it is very good. They have a nice selection of different wines, local wines, we could taste.
Despite some complains I read here about internet connection, we did not have any problem with internet wifi. We had booked a package with internet connection and all worked fine in the bedroom, restaurant and hotel lobby.
Our only complain is about the TV channels, most of then in German and very difficult to change language (we only got it in 1 channel).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
813 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#76 of 634 in Berlin
2,749 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#31 of 634 in Berlin
4,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing